Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pennal Hotels > Macdonald Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club

3Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
PENNAL, SNOWDONIA NATIONAL PARK , MACHYNLLETH, SY20 9JY
Macdonald Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club is set in acres of parkland, this resort nestles in the lovely valley of the river Dyfi and has the welcoming atmosphere of a small village with it's own cosy pub and extensive leisure facilities including an excellent health & beauty spa.

Close to the beach at Aberdovey and the stunning mountains of Snowdonia, with many tourist attractions within an easy drive away (Steam Railways, Welsh Heritage attractions, Portmeirion, slate mines). All manor of outdoor sports available close by.

Please note dogs are not accepted for rental bookings at Plas Talgarth, but the resort is not pet free

Picture of Macdonald Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club, MACHYNLLETH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accommodation
Stayed at the Plas Talarth Macdonald resort for 2 nights on 21/10/14. The resort is set in a very quiet village with lovely views of the hills and valley. On arrival after a nearly 6 hour journey we were allocated a 3 bedroomed cottage (No. 19) very clean, well equipped , nicely decorated with good quality furnishings . Atest in the bar, food and very tasty and good value for money. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only down side, I choose this hotel as had a swimming pool so my 2 teenage sons could swim when they want unfortunately if under 16 must be accompanied by an adult, other than between 5-6 when a life guard is on duty. Overall nice quiet relaxing time

Reviewed by
A MUNN

From Shotts, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unwind time for mother and daughter
Just what we needed a good place with loads of quite time .
The staff in the bar/restaurant where pleasant, and the young man
who got us our very classy pudding was the most polite young man
employee of the month if they do it.

Reviewed by
D chesters

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why stay here
Excellent experience..However
Rooms weren't that clean
Dirt on top of cupboards and picture frames.
Mattress were horrid. I have slept better at home .
Maybe nee to change get the mattress.
Otherwise staff well done for making our stay a satificaory one.
Regards
S chana

Reviewed by
Satnam Chana

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some prior warning of workmen in the next apartment would have been helpful!

Reviewed by
N Edwards

From Welshpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked 2 bed self catering accommodation, and on arrival were pleasantly surprised that we had been allocated a very spacious, modern and immaculate 3 bed 2 bath detached bungalow, situated next to the hotel facilities such as the indoor pool. Overall really enjoyed our stay, would definitely revisit.

Reviewed by
Graham L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very uncomfortable couple of nights
We were allocated apartment M3 in the main house. The accommodation was described as suitable for 2 adults + 2 children, but the only way for us to achieve this was to let the children sleep in the bedroom and use the sofa bed in the living room, which was extremely uncomfortable - neither of us slept well. Luckily we were only staying for two nights - it would have been awful if we had been staying for longer. Even more disappointing was that the restaurant was closed for refurbishment - in the middle of August!! On arrival we were handed a letter saying that it was under new management, but it seemed ridiculous to us to renovate the only restaurant on site in peak season. It's a pity that these details spoilt our stay, as the location of the hotel is lovely.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Family Break
We only had 3 nights and wished it could have been longer. Very peaceful and relaxing, lovely indoor and outdoor pools. Cadair Idris not far for the more adventurous, pitch and putt, tennis and table tennis and the gym for the rest of us. Fantastic views from our bungalow.

Reviewed by
Liz W

From Glossop, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
super break

Reviewed by
neil e

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Happy.
On arrival the attitude of the receptionist was terrible, the bar had not had any deliveries so there was no draft beer or lager, all food had ran out so after long day of traveling and working i had to drive out to find something to eat. In all i found the place very expensive for sub-standard quality, £10.50 for processed fish and chips! & £3.90 pint of standard lager. Check out again not much better, i would certainly not stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ian Bell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing spa break
Wonderful pools and spa facilities. Lovely staff who were very helpful and made our stay all the more relaxing and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
V Milne

From Ellesmere, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next