No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Mornington

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
12 Lancaster Gate , London, W2 3LG
Victorian Character in the heart of London.
Located opposite Hyde Park and moments away from Paddington, The Best Western Mornington Hotel is an oasis of peace yet only minutes from London’s West End and Oxford Street.
Completely refurbished to combine its Victorian Splendour with a modern contemporary finish, the BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel the perfect hotel for your visit to London.
With 70 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, Complimentary High Speed WIFI throughout the Hotel, a professional meeting room, and stylish bar our London Hotel is perfect for any occasion.

Location:
Peace and tranquillity in the Heart of London. Located one street back from Hyde Park and only moments from Paddington Station, the BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel is ideally located close to the Hustle and bustle of the west end and Oxford street without the hassle.
Only two minutes away from Lancaster Gate Tube station the Hotel offers fast access to the city of London and the shopping mecca’s of Westfield White City and Stratford.
Being moments away from Paddington allows easy access for those arriving on the Heathrow express and over ground trains.
Surrounded by many excellent local restaurants and pubs that have retained their neighbourhood appeal to make this your home away from home, our hotel will give you an authentic London experience.
Whether you are in London or on a budget or wanting to splash out The Best Western Mornington Hotel is your ideal choice.

Accommodation:
Spacious, contemporary in design and adaptable The Best Western Mornington is your ideal base near Paddington Station, opposite Hyde Park for any visit to London
With all 70 air conditioned rooms fully refurbished and including COMPLIMENTRY HIGH SPEED Wi-Fi, Tea and coffee making facilities, Iron & Ironing Board, Laptop Safe and en suite bathrooms, the Best Western Mornington Hotel is the right choice for both business and pleasure.

Picture of Best Western Mornington, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GREAT
Enjoyable overnight stay, room was excellent and very clean, ensuite bathroom was sparkling!! Great value for money and would definitely stay at this hotel in the future and would recommend to everyone.

Reviewed by
Emma A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but...
I booked the basement single room (which actually had a double bed which was a bonus) and only needed a few hours' sleep and a shower before an early breakfast and leave. I thought the design of the room was clever and for a short stay it was great. Upon checking in I was invited to pay £12 extra for breakfast and I was happy to do so. There is no room service from the bar and so I went to the bar and asked for a (very reasonably priced given the location) bottle of Merlot and 1 glass. I was made to feel a tad frowned upon and was even asked if I needed 2 glasses. Turns out I didn't quite drink the whole bottle but it's nice to have option after a long day.
The major downfall for me though was the shower which had no cold water and I ended up burning my feet and hand (as the smaller of the 2 shower heads in the cubicle was a metal handheld affair). After trying all combinations of taps/shower heads/pressures I was afraid i'd be late for my early morning appointment and had to make do with a good wash. I couldn't wash my hair. The sink had no plug and there was a strong smell of drains coming up through the plughole.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice, fresh fruit, coffee top ups and pleasant staff. When checking out I explained about the shower and how dangerously hot it was and fair play, they knocked the price of breakfast off my bill. I do hope they've fixed the problem and not just fobbed me off.

Reviewed by
MARGARET R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, Clean and Modern
This hotel has modern facilities and it is very clean. Although I was put in the basement - I guess this was because the room I got was cheap - the room had a decent size for the price and it is quite close to the underground station
Only downside is, their food isn outsourced to third party, so there was a 45mins wait for food and £3 for food delivery to be paid in cash. However, there are loads of nice restaurants around the area, so I opted to eat out instead.
I can't fault this place

Reviewed by
Osa F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room.
With desk that you couldn't actually sit at!

Reviewed by
Mark K

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quality hotel.
Nice quality, modern room. Single room as large as doubles in some other local hotels.
Professional and clean.

Reviewed by
Andrew E

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation
Ok for the area. Clean and functional. Helpful staff. Ok food for breakfast. Better than a lot of hotels in the area. Room was 'up to date'. Phones out of order, but I use a mobile anyway!

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Weekend Stay
Our room was miniscule and rather noisy - we were next to the lift unfortunately. Having said that we only booked a few days before so our options were limited.
The hotel is in an excellent location - directly opposite Hyde Park and a few minutes walk from Lancaster Gate tube station (and about 10 minutes from Marble Arch and Oxford Street.)
The staff were friendly and the hotel clean & modern and despite the room being tiny it had everything needed for a weekend trip.
One piece of advice - take your own hairdryer !! Would have been more effective having my husband blow on my head !!

Reviewed by
jayne h

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, poor room
Booked this at the last minute and was pleased with the great locaion and the external look of the building, the interior was also clean and well presented but the room I was allocated was tiny! There was a double bed but it was shoved into the end of the room right underneath the window so you could only get in on one side and there were few facitilities or space in the room. Very disappointed for the price but I may have just been unlucky. Wouldnt return.

Reviewed by
Laura H

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I will stay again!
Conveniently located, good sizie rooms, good value for money, friendly staff.

ManagementResponse

Dear Emma C, Thank you very much for your feedback. Your opinion is very valuable as it helps to improve our service for future guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is very conveniently located which make the visit of London a great pleasure. I can also see you had the opportunity to enjoy the professionalism of our staff. They are very keen on helping to make your stay unforgettable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed by
Emma C

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

book and go enjoy your stay
Great place, a pleasure to stay thier. Very helpful staff. Room was more then you would expect for the price. Would defently use again, good location.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr. Kevin Gleadell, First of all thank you very much for submitting your review about our hotel. This is how we can improve to develop a better service for our future guests. I am glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and our staff was accommodating and helpful. They are a very keen in making your stay enjoyable. I will definitely will pass your comments to them. As a listed building has several room sizes and some of them are quite large. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Reviewed by
Kevin Gleadell

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next