No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bear

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
15-17 East Street , Havant, PO9 1AA
The Bear Hotel Havant near Portsmouth is located in the heart of the Hampshire town of Havant, with easy access to Bedhampton, Hayling Island via the A27. The Bear Hotel is a traditional coaching inn has played host to Queen Victoria, Churchill and Eisenhower. Set in historic surroundings and located near the town centre of Havant, the Bear Hotel takes pride in its successful combination of traditional charm with modern facilities. An excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. Large car park

Picture of Bear , Havant at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 160 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plenty of hot water. Everything a bit shoddy, however the room was clean and the linen excellent. We had a delicious evening meal and breakfast. Service in the restaurant very good.
The shower looked a bit old but it was remarkably powerful.
Our only complain was our room was unbearably hot, even after being supplied with a room fan.
A great place to stay for visiting the area. We got the local train to Portsmouth harbour, very quick and easy.

Reviewed by
K Bale

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
Stayed here at bargain price which was OK, probably wouldn,t pay full price

Reviewed by
Angela T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed at the Bear Hotel to attend my sister's funeral at Rowlands Castle and spend most of the time there with my family. The Beat hotel met my needs satisfactorily and I hope to stay there on future visits. It has the advantage for those without a car, of easy access to the bus and rail stations. My only criticsm is the narrowness of the stair treads leading to room 14

Reviewed by
Ian Simpson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a Dive!
My other half and I booked into the Bear for an overnight stop after a wonderful week elsewhere.
On arrival the reception staff seemed friendly enough and we were presented with our paperwork and room key - on the paper work it already looked as though we had been bumped from our original room to the cramped furnace we were about to walk into! We were offered (we didn't request) a wake up call for 8.30 am.
On walking into our room the heat hit you straight away, the window was on a latch so wouldn't open further than 2 inches and even with the complimentary fan on full it was still baking! The room itself was very small and cramped but looked to be clean as did the bathroom. After only 30 minutes we had had enough of the heat and requested to move.
We moved to a bigger much cooler family room and set down our belongings. The room was filthy, dust everywhere, scuffs on all the skirting boards, rubbish all over the floor - they obviously hadn't even hoovered the room, paint and wall paper peeling from the walls. The bathroom, disgusting. Again it was filthy and had an awful smell in it - leaving the extractor fan on all night made no difference. The shower/bath had seen much better days with chips and marks all in the bottom. The bedsheets and towels were "white" in colour but covered in stains so this made us wonder if they'd even changed/cleaned them before our arrival.
We ate dinner in the restaurant which was pleasant enough but nothing special.
Exhausted from a delightful week away elsewhere we just wanted to go to sleep in the hopes morning would arrive quickly so we could leave this hell hole as soon as possible!
Morning came and the offered wake up call did not. Luckily we were awake in time to quickly shower in the dirty bathroom and head down for some breakfast. There were not even any clean glasses to have a glass of orange juice. By this point we had had enough. We left without breakfast (which we had paid for) and went to reception to check out. The same receptionist we had seen the night before checked us out and didn't seem bothered about our complaints but did offer our dinner for free - I should think so to!
Never again will we step foot in this dive and would not recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel stay that doesn't require vaccination to be able to stay in.

Reviewed by
Matthew C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what we needed.
Stayed one night before the festival of speed. Great location 15 miles from the venue. Accommodation was everything we needed and was great value for money. Staff were excellent on reception and bar. Will be back again.

Reviewed by
christopher bird

From Blaydon on Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were pleased to find a bed for the night as everything locally was booked due to the Festival of Speed. Our room was spacious and the bed large and comfortable. The bathroom clean and water hot and it was nice to have a bath and a shower.
However, the whole place has a tired and rather tatty look especially upstairs. The furniture badly needs some renovation and the carpets are old and worn. In our room the window latch dodgy and offered no security from the flat roof outside. Changing water over bath from taps to shower needed brute force. I couldn't move it myself.
The evening menu looked good but my Stilton, apple and grape salad had no grapes in it (despite the fact there was a big bowl of grapes for breakfast the next morning) or other ingredients listed. The tables were arranged so the small table were located uncomfortably close to other tables in some places..

Reviewed by
Susan G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great base
Though the hotel is quite old and in need of updating,the service was attentive, the room large and clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was as good as I've experienced in the m8st expensive hotels,and all at a great price.

Reviewed by
Julia T

From Handforth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with updating as carpets were frayed and furniture was rather worn but could not fault the cleanliness and the staff.

Reviewed by
emily d

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most satisfactory overnight halt.
Friendly staff, a functional room, and good facilities. Excellent food. Could benefit from at least one local ale.
Only detrimental comment (whilst appreciating the age of the building) is that the window frame in the room was rotten and required repair and a lick of paint.
Also, not too keen on the cigarette smoke from the kitchen courtyard drifting in through my open window, (three stories directly above). Shame, as its not often you get the chance to have an open window all night given typical UK weather systems.

Reviewed by
Adrian Cooper

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 14 toliet made noise after flushing sounds like low water pressure.
And when having shower water goes all over the floor.

Reviewed by
M BARNES

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next