No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bear

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
15-17 East Street , Havant, PO9 1AA
The Bear Hotel Havant near Portsmouth is located in the heart of the Hampshire town of Havant, with easy access to Bedhampton, Hayling Island via the A27. The Bear Hotel is a traditional coaching inn has played host to Queen Victoria, Churchill and Eisenhower. Set in historic surroundings and located near the town centre of Havant, the Bear Hotel takes pride in its successful combination of traditional charm with modern facilities. An excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. Large car park

Picture of Bear , Havant at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for the price
I stayed over with my other half as he had a local interview the next day. Parking was a little tricky to find but lots of space when we got there. Nice old building but does need refurbishment desperately. Staff very helpful. Room a good size but as in the roof the stairs were quite narrow. If you struggle with stairs you would need to say when booking. Room was a good size and had everything you needed for a one night stay. Bed was comfy and bathroom had bath and shower. TV worked. We went into the pub area and enjoyed a few games of pool with the locals before dinner. Dinner was quite nice and reasonably priced. Service was excellent throughout. Over all we enjoyed our stay as we knew it wouldn't be five star as we didn't pay for that. Yes it was very tired in places but it is a case of who you are with rather than where you were that made the stay for us. We would go back!

Reviewed by
Tiffany G

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for.
As others have said, the hotel is a bit shabby. My room (18) was a single room and quite pokey with window in very poor condition, but as I was only stopping en route from France up to Yorkshire served its purpose. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and all staff were very accommodating. This is the second time I have stayed at The Bear and will stay again although ask for a different room if possible.

Reviewed by
ALISTAIR D

From ROUILLE, France
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second stay here!
A great place to stay, still needs an update to decor, but otherwise wonderful place to stay. Food great, and just up the road is a great Chinese!

Reviewed by
toby hyde

From Sandwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Stayed here with a friend after travelling down for a wedding. We arrived early so they sorted our room out ASAP and it was ready in half an hour - about 3 hours earlier than our actual check in time! The room was clean and tidy, beds were comfortable and there was little noise. Breakfast was included in the price; there was a breakfast bar with cereal, pastries and fruit juice as well as cooked breakfast too. A very pleasant stay - I would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
Rachel H

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old but comfy
The slopes of the floors and the winding staircases are like something out of a hammer house of horror film set..hhaha. but considering its age and history it is fine for the able bodied.

Reviewed by
lewis hale

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairly comfortable pub accommodation
Staff reasonably friendly. Bed comfortable. Breakfast good. Room needed a little TLC.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip with our triplets
After reading some negative reviews we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Our daughter had a really big family room and all our beds were clean and comfortable. The rooms were warm. I agree the furniture could do with updating but the t.v. was modern. The breakfast was very good and there was a good variety - full English, croissants, muffins,dainish pastries, etc. The staff were very pleasant & friendly. It's also in a very good position & close to Portsmouth.

Reviewed by
jennifer smith

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay for great South race
We had a good night stay at the hotel for the money it was not bad, hotel could do with some updating as its looking a little tired in some areas.

Reviewed by
Neil Hunt

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was good
I found the signs for the car park was hard to find but once round the block the car park was large. The room were warm and cosy with a nice en suite. The meals we had were lovely as was breakfast. The only comment to make is that the hotel is tired and needs a refurb but it did not spoil my stay.

Reviewed by
Terry C

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasantly surprised
For the age of the building, the rooms were good and it was obvious that attempts had been made to improve the quality and comfort provided. Very good customer service and food good.

Reviewed by
C JONES

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next