No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bear

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
15-17 East Street , Havant, PO9 1AA
The Bear Hotel Havant near Portsmouth is located in the heart of the Hampshire town of Havant, with easy access to Bedhampton, Hayling Island via the A27. The Bear Hotel is a traditional coaching inn has played host to Queen Victoria, Churchill and Eisenhower. Set in historic surroundings and located near the town centre of Havant, the Bear Hotel takes pride in its successful combination of traditional charm with modern facilities. An excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. Large car park

Picture of Bear , Havant at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 163 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not value for Money
Very expensive for the quality of the room. There is a strange smell as we enter the hotel. Bathrooms are not clean as well.

Reviewed by
B Prakash

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely one night stay
A really enjoyable stay.
Room large and comfortable. Only downside carpets wearing and grubby, but I do understand finance not always available and the hotel has large floor areas that would need refurbishment.
This comment would not deter me from returning and I will recommend. Management really cheerful and friendly. and the breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
Diana Rushbrook

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
We had a very happy stay would highly recommend and look forward to another visit..

Reviewed by
robert sigston

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large quiet room, clean bathroom friendly staff nice food would stay there again

Reviewed by
A Elgar

From Rochford, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Havant B & B
We booked two family bedrooms. The accommodation was very good and extremely spacious for our family. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and clean. My only minor comment was all the surfaces to the furniture need cleaning to remove the stickiness.
Suburb full English Breakfast together with other breakfast choices and cereals etc.
Definite return in the near future.

Reviewed by
Mahesh J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit rough around the edges, but good food and the staff were great.

Reviewed by
steve m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was comfortable and served the purpose of somewhere cheap to stay. Breakfast was slow and the poor staff were run off their feet. However, the food was nice and there was a good variety. I only stayed one night and just needed a bed for the night on a business trip. I wouldn't stay here for a holiday but served the purpose and was a good price unbeatable in the area.

Reviewed by
W Oakes

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We got this room on laterooms for £50 for a twin room. The room was spacious, there was a free carpark, full English breakfast for two. Cant really fault it!

Reviewed by
sarah h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

general maintenace
General maintenance maybe more upgraded facilities it seemed outdated, esp the bathroom as there was rust in most areas and windows need replacing. Beds were very comfy, great selection for drinks. Good night sleep :)

Reviewed by
AMY C

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Night
Hubby and I stayed overnight at The Bear Hotel and had a good experience. Our room was large and well appointed, we even had 2 chairs which is amazing, why hotels give 1 chair for 2 people is beyond me, we are in our 70's and one of us has the chair and the other has to sit on the bed. If it is a small room folding chairs can be used. However we had two chairs. ( We travel a lot and this as you can tell is a real bugbear). In the morning the breakfast was super, there is a pub next door for if you want a drink but it was not noisy. Ladies- 2 doors away from the hotel is an enormous wool shop with all you need for your knitting wants.-

Reviewed by
T Tagg

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next