No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bear

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
15-17 East Street , Havant, PO9 1AA
The Bear Hotel Havant near Portsmouth is located in the heart of the Hampshire town of Havant, with easy access to Bedhampton, Hayling Island via the A27. The Bear Hotel is a traditional coaching inn has played host to Queen Victoria, Churchill and Eisenhower. Set in historic surroundings and located near the town centre of Havant, the Bear Hotel takes pride in its successful combination of traditional charm with modern facilities. An excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. Large car park

Picture of Bear , Havant at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 172 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasantly surprised
For the age of the building, the rooms were good and it was obvious that attempts had been made to improve the quality and comfort provided. Very good customer service and food good.

Reviewed by
C JONES

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel, very comfortable room and staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
D Gould

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasantly surprised - yes it does need some tlc but happy to stay again

Reviewed by
alan w

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had to change room as bed was broken
I had to request a room change as the mattress on the bed in the first was so old and worn it was unusable. Worse than that, though, was that I had to argue for it: I was first told there was no other room until, magically, after complaining for five minutes, there suddenly was!
Also, the receptionist told me I'd have to pay them directly despite having already paid Laterooms and showing him the receipt, who apparently had not sent the payment over. In the end I agreed to a pre-auth, but I'm really unhappy about how this was handeled.
Also, my requested newspaper did not turn up. The woman who dealt with this in the morning was rude and didn't even apologise.

Reviewed by
Martin H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good brekkie
Nice friendly atmosphere, staff polite and courteous.Breakfast choice excellent for a smaller hotel and tasted really yummy! Yes as other have pointed out the hotel is a little frayed around the edges but our room was very clean and exceptionally quite with a huge comfy bed we had a really enjoyable stay and wouldn't hesitate to return. we highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
m hughes

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
not a nice place to stay to many stairs not told when booking lift not working. was told by staff on arrival there was coffee lounge open which was untrue, and paper work in room said meals where from 12 o clock onwards so when we went down about 4.30 [five flights of stairs] it was closed till 6 pm and no where for coffee so back uo five flights of stairs to sit in room to wait for 6pm to have the worst meal we have had in a long time could not wait to leave.....

Reviewed by
debra g

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights in Hampshire
My wife and I were very pleased with our room, despite its being up several flights of stairs, and the restaurant was staffed by two very pleasant people and the food was excellent as was the service. The reception staff were very helpful in solving my wife's wi-fi access problem.

Reviewed by
Peter Halsey

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly
Arrived at silly o'clock and still received a very friendly welcome. Bib comfy bed and lots of hot water!

Reviewed by
ross b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value hotel front bar ned full up date
restraunt bar make up for bad front bar
lots nice pubs in walking distance

Reviewed by
d hill

From Newhaven, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The premises do look a bit tired but the staff make up for any diffidence's.

Reviewed by
Anthony Hodgson

From Great Wakering, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next