Bear

3

15-17 East Street, Havant, PO9 1AA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (168)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • john d

  • February 2015

overnight stay

Good location, tired accommodation, fairly comfortable

Food average

  • P Taylor

  • February 2015

Cheap and cheerful

Great value but you do get what you pay for

  • Ian N

  • January 2015

Bear Havant midweek

Car park a little awkward to find but large and easy parking.

A Traditional English Inn with very friendly staff that makes up for any quirkiness with the access and layout . Potential noisy in summer as room overlooks main road but a big very comfortable bed and a good sleep. Came for business interview but would return for a weekend break. Other pubs and places of interest nearby. Good breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Victor C

  • January 2015

Bear

A very comfortable four day break.

Food excellent, very large room, friendly staff, good location. Highly recommended.

  • Julian O

  • December 2014

The Bear Havant

Very old and tired.

Single glazed windows with curtains thinner than a sheet, so we may just as well have been camping. Facing a main road so very noisy. As well as freezing. Doors wouldn't shut, keys stuck in said doors. Decor very tired. Thank goodness it was just one night.

  • Tiffany G

  • December 2014

Great for the price

I stayed over with my other half as he had a local interview the next day.

Parking was a little tricky to find but lots of space when we got there. Nice old building but does need refurbishment desperately. Staff very helpful. Room a good size but as in the roof the stairs were quite narrow. If you struggle with stairs you would need to say when booking. Room was a good size and had everything you needed for a one night stay. Bed was comfy and bathroom had bath and shower. TV worked. We went into the pub area and enjoyed a few games of pool with the locals before dinner. Dinner was quite nice and reasonably priced. Service was excellent throughout. Over all we enjoyed our stay as we knew it wouldn't be five star as we didn't pay for that. Yes it was very tired in places but it is a case of who you are with rather than where you were that made the stay for us. We would go back.

  • ALISTAIR D

  • December 2014

You get what you pay for.

As others have said, the hotel is a bit shabby.

My room (18) was a single room and quite pokey with window in very poor condition, but as I was only stopping en route from France up to Yorkshire served its purpose. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and all staff were very accommodating. This is the second time I have stayed at The Bear and will stay again although ask for a different room if possible.

  • toby hyde

  • November 2014

could probably do with a coat of paint, but otherwise a wonderful place to stay!

Decor a little old now and a few creaky floorboards, but rooms a good size and bed very comfortable.

Staff always happy and willing to help out, food was great as well, good choice and tasty. Only thing I would say is I you have trouble with stairs it could be a problem as no lift. I would stay here again.

  • toby hyde

  • November 2014

second stay here!

A great place to stay, still needs an update to decor, but otherwise wonderful place to stay.

Food great, and just up the road is a great Chinese!

  • Rachel H

  • November 2014

Excellent value for money

Stayed here with a friend after travelling down for a wedding.

We arrived early so they sorted our room out ASAP and it was ready in half an hour - about 3 hours earlier than our actual check in time. The room was clean and tidy, beds were comfortable and there was little noise. Breakfast was included in the price; there was a breakfast bar with cereal, pastries and fruit juice as well as cooked breakfast too. A very pleasant stay - I would definitely recommend it.