No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bear

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
15-17 East Street , Havant, PO9 1AA
The Bear Hotel Havant near Portsmouth is located in the heart of the Hampshire town of Havant, with easy access to Bedhampton, Hayling Island via the A27. The Bear Hotel is a traditional coaching inn has played host to Queen Victoria, Churchill and Eisenhower. Set in historic surroundings and located near the town centre of Havant, the Bear Hotel takes pride in its successful combination of traditional charm with modern facilities. An excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. Large car park

Picture of Bear , Havant at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 163 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money but would benefit from a refurb
The room was clean but rather tired looking. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The lack of a shower was a disappointment. We booked this room at the discounted price so didn't complain. Would book again but only at reduced rate. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
R BROOKES

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hot water hardly worked in the evening - better in the morning...
We were a little disappointed by penny-pinching. We were asked if we'd like a paper and assumed this was complimentary (we did not ask), but the last words to us were: "you need to pay GBP1-40 for the paper."

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From Manama, Bahrain
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not value for Money
Very expensive for the quality of the room. There is a strange smell as we enter the hotel. Bathrooms are not clean as well.

Reviewed by
B Prakash

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A let down
I had read reviews before booking and with them being mixed thought we would give it a go. Very run down,needs allot of money spent on it, carpet thread bare in parts on the stairs up to rooms, dresser and tables in dining room were all sticky as no varnish left on them and everything on the tables stuck to them including paper napkins! From the first breakfast we opted not to have an evening meal here. Room, well tiles missing in the bathroom, dripping cistern, bed was well worn and lumpy. My partner ordered the ciabatta toastie with cheese and fried egg one breakfast and got something extra in the first mouthful, what looked like an opaque white hard plastic, on showing it to the young waiter, he said they wold have to dispose of the night before prepared egg mix, as it was a fried egg, we did'n't understand the explanation! The pub was friendly, glad we missed the gypsy brawl on the Friday with more than a dozen police cars in attendance though, altogether a disappointment.

Reviewed by
susan pass

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely one night stay
A really enjoyable stay.
Room large and comfortable. Only downside carpets wearing and grubby, but I do understand finance not always available and the hotel has large floor areas that would need refurbishment.
This comment would not deter me from returning and I will recommend. Management really cheerful and friendly. and the breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
Diana Rushbrook

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
We had a very happy stay would highly recommend and look forward to another visit..

Reviewed by
robert sigston

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large quiet room, clean bathroom friendly staff nice food would stay there again

Reviewed by
A Elgar

From Rochford, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Havant B & B
We booked two family bedrooms. The accommodation was very good and extremely spacious for our family. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and clean. My only minor comment was all the surfaces to the furniture need cleaning to remove the stickiness.
Suburb full English Breakfast together with other breakfast choices and cereals etc.
Definite return in the near future.

Reviewed by
Mahesh J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit rough around the edges, but good food and the staff were great.

Reviewed by
steve m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was comfortable and served the purpose of somewhere cheap to stay. Breakfast was slow and the poor staff were run off their feet. However, the food was nice and there was a good variety. I only stayed one night and just needed a bed for the night on a business trip. I wouldn't stay here for a holiday but served the purpose and was a good price unbeatable in the area.

Reviewed by
W Oakes

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next