No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St , Dublin, Dublin 1
The Castle Hotel is an elegant and spacious Georgian hotel located in Dublin City Centre, close to O'Connell St, Croke Park, Temple Bar and all major tourist attractions.

Recently renovated the hotel still retains many of its original Georgian features, such as a splendid period staircases, original plasterwork, striking antique mirrors and crystal chandeliers.

All of our rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard to offer both comfort and style.and provide conveniences such as Tea and Coffee Facilities, Direct Dial telephone, hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi. We have an elegant and welcoming main reception area with beautiful annex reception rooms which are steeped in sophisticated Georgian style for you to relax in.

The Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm and has exposed stonework that has been in place for the past 200 years. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and, it hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

The hotel has it's own private car park and is convenient to Dublin International Airport, ferry terminals, and rail stations.
Picture of Castle Hotel-  Dublin City Centre, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel with all the basics you need for a short stay. Very friendly owner who was keen to talk to customers.

Reviewed by
shirley W

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel, just 5 miutes from centre.
The room was very clean, good size. Overall customer service was great, staff were very helpful even helping us carry our bags to our room. Was a little let down by the staff who served our breakfast on the first day, but the food was lovely, very accommodating to our dietrary needs. Would recommend this hotel to people and would definitely use again, great value for money.

Reviewed by
H Clark

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel centrally located for easy access to city....Nightly entertainment was first class with a great atmosphere

Reviewed by
george cunningham

From Biggar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super Location Beautiful Decor
We had a great stay, rooms were very clean and well appointed. The lobby, restaurant and all common areas were beautifully decorated featuring many antiques. Staff was helpful and friendly.
A super deal and a fantastic stay!

Reviewed by
J Keeney

From Oak Lawn, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
This hotel is in an excellent location to Dublin City Centre. It is just at the top of O'Connell Street therefore within walking distance to all the main tourist attractions. I had never been to Dublin before so this was ideal.
My trip was tarnished as I got my wallet stole but the hotel staff were fantastic in helping me sort everything out.

Reviewed by
Glynis G

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Soundproofing of room very poor and next door conversations were a distraction.

Reviewed by
Philip Talbot

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome from friendly staff. Room very much in need of an upgrade. Central location.

Reviewed by
Nicholas G

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An old-fashioned comfortable friendly hotel
Our room was comfortable but lacked ventilation and therefore too warm. The shower was within the bath, and had no handholds so slightly difficult for elderly and unsteady customers. Food - breakfast was adequate but lacked enough fruit. Dinner was satisfactory but not exceptional. Staff were friendly and helpful. Luggage storage facilities were appreciated.

Reviewed by
richard Ripper

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bit of a let down
Booked through late rooms. Could of had slightly cheaper through another hotel search engine, but I trust using late rooms and prefer to stick to what I know! So about the hotel...
We had booked a double room at the Castle Hotel in Dublin for 3 nights. We was told by the receptionist it had come through as a twin, and that everything else was booked up. So we was forced to sleep apart for the first night (not exactly romantic but it was either that or fight between single blankets and fall down the middle gap). We was then moved into a bigger double room for the 2nd and 3rd night stay. Which was inconvenient as we couldn't unpack until then. They gave us a free drink at the bar as an apology.
The new room had a broken chair, to which amused my partner watching me fall over. The curtain hoops/hooks were half pulled off. The shower plug was blocked up, so started to overflow after being left to run more then 5 minutes. And it was extremely loud with traffic and the pedestrian light crossing sounds (not sure if it's just Ireland's ones that make this specific noise, but sounds like a futuristic laser gun).
All this being said the staff are really nice, especially the bar and breakfast staff. We enjoyed the food, and we had a full cooked breakfast which was included in the price. The location was also really convenient to the tour busses, restaurants, nightlife and shopping.
Would I stay there again? Probably not, since there are hundreds of others to chose from. And we could probably find better booking in advance. I am sure others would not agree with this review, but for me, my stay was a little bit of a let down...

Reviewed by
Lewis P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, unfortunately room next to smokers area . Noisy at night.
Lovely staff, lovely hotel though our room, 103. is located feet away from the smokers area that is very very noisy and I had to complain over a two night period. Staff were considerate and did actually ask others to move on when rowdy.
Again noisy due to feet away from car park as other residents coming and going at all times.
I would stay again but ask for a quiet room much higher up in the building.

Reviewed by
V Birkbeck

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next