No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St , Dublin, Dublin 1
The Castle Hotel is an elegant and spacious Georgian hotel located in Dublin City Centre, close to O'Connell St, Croke Park, Temple Bar and all major tourist attractions.

Recently renovated the hotel still retains many of its original Georgian features, such as a splendid period staircases, original plasterwork, striking antique mirrors and crystal chandeliers.

All of our rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard to offer both comfort and style.and provide conveniences such as Tea and Coffee Facilities, Direct Dial telephone, hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi. We have an elegant and welcoming main reception area with beautiful annex reception rooms which are steeped in sophisticated Georgian style for you to relax in.

The Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm and has exposed stonework that has been in place for the past 200 years. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and, it hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

The hotel has it's own private car park and is convenient to Dublin International Airport, ferry terminals, and rail stations.
Picture of Castle Hotel-  Dublin City Centre, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 93 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wife free weekend for the boys in Dublin
Lets face it this is not the shelbourne but at €99 bed and breakfast it was great value. The staff however, receptionists in particular, were all professional and charming and would not be out of place in the most exclusive establishments. The folk music in the bar was a nice touch as was the olde world feel to the public rooms.

Reviewed by
Robert Torrens

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we really enjoyed our stay in the castle hotel very relaxing and easy excess. this was our second time staying here and found no issues to report at all. (staff very friendly)

dont leave the windows open though (the noise from the Sea Gulls screaming outside )

Reviewed by
Brendan Doyle

From Carrickmacross, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, good staff, lovely atmosphere and ideal location.
A bit on the expensive side, but would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
E Burke

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Lovely hotel really helpful staff, the location is good as its a ten minute walk from the city centre and attractions. The food is really good and evening entertainment was excellent.

Reviewed by
T Marquis

From Guernsey, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location with parking
we really enjoyed our stay in a spacious family room. the breakfast was good and the bar great at night with live music. being a private hotel they really give the impression of trying to make your stay as good as possible. the owner introduced himself at breakfast. my only gripe was that the beds were very hard so didnt get the best nights sleep, but all in all a great place for a weekend visit.
we would certainly come again.

Reviewed by
C Egan

From Kilkenny, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Castle Hotel offers comfortable, clean accommodation situated minutes walk from the city centre.
It is also a short journey from the airport.
The staff are friendly and helpful, I will certainly return for future Dublin trips.

Reviewed by
Eamonn Moran

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want to find an hotel with character and maybe a few ghosts then this is the place to say.
The Castle Hotel is situated in Gardiner Row and is a place full of atmosphere and Georgian Dublin charm.
A good place to visit is the Museum of Literature which is just across the road from the Castle Hotel. Here you will find many of the artifacts of the great writers, so a big thank you to the Gorham family for this museum. Mind you I did expect to see some writings from Phil Lynott in this museum, oh well maybe this will happen in the future!
From your hotel you will be able to visit many interesting areas of Dublin such as Temple Bar and the Button Factory, this is of course if you are attending the Philo Vibe which takes place around the 4th January to celebrate the music of Phil Lynott and Thin Lizzy.
The heart of Dublin is full of spirit so three other areas to visit are the Guinness Museum, The Jameson Museum and having tea at the Greasham should also be on on your list of things to do and the rest of your sight seeing is up to you.
The hotel is situated in two parts the old and the newer areas
I am so pleased that I chose this hotel, or did I? Nevertheless the Castle hotel is a wonderful place to stay and the staff are all so gracious and helpful. I would like to say thank you to the receptionists, firstly for helping me to get the lock of my case when I arrived and also the next day when my Tablet machine jammed. Andy is charming and very helpful and I am still amazed how he managed to run the bar and serve the meals in such a quick time, some how I never seemed to be lat for the concerts at the Button Factory. Carol and the waitresses were lovely and I really enjoyed sharing my stories with you and I think you are amazing the way you were not fazed when the trays of glasses and cups got broken.
If you need a taxi for your flight home the hotel will call for one and you will be charged a very reasonable price and you will know that you are in good hands.
I really cannot say any more about this wonderful hotel, except a big thank you from the lady with the flowers in her hair.

Reviewed by
Caroline Clarkson Drake

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plesant stay - if a little noisey!
We stayed at the Castle Hotel for 3 nights over new year.
Check in was quick and we were asked to pay on arrival. The reception is spacious and homely with period furniture. The receptionists seemed a bit grumpy and unfriendly - I dont think we got a smile out of any of them for the duration of our stay..
Our room (315) was clean and spacious with a double bed and en suit bathroom. The bed was comfortable but VERY noisey with the slightest move squeeking like crazy. The room is situated directly in front of the busy lift with the wall backing onto the stair well. When the stairs were in uce is sounded like someone throwing a washing machine down a cliff - not to mention the hussle and bussle of the lift regularly thoughout the day/night.
The hotel bar is very nice and the staff were very friendly. Live Irish music was great fun and drinks are priced well. The restaurant is also lovely with good food and service with a smile.
Our tarriff included breakfast which was small but sufficient. Service was a little slow and again staff a little grumpy.
The hotel is located about 20 mins from the airport via taxi - around 28 euro fair. It is a 10 min walk form the shops and bars on o'connel(?) street and around 20 mins form temple bar.
If we wer to stay here again I would certianly be requesting a room further back in the hotel, and away from the lifts and stairs!

Reviewed by
G COULTER

From Aberdeen, Scotland
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok, but not in centre as advertised
We went to Dublin for a short break. When booking the hotel, i agreed a rate and asked the hotel to send me an invoice which i would use as proof (just incase). We arrived late on Friday night, and they tried to charge us more. Lucky that i took the invoice as proof ! When booking the hotel, we expected it to be close to the Temple bar area. However, i would guess it is around a mile away (15 - 20 mins walk!). Not good for the mrs in high healed shoes !!

Reviewed by
steven A

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pre-Christmas shopping experience
I stayed with my wife and another couple at the Castle Hotel in December 2012. Room was spotlessly clean and bright with two windows although the other room next door was smaller and darker. Bathroom small and shower tray compact but ample for overnight stay. Toiletries were available. One room had a flat screen TV, the other an older style. Room only used to sleep in. Quality of coffee in room needs improving very cheap and nasty - management needs to spend a few more cents and get nescafe or similar. Reception rooms were cosy with a fire and Christmas decorations. Papers and books to read. We used the car park which again was convenient. Breakfast good but very busy. We were placed in a brick cellar clearly used only for overflow at peak times. No heating and absolutely freezing. Tea and coffee cooled down instantly. Dining staff rushed off their feet. Waited quite a while for our cooked breakfast after ordering. However staff pleasant enough. Overall good budget hotel for a short stay and in a central location with breakfast included. This is our second stay here (previously stayed when known as Waltons Hotel).

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next