No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St , Dublin, Dublin 1
The Castle Hotel is an elegant and spacious Georgian hotel located in Dublin City Centre, close to O'Connell St, Croke Park, Temple Bar and all major tourist attractions.

Recently renovated the hotel still retains many of its original Georgian features, such as a splendid period staircases, original plasterwork, striking antique mirrors and crystal chandeliers.

All of our rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard to offer both comfort and style.and provide conveniences such as Tea and Coffee Facilities, Direct Dial telephone, hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi. We have an elegant and welcoming main reception area with beautiful annex reception rooms which are steeped in sophisticated Georgian style for you to relax in.

The Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm and has exposed stonework that has been in place for the past 200 years. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and, it hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

The hotel has it's own private car park and is convenient to Dublin International Airport, ferry terminals, and rail stations.
Picture of Castle Hotel-  Dublin City Centre, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience
We arrived in Dublin mid morning and didn't want to carry our overnight bags around until 2pm so went to the hotel on the off chance we could leave them somewhere. When we arrived the reception staff were very helpful and booked us in and allowed us to leave our bags in a secure room.
We'd also like to say how friendly and "speedy" the dining room staff were and also the rest of the staff within the hotel.

Reviewed by
K Cathcart

From England
Who stayed in April 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great introduction to that Irish charm !
We had the greatest welcome to the Hotel with the owner greating us and telling us stories , it really made me smile! The castle is situated perfectly for travelling around the city (We walked most of the time but is close to the trams too!) . The rooms was clean and spacious and had some real character , we did have a few problems with the water (it was very hot all of the time!) but aside from that the room was great and more than comfortble. The breakfast was simple but satisfying , toast , ceral and eggs in anyway that you want (or the lure of the full Irish breakfast) . We went out on our first day and after dinner it was great to come back to the hotel bar and enjoy a nightcap whilst listening to some traditional music. For one of the oldest hotels in Dublin it more than satified our needs for the long weekend ....we'll be back!

Reviewed by
N Hodge

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay
I had no great expectations of this hotel so it was a delight to have a decent room a pleasant hotel and friendly, helpful staff (it is Dublin after all). The barman Mick was a particular star.

Reviewed by
Larry Cuffe

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but a little overpriced.
Had a nice few days in Dublin at the Castle. It's right at the top end of O'Connell Street but its just a short walk everywhere. The Air Coach from the airport stops 5 ,minutes away and costs 10 Euros return or a taxi is about 20-25 Euros.
The staff were friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast ample - as well as a cooked breakfast, there is a help yourself buffet of cereal, fruit, bread etc.
The vaults bar is a good start to the evening but we didn't stay for the live music.
Not all rooms have baths but ours did. It was warm and had plenty of tea/coffee.
I just feel the 80/90 Euros a night we paid was a little too much for the room we stated in.
Also booze in Dublin is very expensive - be prepared!!

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay was amazing very welcome, fantastic room!!!! Will be coming again!!!

Reviewed by
Jennifer Adair

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not that good
If thay give you room 319 dont take it bed must be on a 1 in 10 slop with the pillows at the bottom of slope . If anybody walks past room the sound of creaking floor boards is that loud you can hear them over the TV . On checking out could not give me a invoice so took email but still waiting .

Reviewed by
M Beard

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was ok, but it was noisey
A warm welcome when I arrived, Breakfast was only between 8-10pm
I had to check out early 7am, I could not get breakfast at this time. The room was on the main street so there was a lot of traffic noise. I was woken up by people coming back at 3am and leaving in the early hours.

Reviewed by
Lee H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location close to the city, good value compared to other hotels at this time of year (st.patricks day). Staff very helpful, good size rooms and clean. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
M Leather

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
Our first room was a little noisy, overlooking the road, however, the staff were great, changing us to an alternative room with no fuss at all. I'd certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Greville W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wife free weekend for the boys in Dublin
Lets face it this is not the shelbourne but at €99 bed and breakfast it was great value. The staff however, receptionists in particular, were all professional and charming and would not be out of place in the most exclusive establishments. The folk music in the bar was a nice touch as was the olde world feel to the public rooms.

Reviewed by
Robert Torrens

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next