No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St , Dublin, Dublin 1
The Castle Hotel is an elegant and spacious Georgian hotel located in Dublin City Centre, close to O'Connell St, Croke Park, Temple Bar and all major tourist attractions.

Recently renovated the hotel still retains many of its original Georgian features, such as a splendid period staircases, original plasterwork, striking antique mirrors and crystal chandeliers.

All of our rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard to offer both comfort and style.and provide conveniences such as Tea and Coffee Facilities, Direct Dial telephone, hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi. We have an elegant and welcoming main reception area with beautiful annex reception rooms which are steeped in sophisticated Georgian style for you to relax in.

The Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm and has exposed stonework that has been in place for the past 200 years. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and, it hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

The hotel has it's own private car park and is convenient to Dublin International Airport, ferry terminals, and rail stations.
Picture of Castle Hotel-  Dublin City Centre, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby but not chic
Was shocked on first entering the hotel because other than the front door it barely resembled the pictures on the website. the actual hotel was tired, worn and even dirty. The rooms were below standard with old, grubby and falling apart furniture. Although upgrades were available for an extra fee. We had to plug the kettle in on the floor across the room because the socket by the dresser didn't work. There was no temperature control in the room other than opening the window.
The breakfast was chaotic with one toaster for 50 people and the produce a very poor quality. After the first morning we ate at a wonderful little café on the corner of the street even though our breakfast was included in the room price. Loved Dublin but will be staying at a different hotel next time.

Reviewed by
Jacqui B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was unlike the pictures on the internet, although rooms were very basic and a bit dated they were clean. The heating was full on in the rooms even though it was late May and it was necessary to keep the window open even though it was very noisy from the traffic. Downstairs upon entering the hotel there always seemed to be a strong smell of cooking fat which was quite unpleasant!! The service in the restaurant seemed very disorganised and chaotic and on one morning after waiting quite some time after our order had been taken we noticed that several guests who had arrived after us had been served before us, although our food was then brought to our table immediately once we had brought this to the waitresses attention. However in my opinion the food was tasteless and dried up.

Reviewed by
J Gough

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 day stay
very nice stay its a typical Victorian hotel bit creaky in places floorboards make a lot of noise room was lovely and food was excellent

Reviewed by
keith williams

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was a bit tired around the edges, and rooms very variable but it was very close to the centre of Dublin so location made up for any deficiencies. Live music on Sunday night in the bar was a great bonus.

Reviewed by
A McGuckin

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay :)
Lovely hotel, very central and good location. Staff were so friendly and helpful, and although we only stayed for one night we wish we could have stayed for longer!

Reviewed by
K Barnes

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel in the heart of Dublin!
From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who genuinely wanted to help you out. Both nights the bar put on entertainment which was nice to come back to. The room was very clean and with a modern bathroom. Breakfast was delicious if on the slightly small side for myself, however ideal for anybody who isn't a 6 foot rugby player! The location is right next to the shopping centre and near to the transport for temple bar and the zoo. The staff are what made the hotel above and beyond great however and each one of then deserves a pat on he back for naming our holiday that extra bit special!

Reviewed by
Paul Hands

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience
We arrived in Dublin mid morning and didn't want to carry our overnight bags around until 2pm so went to the hotel on the off chance we could leave them somewhere. When we arrived the reception staff were very helpful and booked us in and allowed us to leave our bags in a secure room.
We'd also like to say how friendly and "speedy" the dining room staff were and also the rest of the staff within the hotel.

Reviewed by
K Cathcart

From England
Who stayed in April 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great introduction to that Irish charm !
We had the greatest welcome to the Hotel with the owner greating us and telling us stories , it really made me smile! The castle is situated perfectly for travelling around the city (We walked most of the time but is close to the trams too!) . The rooms was clean and spacious and had some real character , we did have a few problems with the water (it was very hot all of the time!) but aside from that the room was great and more than comfortble. The breakfast was simple but satisfying , toast , ceral and eggs in anyway that you want (or the lure of the full Irish breakfast) . We went out on our first day and after dinner it was great to come back to the hotel bar and enjoy a nightcap whilst listening to some traditional music. For one of the oldest hotels in Dublin it more than satified our needs for the long weekend ....we'll be back!

Reviewed by
N Hodge

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay
I had no great expectations of this hotel so it was a delight to have a decent room a pleasant hotel and friendly, helpful staff (it is Dublin after all). The barman Mick was a particular star.

Reviewed by
Larry Cuffe

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but a little overpriced.
Had a nice few days in Dublin at the Castle. It's right at the top end of O'Connell Street but its just a short walk everywhere. The Air Coach from the airport stops 5 ,minutes away and costs 10 Euros return or a taxi is about 20-25 Euros.
The staff were friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast ample - as well as a cooked breakfast, there is a help yourself buffet of cereal, fruit, bread etc.
The vaults bar is a good start to the evening but we didn't stay for the live music.
Not all rooms have baths but ours did. It was warm and had plenty of tea/coffee.
I just feel the 80/90 Euros a night we paid was a little too much for the room we stated in.
Also booze in Dublin is very expensive - be prepared!!

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next