Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre


Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St, Dublin, Dublin 1

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (71)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Helen Sanders

  • March 2014


Friendly staff, excellent location, good food and good entertainment

  • Matthew S

  • February 2014

Maybe put a chair against your door?

Quite simply the worst hotel experience of my life.

At 9.30 on the first night of our visit, our children were asleep in the room and my wife and i were sitting reading in bed, when we heard a key turn in the lock and the owner of the hotel opened the door of the room. I called out in shock and surprise, he closed the door and moved back out into the hall. I followed him out an he made a half-hearted apology. He was with a group of other people, in the hallway who seemed to find it all rather amusing. The following morning I told the receptionist we were leaving, and would require a refund on the remaining nights. (Like many bad hotels, they ask for payment up-front.) I was told that the owner was refusing to give a refund. I tweeted about the experience and was offered a room by another hotel - a good one.

Fortunately the duty manager was a pleasant and rational human being and agreed to give us a refund. We were about to leave - very happily - when the owner came to see us. He sought to justify his appearance at our door as a "room check". He started talking about letters from his lawyers. He denied that a refund had been refused. His manner was self-pitying, bullying, and finally aggressive. He bundled us - me, my wife and two small children - out of the hotel. We went straight down to the tourist office to make a formal complaint about him. I would strongly advise anybody to avoid this hotel like the plague. Working here must be rather like working at Fawlty Towers - except that underneath it all, Basil Fawlty is quite a likeable character.

  • Julie H

  • February 2014

Excellent stay.

Thank you

  • Joanne L

  • January 2014

Quirky hotel in a great location

Just spent a great couple of days in Dublin.

Chose this hotel because it was very reasonably priced yet in a great location. We had a lovely greeting on arrival and even though it was well before check in our room was ready. This is not a modern 5 star hotel with all mod cons - for us it was far more interesting. It has a winding staircase with creaky floorboards and some great original features and ornaments. Our room was adequately sized as we were hardly in it and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a relaxed affair with no-one rushing you out when you had finished. The staff were absolutely lovely from arrival to departure. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Mary S

  • January 2014


We booked a DOUBLE Room, and requested Blankets and Sheets instead of a Douvet.

Went to our room only to find 2 single Beds ,Dressed as 2 single beds with douvets . When we complained we were told "the blankets are in the wardrobe Ill send up a sheet. So we had to remake the beds and my husband had to get down on his knees and join the 2 beds together with the clips. When we arrived at the front desk before we even got to see our room we were asked to pay in advance for our stay .., Which we will never do again. The heat in the hotel was oppressive.

  • A Williams

  • January 2014

Wouldn't like to see the gas bill

Found the hotel to be very nice but found it extremely difficult to sleep due to the heating been too high temperature, this being despite the radiator been turned off in our room and both windows wide open all through the night.on looking out of the window I noticed every other room windows were open as well

  • K Bertram

  • December 2013

Castle Hotel

An excellent hotel with very friendly staff and the room was first rate.

I only wished there was more TV channels.

  • Jeff T

  • December 2013

Quirky and basic but very friendly

Busy hotel.

Quirky and charming building. Excellent location as very central. Shower didn't work well at all and curtains stained and dirty. That being said the bed was comfy and clean. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Old world charm..... you'll either love it or hate it.

  • J Cumbes

  • December 2013

A weekend stay for 5 for a reunion

The hotel was excellent value in an expensive city like Dublin.

Although probably a coincidence we met the owner on arrival who was very friendly and cheerful and engaged us with the history of the place for around half an hour. The rest of the staff were also very friendly and helpful. One of the most pleasant stays we have had anywhere.

  • L Brown

  • December 2013

Hotel was fine for what we paid, great location, but rooms very dated, needed painting etc.

Staff very nice and friendly