Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

3

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St, Dublin, Dublin 1

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (87)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • V Birkbeck

  • July 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, unfortunately room next to smokers area . Noisy at night.

Lovely staff, lovely hotel though our room, 103.

is located feet away from the smokers area that is very very noisy and I had to complain over a two night period. Staff were considerate and did actually ask others to move on when rowdy. Again noisy due to feet away from car park as other residents coming and going at all times. I would stay again but ask for a quiet room much higher up in the building.

  • Raymond M

  • July 2014

one night stay

Disappointed, room very stuffy, when I phoned reception to get a fan to alleviate the problem the lady informed me that they hired fans but wasn't sure if they had any left that she would check the offices and drop one to my room, I never heard another word, bad customer service.

Parking which was an annoying extra €10 was a challenge to manouver one can see why 'parking at own risk' is displayed (having said that we were happy that we could leave the car on site until we were going home after our appointments). Went to make cup of tea and the lead was too short to safely sit on the table had to boil it on the floor. Internet Wi-Fi very poor, tv channels 2 worked a further few flitted in and out. Breakfast staff were pleasant. Did not represent value for money, would be slow to recommend it.

  • Elaine S

  • July 2014

Great Location

Great location to stay in Dublin - handy for O'Connell Street.

Lovely shower room. Bedrooms could do with some updating but ideal for a short visit to the Irish capital!

  • Dianne W

  • June 2014

Castle hotel

Room was in need of update.

Bathroom very small and taps broken. Walls very thin. Next door very noisy.

  • Murray H

  • June 2014

the room was a twin, quite compact, but adequate for our two-night stay - on the plus side, the beds were very comfortable, the staff friendly and the breakfasts excellent - on the negative side, the bathroom was very cramped, the shower didn't produce much more than a trickle - there was no aircon, the room had full sun and we were in the middle of a heatwave so the temperature in the room by the evening was unbearable - the hotel were unable to supply a fan which is my main complaint - we would have changed rooms if we had been there for longer - the fittings were a bit tired with broken hooks and rickety furnishings - i got a half price deal so it wasn't bad value, but if i had paid full price i would definitely have asked for money back

  • Martin D

  • June 2014

No complaints

Excellent value for money, good location, friendly staff, decent bar, happily stay again!

  • K Baker

  • June 2014

friendly and comfortable

staff were very friendly and helpful, room was comfortable and clean.

Location was perfect, just a few minutes walk from the centre but far enough away to be less noisy

  • Grace C

  • June 2014

My 6th stay at the Castle

Excellent as always.

Ideally placed for the centre of Dublin. Can't fault it!

  • Sarah P

  • May 2014

The hotel was nice , staff very friendly .

Our room was small bore no resemblance to the photos on the web site , so don't expect the posh rooms .

We ate at the hotel the first night but the food wasn't up to much . It was expensive for what you got , I could of made better myself . The location is very good , few mins walk to the centre and ideal for the airport bus and the hop on hop off bus .

  • Kevin B

  • May 2014

Poor service and dated hotel.

We arrived to find the parking to be very dodgy, we were told we had to give them our car keys so they could move our car if the needed (very cramped).

We were told that we had to sign a disclaimer to say if they damaged our car they were not responsible. Not the best start, We were told that check in was 2pm, so went for a wander and returned at 2pm as we were half an our early. On return at 2pm we were told our room was not quite ready, could we wait 10 minutes. Ok that's fine, we said. Sat round there was a couple who's room was 2 hours late and many other unhappy people. We were fobbed off until 3pm when finally our room was "ready". We went to our room on the 3rd floor. On route we noticed the hotel looked in worse condition as you went upwards. Light fittings were falling apart by the 3rd floor and the place was shabby.

The room was nicely decorated and the en suit was reasonable but the bed was so uncomfortable we considered checking straight out and going anywhere else. The carpet wasn't clean and you were unsafe in bare feet.

All in all the worst nights sleep I've had in a long time.

The food is ok, some staff are good, some on the reception desk were hopeless.

As a frequent traveller I was very dissatisfied and would recomend not staying there.