Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre


Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St, Dublin, Dublin 1

Price From 262.08 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (62)

76% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • richard Ripper

  • July 2014

An old-fashioned comfortable friendly hotel

Our room was comfortable but lacked ventilation and therefore too warm.

The shower was within the bath, and had no handholds so slightly difficult for elderly and unsteady customers. Food - breakfast was adequate but lacked enough fruit. Dinner was satisfactory but not exceptional. Staff were friendly and helpful. Luggage storage facilities were appreciated.

  • Lewis P

  • July 2014

bit of a let down

Booked through late rooms.

Could of had slightly cheaper through another hotel search engine, but I trust using late rooms and prefer to stick to what I know. So about the hotel... We had booked a double room at the Castle Hotel in Dublin for 3 nights. We was told by the receptionist it had come through as a twin, and that everything else was booked up. So we was forced to sleep apart for the first night (not exactly romantic but it was either that or fight between single blankets and fall down the middle gap). We was then moved into a bigger double room for the 2nd and 3rd night stay. Which was inconvenient as we couldn't unpack until then. They gave us a free drink at the bar as an apology. The new room had a broken chair, to which amused my partner watching me fall over. The curtain hoops/hooks were half pulled off. The shower plug was blocked up, so started to overflow after being left to run more then 5 minutes. And it was extremely loud with traffic and the pedestrian light crossing sounds (not sure if it's just Ireland's ones that make this specific noise, but sounds like a futuristic laser gun). All this being said the staff are really nice, especially the bar and breakfast staff. We enjoyed the food, and we had a full cooked breakfast which was included in the price. The location was also really convenient to the tour busses, restaurants, nightlife and shopping. Would I stay there again. Probably not, since there are hundreds of others to chose from. And we could probably find better booking in advance. I am sure others would not agree with this review, but for me, my stay was a little bit of a let down...

  • V Birkbeck

  • July 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, unfortunately room next to smokers area . Noisy at night.

Lovely staff, lovely hotel though our room, 103.

is located feet away from the smokers area that is very very noisy and I had to complain over a two night period. Staff were considerate and did actually ask others to move on when rowdy. Again noisy due to feet away from car park as other residents coming and going at all times. I would stay again but ask for a quiet room much higher up in the building.

  • Raymond M

  • July 2014

one night stay

Disappointed, room very stuffy, when I phoned reception to get a fan to alleviate the problem the lady informed me that they hired fans but wasn't sure if they had any left that she would check the offices and drop one to my room, I never heard another word, bad customer service.

Parking which was an annoying extra €10 was a challenge to manouver one can see why 'parking at own risk' is displayed (having said that we were happy that we could leave the car on site until we were going home after our appointments). Went to make cup of tea and the lead was too short to safely sit on the table had to boil it on the floor. Internet Wi-Fi very poor, tv channels 2 worked a further few flitted in and out. Breakfast staff were pleasant. Did not represent value for money, would be slow to recommend it.

  • Elaine S

  • July 2014

Great Location

Great location to stay in Dublin - handy for O'Connell Street.

Lovely shower room. Bedrooms could do with some updating but ideal for a short visit to the Irish capital!

  • Dianne W

  • June 2014

Castle hotel

Room was in need of update.

Bathroom very small and taps broken. Walls very thin. Next door very noisy.

  • Murray H

  • June 2014

the room was a twin, quite compact, but adequate for our two-night stay - on the plus side, the beds were very comfortable, the staff friendly and the breakfasts excellent - on the negative side, the bathroom was very cramped, the shower didn't produce much more than a trickle - there was no aircon, the room had full sun and we were in the middle of a heatwave so the temperature in the room by the evening was unbearable - the hotel were unable to supply a fan which is my main complaint - we would have changed rooms if we had been there for longer - the fittings were a bit tired with broken hooks and rickety furnishings - i got a half price deal so it wasn't bad value, but if i had paid full price i would definitely have asked for money back

  • Martin D

  • June 2014

No complaints

Excellent value for money, good location, friendly staff, decent bar, happily stay again!

  • K Baker

  • June 2014

friendly and comfortable

staff were very friendly and helpful, room was comfortable and clean.

Location was perfect, just a few minutes walk from the centre but far enough away to be less noisy

  • Grace C

  • June 2014

My 6th stay at the Castle

Excellent as always.

Ideally placed for the centre of Dublin. Can't fault it!