No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Hart Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
High Street,Winchcombe , Winchcombe, GL54 5LJ
The White Hart Inn, centrally located in the historic town of Winchcombe and close to Sudeley Castle, reopened at the end of 2006. A new bar, restaurant and wine shop, called ‘Wine & Sausage’ in a centuries old pub, with 8 ensuite bedrooms. Amazing and personally chosen wines, but also regional beer and good old, simple and unpretentious British food (specialising in sausages!). Food all day, 7 days a week, 8am to 9.30pm (10.00pm Fridays and Saturdays).
Picture of The White Hart Inn, Winchcombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
Very quirky. Lovely pub and nice atmosphere. Food was incredible. We had travelled across the Cotswolds all week staying in various b&bs and this was by far the best food of the lot.

Reviewed by
David Wilson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

few problems
The cords on the sash window were broken and by the state of the damp stains on the walls and crusty curtains for some time, so we couldn't close the window at night to cut out the noise from below drinkers but as it happened we needed the window open as the room was so hot because the radiator couldn't be switched off despite there being a thermostat. Apart from that the rest was OK.

Reviewed by
graham c

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Winchcombe
Wonderful place to stay.Hotel staff great,recommended

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a good stay. The room although superior was nothing special, no frills, just basic things and quite outdated but we didn't mind at all. It was quite noisy too facing the beer garden. The food at the restaurant was delicious, both for dinner and breakfast. Their sausages are the best. We also loved the outside seating. A good stop on our hiking trip through Cotswold.

Reviewed by
Valeriya S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Great hotel, quiet, fab value would stay again and recommend

Reviewed by
C Jackson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart
Was not able to stay for breakfast on Saturday as I had to leave by 0730, no breakfast until 0800!
No check out receptionist available until 0730, a little close for me!

Reviewed by
David M

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday trip
Hadn't realised how many stairs there were on booking, the trip was for my mums 90th and there are an awful lot of flights from the car park. However nicely situated in the middle of Wynchcombe, but not ideal for an elderly person. Restaurant was good. Beds a bit noisy on the high street with no double glazing.

Reviewed by
Jeff H

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The White Hart
Very much enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Rob G

From Tondu, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Very good value for money for two people looking to spend one night in a picture perfect town. The room was in the loft so quite hot and a number of stairs for anyone with any mobility issues, but no problem for most. Very big bathroom. Recommend booking for the restaurant in advance as it gets booked in the evening quickly

Reviewed by
W Hahn

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mainly good but room 4 was let down by shower and extractor fan
Our room was spacious, bright, well-furnished and clean and we had fantastic views from the back of the hotel across to the steep Cotswold hills rising behind. But the overall effect for me was marred by night-time noise. I am a light sleeper, but when the thumping noise of the kitchen pop music finally was turned off at about 11.30pm I thought perhaps sleep would be a possibliity only to find that the industrial grade extractor below was still cutting in and out for what seemed like the rest of the night. In an otherwise quiet location, it sounded like a motor bike roaring each time it came on, then it was off for a few minutes, but, as I was dozing off, back it roared. At about 1.30am I finally fell asleep but when I woke at 6.00am it was (?still) going. We had planned to ask for a second night when we first arrived, but I could not face the sleep deprivation routine. As the room was also very hot, we had the window open during the night but when I shut this in the small hours it did little to reduce the sound (no double glazing). Also, the shower over the bath had no means of fixing it to the wall and no screen - and the temperature hunted about each time other guests turned the water on and off - very frustrating to use. This was a pity - peace during the night and a user-friendly shower would have made my review much more enthusiastic.

Reviewed by
Joyce S

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next