No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sun

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Sun Street , Hitchin, SG5 1AF
The Sun is a traditional coaching inn which has been an important landmark of historic Hitchin since the 1500s. Today's hotel features 32 comfortable en-suite bedrooms including two feature rooms, one with a four-poster for those special occasions. An excellent menu is served in the newly refurbished restaurant, and the adjoining Cromwell's Bar provides a lively atmosphere to enjoy ale or a fine wine.
Picture of Sun , Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room booking
overall a very good experience very clean and comfortable friendly staff

Reviewed by
Paul Sheppard

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay stay didn't start off great when I turned up at 6 (4 hours after check in time starts) to find a cleaner in my room cleaning it!After waiting fo her to finish i decided to take abath to find the tiles had mould on them as did the shower curtain (black and orange).
The towels also smelt of chips and vinegar for some reason! The lady at reception seemed surprisd and replaced them but they still smelt the same.
In the morning the toast that was served with my beans on toast was leathery I ended up with half a brown piece and half a white piece having not been asked which I might prefer.
I don't normally complain at all but these things all added up to a rather unsatisfying stay.

Reviewed by
S Johnston

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with great character
We loved the Sun Hotel. It is in central Hitchin and therefore close to everything. It is a lovely old hotel with great character, comfortable rooms.... And a great breakfast too!

Reviewed by
collette d

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

festival stay
I booked this hotel having previously stayed two years before at a similar time of year. A reasonably good room with plenty if room and good sized bAthroom - somewhat more expensive but still a very good location and venue. Fabulous breakfast despite a heavy guest ratio and no parking though as there were two weddings on the go.
Staff coped admirably in spite of the pressure.

Reviewed by
Tracey L

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice central hotel
Nice room, clean with comfortable beds and good choice for breakfast. Only drawback was the noise from the pub over the road which went on til midnight. As we were late back ourselves it wasn't that much of a problem.

Reviewed by
Ruth Thwaites

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Haunted?
This hotel was a old coaching house therfore rooms could be classed as querky with squeaky floorboards. Have stopped there before so knew what to expect. Some rooms are haunted. May be a little noisy at night if you have a front bedroom around kick out time for the clubs.

Reviewed by
David H

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Looked reasonable on the Late Rooms site with some character and lived up to expectations. Is an old coaching inn, some rooms are more modern but they kindly gave us a room in the old part with a four poster bed but which had a modern bathroom.
Great value for the price.

Reviewed by
Alistair H

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff we met were very polite and helpful. The hotel comfortable and clean, unfortunately our room was close to the front and the club opposite goes on until at least 03:00hrs!

Reviewed by
Keith F

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pricey for what is was but overall a nice comfortable stay
stayed in june 2014 just for one night Room 19 itself is a lovely room very cosy and bed was so comfortable, we noticed the room was quite dusty but as it was just somewhere to lay our heads we werent that bothered. One bedside lamp didnt work and the flush on the toilet worked sometimes but definately wasnt right. the staff were very friendly and helpful none of the above would stop me staying again but do think the room was quite expensive at £50 per night.

Reviewed by
m wright

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit disappointed
I'm a 'fan' of the Sun Hotel - I think it is a lovely old building, and a landmark in Hitchin town centre.
I have stayed at the hotel I think twice before, and have always been happy.
However this time, my room felt a little 'jaded', and old, and in need of refurbishment.

Reviewed by
I Holohan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next