No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sun

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Sun Street , Hitchin, SG5 1AF
The Sun is a traditional coaching inn which has been an important landmark of historic Hitchin since the 1500s. Today's hotel features 32 comfortable en-suite bedrooms including two feature rooms, one with a four-poster for those special occasions. An excellent menu is served in the newly refurbished restaurant, and the adjoining Cromwell's Bar provides a lively atmosphere to enjoy ale or a fine wine.
Picture of Sun , Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice central hotel
Nice room, clean with comfortable beds and good choice for breakfast. Only drawback was the noise from the pub over the road which went on til midnight. As we were late back ourselves it wasn't that much of a problem.

Reviewed by
Ruth Thwaites

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Haunted?
This hotel was a old coaching house therfore rooms could be classed as querky with squeaky floorboards. Have stopped there before so knew what to expect. Some rooms are haunted. May be a little noisy at night if you have a front bedroom around kick out time for the clubs.

Reviewed by
David H

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Looked reasonable on the Late Rooms site with some character and lived up to expectations. Is an old coaching inn, some rooms are more modern but they kindly gave us a room in the old part with a four poster bed but which had a modern bathroom.
Great value for the price.

Reviewed by
Alistair H

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff we met were very polite and helpful. The hotel comfortable and clean, unfortunately our room was close to the front and the club opposite goes on until at least 03:00hrs!

Reviewed by
Keith F

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pricey for what is was but overall a nice comfortable stay
stayed in june 2014 just for one night Room 19 itself is a lovely room very cosy and bed was so comfortable, we noticed the room was quite dusty but as it was just somewhere to lay our heads we werent that bothered. One bedside lamp didnt work and the flush on the toilet worked sometimes but definately wasnt right. the staff were very friendly and helpful none of the above would stop me staying again but do think the room was quite expensive at £50 per night.

Reviewed by
m wright

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit disappointed
I'm a 'fan' of the Sun Hotel - I think it is a lovely old building, and a landmark in Hitchin town centre.
I have stayed at the hotel I think twice before, and have always been happy.
However this time, my room felt a little 'jaded', and old, and in need of refurbishment.

Reviewed by
I Holohan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in Hitchin
We booked at the last minute, having checked that the hotel was in the premier street in Hitchin for nice restaurants. Our room was across the courtyard from the main hotel, and was really very comfortable indeed - we will definitely return soon! The staff were helpful and friendly, and the breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
David Brannan

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Complaints
Great Food, Great Accommodation. May not be suitable for more than a few days but for a short break of 4 days it was great.

Reviewed by
J Berry

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were given the key to our room and when we entered it had not been cleaned after the previous guest. No apology when we mentioned it to the receptionist.. Room itself was fine but the bathroom had mould and the plaster falling off the walls. Tile grouting around the shower was very dirty, this really let the room down. We were at the front of the hotel and our room was next to what I think was a night club, noise was really bad, both music and party goers direcly outside window, as well as the road outside the hotel being used as a race track by very noisy turbo powered cars! 3.30am it was still going on and we were still awake.

Reviewed by
JULIE H

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky place smack bang in the centre of town
Being in the centre of town might be an issue for you, as may the fact that there is a nightclub next door. For me though, I was so pooped by the time we got to bed, I didn't hear a thing. I loved the character of the hotel, the quirky passage ways and size of the rooms. Granted our bathroom needed some DIY but it didn't spoil the stay. Some reviews complain that the hotel is dated but if you think how old it is, the owners are keeping it original! Staff were friendly & helpful. Breakfast choice plentiful but a little bland. However I would not hesitate in staying here again should I return to Hitchin.

Reviewed by
P Lancashire

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next