No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - TravelRest Bournemouth

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
135 West Hill Road , Bournemouth, BH2 5EG
This TravelRest has recently reopened following refurbishment, 25 of the 45 bedrooms were fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard.
The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished budget rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations, luxury toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray.

Key features at a glance:

> Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, WITH EASY ACCESS TO KEY BUSINESS SITES IN POOLE AND BOURNEMOUTH VICINITY VIA WESSEX WAY.
> Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC
> Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops, .
> Two styles of guest bedroom – contemporary TravelRest Club Rooms featuring designer fabrics; toiletries; luxury hospitality tray and IPod docking station.
> Traditional budget rooms – classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay.
> All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player
> Free parking on site, limited and alternative free parking within the immediate area
> Bar and cafe open throughout the day
> 24 hours reception
> Free wi-fi
> Group Friendly
Picture of TravelRest Bournemouth, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 270 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not pleased at all
I have to say that it was not a great experience at all.
The staff was not at all friendly, and rather rude at times.
Suggest TravelRest to keep more friendly staff.
The bathroom was very disappointing and was hardly big enough for one person to stand.

Reviewed by
P Marwal

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday
The hotel itself is well situated to the town centre and the staff were very helpful.
The décor in the room is a bit dated and the price of £160 for the night was way over the top for the level of accommodation.
This was the bank holiday weekend though and everywhere was full so I guess you can charge what you like.
Parking was a bit of an issue but overall a good stay here

Reviewed by
S Newton

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday Weekend
Hotel was perfect and very close to the beach. Was surprised how much space we had in the family room. Staff were very helpful and very friendly. Toilet could have been more clean but it wasn't anything to complain about, in my opinion. The only downside was the price i paid but it was the bank holiday weekend. Some other hotels were looking for nearly three times as much as i paid here. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Low water pressure and difficult parking
Room was clean and tidy. Disappointment was derived from:
poor poor water pressure in the bathroom. This would have been frustrating for family of 4 as we were in a room big enough for 4. I would not have washed my shoulder length hair with that water pressure.
Free parking wasn't available in the vicinity. Arguably this was because of bank holiday but it was quite frustrating.

Reviewed by
E Soo

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable for the money paid
We stayed for one night and had no major issues. We arrived a while early and were told that check-in wasn't until 2pm, so we were given a parking permit for the hotel's parking area at that time so we didn't have to pay to park somewhere else until we could check-in. The room we had was slightly on the small side, essentially just a bed with small walkways around it. The room was at the back of the building and we closed the curtains right away as all we could see was back entrances to what seemed to be a kitchen and just outside the window was some kind of fan running constantly. The bed was comfortable and did give a good nights sleep, but besides this there is not much else to say. The bathroom was clean enough, although the lock was not functioning and seemed to be on backwards so the door would not actually lock. Along with this, the shower would constantly change between being warm, cold and hot for some bizarre reason. We did have one dog stay in the room with us which created no issues as the hotel is listed as pet friendly
Overall, the hotel served it's purpose and gave us somewhere to stay for the night but we wouldn't be rushing back in a hurry. Perhaps if booking ahead and paying in the region of £30 a night would be an appropriate price for the hotel but as we booked late we did have to pay a little more, and it did not seem worth it for what we got.

Reviewed by
K Burke

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean basic accommodation beds were very comfortable and we all slept well
for the price we paid it was good value for the money paid xx

Reviewed by
Lisa Harvey

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
The room was fairly clean, but was apparently "recently refurbished" this I think is an understatement due to the fact the walls were scratched and had dirty marks on them, the un suite was ok apart from the shower drainage was blocked, but being parents we know the cause and unblocked it ourselves by pulling a big clump of mixed hair out :/.

Reviewed by
Gary D

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TravelRest
Really good value for money. Could hsve put ud with bsby downstairs. No lift so very difficult to get upstairs. Also stain on bedsheets.

Reviewed by
pauline a

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arived just after 2pm check in was smooth and simple and no hassle or problems

Reviewed by
M Harris

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
Size of room was good.
Beds were very comfortable.

Reviewed by
H Mumin

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next