No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lakes Lodge

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Lake Road , Ambleside, LA22 0DB
Lakes Lodge offers contemporary townhouse bed and breakfast accommodation in the centre of Ambleside. The Lodge offers modern facilities with an atmosphere to give you "a great night and a good morning" All rooms are en-suite,with a choice of family, four poster and king size bedded rooms offering views of Ambeside town and its surroundings. TV's with DVD Player are present in all rooms, along with complimentary trays. Ice machine for guest use with beer and wines available throughout the day. Ample parking and lock-up for motorcycles and mountain bikes.

Start your day in the cafe-style buffet breakfast room, where you can help yourself to a hearty Full English Breakfast as well as continental style cuisine. This comprises of cereals, fruit, bread and fruit juice to name just a few items available. Throughout the day the coffee machine is on for you to help yourself to when returning from a day on the lake or walking in the fells.

Please note the establishment is completely non-smoking. If guests smoke in the bedrooms a charge of up to 1 night accommodation may apply.

If guests intend to check in after 8pm can they please inform the hotel prior to their arrival.
Please note, parking spaces are limited and subject to availability.

Please note Guests cannot book more than 4 rooms as this goes against our group bookings policy.

Picture of Lakes Lodge, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay
We've stayed here many times before and will return. It's handy for town and good quality accommodation . A faulty fan was fixed straight away so we could sleep soundly.

Reviewed by
C Millett

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, comfortable bed, good breakfast, well located for the town centre shops/pubs/restuarants.

Reviewed by
Gordon S

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Relaxing Stay!
We were thrilled with our accommodation at the Lakes Lodge. We felt very welcomed by the staff every day and the breakfasts were to a good quality. The room was good, the bathroom was big and the bed was comfy. Everything was very clean too!
We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Matthew O

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and food will definitely return in a future visit to the Lakes.

Reviewed by
Carol merrett

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
I would definitely recommend Lakes Lodge. It's very well presented, comfortable, and the staff are very polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
B Mark

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, well furnished and spacious room, that was very quiet, ideally located with very helpful staf
This a very well sited guest house, just about in the centre of Ambleside, surprisigly quiet , with the all important guest parking right outside. You are given a key for early/late entry, and the rooms are well sound prrofed to give a perfect night's sleep. We had a very genrous twin beeded room, with 2 double beds, Tv and a good DVD selection free of charge in the lounge area. There is an ice machine, and a very good breakfast in a very pleasant dining area, which gives you a chance to meet other guests if you wish. We wil be booking here again

Reviewed by
S Churchill

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alround good accommodation
Conveniently located accommodation on main street with private parking. Large, comfortable, clean double room with powerful en suite shower. Hair dryer provided. Good quality bedding/towels/furnishings and small bistro table and chairs in room as well as tea/coffee making facilities.
Room 11 is on the ground floor at the back of the building next to corridor and dining room so can be noisy from breakfast serving time (8.00 am). If you enjoy staying in bed in the morning ask for a different room.
Staff very pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. Self service breakfast is excellent and varied and eat as much as you want (cereal, fruit, full English breakfast, toast + tea and coffee).

Reviewed by
Sandra R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break May 14
I booked Lakes Lodge to take my elderly mum on a short break. Although there was an initial problem of putting us on the 2nd floor this was resolved quickly and efficiently. The location was ideally placed for the town and short drives to other lake district towns. The staff were all brilliant, friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a good choice.

Reviewed by
Irene T

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lakes Lodge
Clean and tidy, Lakes Lodge is ideally situated for access to Ambleside and early Windermere. Breakfast is buffet style but of good quality although the dining area is a little like a 'diner'. The staff were pleasant and very helpful.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Very friendly and helpful receptionists. A traditional hotel with a modern dining area - serving a very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
G Dunne

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next