No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lakes Lodge

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Lake Road , Ambleside, LA22 0DB
Lakes Lodge offers contemporary townhouse bed and breakfast accommodation in the centre of Ambleside. The Lodge offers modern facilities with an atmosphere to give you "a great night and a good morning" All rooms are en-suite,with a choice of family, four poster and king size bedded rooms offering views of Ambeside town and its surroundings. TV's with DVD Player are present in all rooms, along with complimentary trays. Ice machine for guest use with beer and wines available throughout the day. Ample parking and lock-up for motorcycles and mountain bikes.

Start your day in the cafe-style buffet breakfast room, where you can help yourself to a hearty Full English Breakfast as well as continental style cuisine. This comprises of cereals, fruit, bread and fruit juice to name just a few items available. Throughout the day the coffee machine is on for you to help yourself to when returning from a day on the lake or walking in the fells.

Please note the establishment is completely non-smoking. If guests smoke in the bedrooms a charge of up to 1 night accommodation may apply.

If guests intend to check in after 8pm can they please inform the hotel prior to their arrival.
Please note, parking spaces are limited and subject to availability.

Please note Guests cannot book more than 4 rooms as this goes against our group bookings policy.

Picture of Lakes Lodge, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake lodge
Had a brilliant time with my husband. Plenty to do in ambleside. The hotel was picoed by my husband for our 32 year wedding anniversary. He couldn't off picoed a better place to stay. The hotel was clean and comfortable slept well and breakfast was excellent and staff are very helpful. Thanks for a great break indefinitely be back.

Reviewed by
vicki corrigan

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely break
We spent a lovely couple of nights here. The hotel is in a good central location, 2 minutes from restaurants, shops and pubs and 5-10 mins from Windermere. The rooms are furnished well and the dvd player was a good bonus. Extremely comfortable beds and large modern bathroom.
The breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of it.
Friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely be going back.

Reviewed by
S Hindley

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lakes Escape
We have stayed at the Lakes Lodge several times and have always been impressed by the clean rooms and the friendly staff who are always there but not in your face. They have a good general knowledge of the area and are willing to help with regards to local walks.

Reviewed by
Christopher Maull

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lakes lodge
Lovely hotel in perfect location our second stay at this hotel the room was clean except for two very dirty armchairs to dirty to use
The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is very good will definitely be staying again

Reviewed by
Brenda C

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay
Lovely service and felt very welcome. The room felt very cold at night and that's the only negative comment I could make.

Reviewed by
Hannah R

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Stayed bed & breakfast, the breakfast was very good. Made to feel very welcome by the staff. The room was very clean,bed was very comfy, nice shower and big towels, excellent hair dryer provided. Would definitely stay again, location very good.

Reviewed by
lynne m

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room with fantastic views. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
P Johnson

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for 'eveything Lakes!'
Unless I'm bonkers - which I could be... You don't stay somewhere twice previously unless you're happy with eveything? Well we have been very happy on all occasions now. Very welcoming friendly & helpful staff too, rooms great - different choices to suit what you fancy very reasonable rates, clean an ample breakfast & parking! In the heart of Ambleside, so park up & amble - all sorted - smashing!

Reviewed by
Sara S

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The proprietor was very welcoming and helpful, the room was very comfortable and clean, although it was in the basement so there was no view the wallpaper views of the lake district made up for it. A great base for heading out on to the fells as we did doing the Fairfield Horseshoe and handy for the local amenity's. The self service breakfast was excellent one of the best!!!

Reviewed by
M Nisbet

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay
We've stayed here many times before and will return. It's handy for town and good quality accommodation . A faulty fan was fixed straight away so we could sleep soundly.

Reviewed by
C Millett

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next