No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lakes Lodge

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Lake Road , Ambleside, LA22 0DB
Lakes Lodge offers contemporary townhouse bed and breakfast accommodation in the centre of Ambleside. The Lodge offers modern facilities with an atmosphere to give you "a great night and a good morning" All rooms are en-suite,with a choice of family, four poster and king size bedded rooms offering views of Ambeside town and its surroundings. TV's with DVD Player are present in all rooms, along with complimentary trays. Ice machine for guest use with beer and wines available throughout the day. Ample parking and lock-up for motorcycles and mountain bikes.

Start your day in the cafe-style buffet breakfast room, where you can help yourself to a hearty Full English Breakfast as well as continental style cuisine. This comprises of cereals, fruit, bread and fruit juice to name just a few items available. Throughout the day the coffee machine is on for you to help yourself to when returning from a day on the lake or walking in the fells.

Please note the establishment is completely non-smoking. If guests smoke in the bedrooms a charge of up to 1 night accommodation may apply.

If guests intend to check in after 8pm can they please inform the hotel prior to their arrival.
Please note, parking spaces are limited and subject to availability.

Please note Guests cannot book more than 4 rooms as this goes against our group bookings policy.

Picture of Lakes Lodge, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ambleside
The staff were friendly and accommodating from the moment we arrived.
The room itself was excellent and had all the services you need for a stay away from home and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends
It was our first visit to Ambleside yet we are already thinking about when we will have time to go there again.
There are so many nice walking trails in the area for all levels of walkers ( we are novices so just did the easy level one walks ) . If you want to get away from work and wind down and relax and recharge your batteries we can think of no better place to visit. During the day you can go on relaxing walks or trips and in the evening visit the many bustling restaurants or pubs in the area.

Reviewed by
Janet D

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, affordable short getaway
Lakes Lodge is comfortable, clean and in a convenient location in the Ambleside town. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room is beautiful more than we expected and to be honest we wouldnt mind to pay a bit more for such service.

Reviewed by
H Hasno

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent...
Great location, really close to Ambleside town centre. The perfect launch pad for a day out in the hills. Good breakfast to set you up for the morning. Clean , tidy rooms with nice soft towels and some beautiful views of Loughrigg Fell from the rooms at the rear of the hotel. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, my wife left her camera battery charger in the room after we left and the kind folks at the hotel have forwarded it by post to us for free!
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
J Cooper

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and frindly B&B.
The welcome was friendly and efficient. The room exceeded our expectations in terms of size and decor.The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful. Nice to have parking within easy walking distance of the Ambleside amenities. Lovely white towels and sheets, all very clean. We would definateley stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sally H

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very hefpful we would recommend to any one. regent Hotel too far for us to walk, but there are plenty of good eating places close to hand.

Reviewed by
alan s

From Cannock, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Could not fault it would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
kay d

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice rooms, friendly staff, maybe a little bit pricey for what you get?
Very pleasant room, everything very clean, staff are friendly. Location is excellent, just on the fringes of the central area with shops and restaurants almost on the doorstep, but not too noisy. Parking on site is a bonus in Ambleside. It's a self service breakfast, quality is OK, but choices are a little limited. For example, it would be nice to have a granola type cereal as well as the muesli, and some more fruit available. Also given that it's not the cheapest place to stay, a more proactive approach to maintenance would be good. Our toilet flush rarely worked first time, I know we could have reported it, but it didn't seem too much of a problem so we concentrated on enjoying our break and relaxing. Having said all this, we've stayed here before and the pluses definitely outweigh the minuses, so will probably still consider going back again.

Reviewed by
Nigel C

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay
We booked this last minute, so glad we did. Staff very helpful and friendly, great location, room very clean, and breakfast was lovely too.

Reviewed by
tracey c

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay - will use again
Very friendly efficient staff, nice clean room with a view, good food and excellent choice, great location in easy reach of facilities in Ambleside and free off road parking - highly recommended

Reviewed by
David B

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, good parking for Ambleside and really friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
M Higham

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next