You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4

Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street, County Durham, DH34NX

Price From 120.28 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ian Ball

  • June 2016

Will never stay there again

When we arrived we were informed of our room number and told where it was, unfortunately they forgot to give us a map or precise directions with result that took 10 mins to find what appeared to be some sort of attic room that you could not swing a cat in, literally.

Some other person moved into room opposite and informed whoever he was speaking to that room was very very small. Saw that dress code was smart/casual so thought I had better enquire at reception where I was told that their dress code is no trainers and I explained to them that I had forgotten my shoes so could I?......NO.

Their loss as my wife and I went into Durham City itself and had a fantastic meal where dress code was smart/casual but they allowed smart people with trainers so Lumley Castle lost £60-80 in revenue because of their attitude. Wonder what they would say to a businessman who had forgotten his shoes and was staying for the week. Lighting in room was just adequate but in bathroom you could not see nose on your face as only had couple of downlighters in ceiling. We have stayed all over the world and have never been treated like this or paid so much money for a pokey little room, my advice go somewhere else as name is not everything.

  • Adam T

  • May 2016

The most beautiful and atmospheric hotel I've ever stayed in

Romantic setting, beautifully decorated throughout, a stunning bedroom with a gorgeous ensuite and the most comfortable bed my partner or I have ever slept on.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Hugh Inkster

  • May 2016

A majical experience revisited.

Last stayed in 1978.

This trip was a nostalgic revisit and it did not disappoint. The ambience is superb instilling such peace and tranquillity. Wonderful food in a wonderful restaurant. Staff very able and friendly.

  • frank j

  • April 2016

1st class hotel

Most pleasant and unusual experience to actually stay and sleep in a castle

  • S Smith

  • March 2016

The Proposal

I recently stayed here to whisk my girlfriend away and ask her to marry me.

The choice of location was simply perfect and everything about the weekend here was amazing from the castle, room, grounds, staff, food and drink. I do believe this will become a yearly trip for us as it was that perfect.

  • Neil D

  • March 2016

lumley castle

the room was very small and the windows didn't shut properly and little draughty, its a Castle and a Maze to get from rooms to Restaurant very uneven floors but well signposted.

Food for Evening Meal very expensive so didn't eat there. Breakfast was superb. Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Lauran B

  • February 2016

Fantastic stay

Loved the castle and will be back!

  • Craig R

  • February 2016

Great Wedding Venue with Fantastic customer service.

I've stayed at Lumley Castle a number of times and have never been let down.

The customer service is exemplary and the setting fantastic. This time I attended for a wedding which was superb. Very well presented and the catering excellent.

I was very impressed that staff phoned me in advance of my stay to double check that I didn't require a table at the restaurant. Had I not been attending a wedding I would have definitely required one.

  • John G

  • December 2015

Mixed Fortunes

Great location and room was adequate although a bit small.

Cleanliness was impeccable and quality if fittings and furniture were good. The shower was recessed in to a corner and difficult for me at 6'2" to best utilise though

Restaurant was wonderful and staff friendly and efficient. Its a bit pricy BUT this is not massed produced stuff; the quality and variety offered was first class. However, this was pre-Christmas and the noise around midnight and beyond was horrendous also made worse by the fact that a nominate smoking area is under the bedroom window. despite calls to receptions and promises to resolve it was not adequately handled and I only managed about 4 or 5 hours sleep which is poor. On advising reception the following morning they were disappointed but that was it. no real apology or "We'll ask the manager to contact you". I would stay again but ensure I was not in a room in the quadrangle or courtyard.

  • m bolton

  • November 2015

Lumley Castle Hotel

excellent stay,best hotel so far ive stayed at

the castle and grounds were first class and the staff were too they couldn't be more helpful to make our stay so good

I've already recommended friends and family and hope to stay there again soon