Lumley Castle Hotel

4

Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street, County Durham, DH34NX

Price From 183.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (47)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nicola R

  • October 2014

Quirky room

Courtyard Room had a lot of charming character but bathroom fan was so noisy it woke me up at night

  • Gavin A

  • October 2014

Accommodation was adequate but basic.

Would probably be better if you were stopping for pleasure and had time to look around castle, neighbouring golf course etc

  • Victoria L

  • October 2014

Castle overnight stay

I chose this hotel as I was there for a birthday party.

According to the hotel website there were no rooms available in my price range, but late rooms had plenty. Very accessible to A1 and easy to find.

My room was very comfortable although the toilet and shower were built into the castle wall. Access to the toilet was through the shower ( not a misprint) so access to the toilet is only for the very agile.( my friends' room in the courtyard didn't have this arrangement. The bed was very comfy, towels fluffy. The party was in a private dining room and the pre ordered set menu was enjoyed by all. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, which was cooked to order. The majority of the staff were polite and helpful. A beautiful setting overlooking a golf course and close to the Chester le Street cricket ground.

  • Gavin Hopper

  • September 2014

Should have been a treat!!!

Firstly we were checked in by a not particularly friendly receptionist.

Instructions as to where we could find our room was a blunt 'It's in the courtyard numbers are above the doors' Then asking where the dining room and bar could be found again a blunt reply saying we should ask when we needed the facility. Not very helpful at all. Having located the room we had difficulty in opening the door, temperamental lock. The 'double' room was quite small with the double bed pushed up against the wall so one of us basically had to crawl up the bed to get in. Quite difficult when having to use the bathroom through the night!!!. Main curtain in the room did not cover the whole window!. All flat surfaces were basically covered with tea making facilities etc. so nowhere to readily put anything down. The one very small bedside table held the telephone so we could not sit in bed and have a drink. Only one chair so one of us had to sit on the bed!. Decent bathroom except the Shower Gel, Shampoo etc. was in a container screwed to the wall. Also the Shower head protruded a couple of feet from the wall so to actually access the containers you have to move through the shower spray, not particularly pleasant. Basically this room is called double but pushed into a single sized room

Restaurant food excellent and waiter service good. However having bought a reasonable bottle of wine (both nights) having been poured our first glass we were left to our own devices to replenish the glasses. The first night the ice bucket was placed out of arms reach so I had to get up from my meal to reach it. The prices charged should cover the cost of an attentive wine waiter.

On the first night after enjoying our meal and wanting a relaxing after dinner drink we retired to the bar only to find when wanting a refill at 10.15pm the bar had closed!!. There was no indication as to how we could purchase another. Thank heaven for Andy the night porter who sorted thing out for us. All this being said the public areas are very good and retain the atmosphere of the castle. Generally with one or two exceptions the staff were pleasant, polite and helpful, five star rating for Andy. Having been born and raised in Chester-Le-Street I had high expectations of our local premier hotel, however the overall feeling was of great disappointment. We shall not be paying a return visit.

  • Melville Wilby

  • September 2014

What a stunning place and the staff to go with it

I was well treated from the minute I arrived and the hotel for a change was one that exceeded my expectations.

The staff in reception and in the restaurant were top class and I will be looking to find a way of travelling 300miles to enjoy a weekend break at some point. Thank you to all

  • Bonnie Kopp

  • September 2014

Absolutely perfect!

The room was wonderful, the staff was perfect, and the castle was fantastic.

Just an overall perfect experience.

  • vivian tate

  • September 2014

excellent for when you want that something speial

the accommodation was a wow as was the whole place (a real castle),the staff were lovely and the food amazing,would highly reccommend

  • Anna Cope

  • September 2014

Excellent in every respect...

we had a wonderful stay.

  • deborah brown

  • June 2014

i was not very happy with some staff some very nice and not for the money you pay not good sorry

I would really like to go back again because dint really have much time to look all around .if a few things change really over priced.

and not very save any one could of walk in .if a lot cleaner I would tell friends about it .

  • Joanne B

  • May 2014

Relaxing Break

We booked this room as a family member was having their wedding at the hotel.

A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Staff all pleasant and polite and breakfast was lovely.