No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street , County Durham, DH34NX
Situated in its own grounds, close to junction 63 on the A1M, overlooking Emirates Durham International Cricket Ground and the river Wear. Lumley Castle dates back over 600 years to the 13th Century. A magnificent monument to a bygone age, now converted into a unique 4 star Hotel.

Lumley Castle Hotel’s 73 luxurious en-suite bedrooms are all individually designed and situated within the Castle and its adjoining Courtyard and Courtyard Mews.

The Black Knight restaurant is set deep within the Castle and enjoys an excellent reputation locally and the Library bar is atmospheric and comfortable.
Whilst a favourite for leisure guests, the Hotels quiet yet accessible location close to Durham (7 miles) Newcastle-upon-Tyne (11 miles) and Sunderland (12 miles) together with free WiFi, free parking and a range of meeting and event rooms make this a sensible overnight choice for both the business and leisure Guest.
Picture of Lumley Castle Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely perfect!
The room was wonderful, the staff was perfect, and the castle was fantastic! Just an overall perfect experience.

Reviewed by
Bonnie Kopp

From USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a stunning place and the staff to go with it
I was well treated from the minute I arrived and the hotel for a change was one that exceeded my expectations. The staff in reception and in the restaurant were top class and I will be looking to find a way of travelling 300miles to enjoy a weekend break at some point.
Thank you to all

Reviewed by
Melville Wilby

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should have been a treat!!!
Firstly we were checked in by a not particularly friendly receptionist. Instructions as to where we could find our room was a blunt 'It's in the courtyard numbers are above the doors' Then asking where the dining room and bar could be found again a blunt reply saying we should ask when we needed the facility. Not very helpful at all.
Having located the room we had difficulty in opening the door, temperamental lock. The 'double' room was quite small with the double bed pushed up against the wall so one of us basically had to crawl up the bed to get in. Quite difficult when having to use the bathroom through the night!!!. Main curtain in the room did not cover the whole window!! All flat surfaces were basically covered with tea making facilities etc. so nowhere to readily put anything down. The one very small bedside table held the telephone so we could not sit in bed and have a drink. Only one chair so one of us had to sit on the bed!! Decent bathroom except the Shower Gel, Shampoo etc. was in a container screwed to the wall. Also the Shower head protruded a couple of feet from the wall so to actually access the containers you have to move through the shower spray, not particularly pleasant.
Basically this room is called double but pushed into a single sized room
Restaurant food excellent and waiter service good. However having bought a reasonable bottle of wine (both nights) having been poured our first glass we were left to our own devices to replenish the glasses. The first night the ice bucket was placed out of arms reach so I had to get up from my meal to reach it. The prices charged should cover the cost of an attentive wine waiter.
On the first night after enjoying our meal and wanting a relaxing after dinner drink we retired to the bar only to find when wanting a refill at 10.15pm the bar had closed!!! There was no indication as to how we could purchase another. Thank heaven for Andy the night porter who sorted thing out for us.
All this being said the public areas are very good and retain the atmosphere of the castle. Generally with one or two exceptions the staff were pleasant, polite and helpful, five star rating for Andy. Having been born and raised in Chester-Le-Street I had high expectations of our local premier hotel, however the overall feeling was of great disappointment. We shall not be paying a return visit.

Reviewed by
Gavin Hopper

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent for when you want that something speial
the accommodation was a wow as was the whole place (a real castle),the staff were lovely and the food amazing,would highly reccommend

Reviewed by
vivian tate

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every respect... we had a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
Anna Cope

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i was not very happy with some staff some very nice and not for the money you pay not good sorry
I would really like to go back again because dint really have much time to look all around .if a few things change really over priced. and not very save any one could of walk in .if a lot cleaner I would tell friends about it .

Reviewed by
deborah brown

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break
We booked this room as a family member was having their wedding at the hotel. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Staff all pleasant and polite and breakfast was lovely.

Reviewed by
Joanne B

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous castle accommodation
I cannot give the Lumley Castle Hotel a higher recommendation. It is a fabulous, unusual place to stay, filled with everything you could imagine from a beautiful castle and surroundings.

Reviewed by
C Horan

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mahfooz
Nice little cool take ur thermals x

Reviewed by
J Egan

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, great venue, terrific staff and unbeatable value
Lumley castle is steeped in history and a great place to stay. The service was great, the room rate via laterooms was fantastic value for money and it's a wonderful experience to stay in a real castle!

Reviewed by
H Tailor

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next