You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4

Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street, County Durham, DH34NX

Price From 143.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • frank j

  • April 2016

1st class hotel

Most pleasant and unusual experience to actually stay and sleep in a castle

  • S Smith

  • March 2016

The Proposal

I recently stayed here to whisk my girlfriend away and ask her to marry me.

The choice of location was simply perfect and everything about the weekend here was amazing from the castle, room, grounds, staff, food and drink. I do believe this will become a yearly trip for us as it was that perfect.

  • Neil D

  • March 2016

lumley castle

the room was very small and the windows didn't shut properly and little draughty, its a Castle and a Maze to get from rooms to Restaurant very uneven floors but well signposted.

Food for Evening Meal very expensive so didn't eat there. Breakfast was superb. Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Lauran B

  • February 2016

Fantastic stay

Loved the castle and will be back!

  • Craig R

  • February 2016

Great Wedding Venue with Fantastic customer service.

I've stayed at Lumley Castle a number of times and have never been let down.

The customer service is exemplary and the setting fantastic. This time I attended for a wedding which was superb. Very well presented and the catering excellent.

I was very impressed that staff phoned me in advance of my stay to double check that I didn't require a table at the restaurant. Had I not been attending a wedding I would have definitely required one.

  • John G

  • December 2015

Mixed Fortunes

Great location and room was adequate although a bit small.

Cleanliness was impeccable and quality if fittings and furniture were good. The shower was recessed in to a corner and difficult for me at 6'2" to best utilise though

Restaurant was wonderful and staff friendly and efficient. Its a bit pricy BUT this is not massed produced stuff; the quality and variety offered was first class. However, this was pre-Christmas and the noise around midnight and beyond was horrendous also made worse by the fact that a nominate smoking area is under the bedroom window. despite calls to receptions and promises to resolve it was not adequately handled and I only managed about 4 or 5 hours sleep which is poor. On advising reception the following morning they were disappointed but that was it. no real apology or "We'll ask the manager to contact you". I would stay again but ensure I was not in a room in the quadrangle or courtyard.

  • m bolton

  • November 2015

Lumley Castle Hotel

excellent stay,best hotel so far ive stayed at

the castle and grounds were first class and the staff were too they couldn't be more helpful to make our stay so good

I've already recommended friends and family and hope to stay there again soon

  • V Smith

  • October 2015

My experience

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The food for the price was not what we expected given how small the portions were but was nice. The only bad experience we had is I booked this night for my husband's birthday treat but couldn't explore the inside of the castle much due to there being 3 different functions happening all at once. It would have been nice to have known prior to booking so we could have booked for a sixteenth time. Given the floors being old understandably they creels however, having our 3 month old trying to sleep at night worth guest that were running up and down the hall made the floor creak so loudly. The castle is beautiful.

  • matthew ward

  • October 2015

Brilliant place to stay, quiet with beautiful surroundings.

  • Barry W

  • October 2015

A charming hotel

If you want to stay in a castle this hotel is the business.

Even the staff are dressed in medieval costume. Whilst the walls may be thick, the conversion into an hotel lacks insulated internal walls and the sound from adjacent rooms is excessive.