Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel


Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street, County Durham, DH34NX

Price From 147.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Hannah

  • September 2015

Special hotel

Stayed for one night in this special hotel- a unique experience.

The room was accessed up some steep spiral stairs, it was clean, comfortable and decorated sympathetically with the period, Staff were very helpful and our only negative comment relates to the dinner menu which was rather limited for vegetarians

  • k dand

  • September 2015

Was great

What you would expect with a lot of customer service.

Staff are great and very helpful. Also staff are very knowledgeable about the history of the castle.

One of the porters even give us a guided tour and knew all the history of the castle.

Very interesting and luxurious.

Will definitely be staying again.

Even proposed to my partner.

  • S Mitchell

  • August 2015

Fantastic place to stay

Took by husband to this hotel as a surprise for his birthday, we had the superior mews room and it was lovely, everything you could need is in the room from a hair dryer to an iron.

Very comfortable, great shower and can also make tea & coffee. We also used the Black Knight restaurant for 2 nights, food was excellent and good value, drinks are a little pricey though. Lounge bar was a bit quiet for our liking but was still lovely, the fire alarm did go off twice one night but even so had a great stay and would definitely go back. Could have done with a livelier bar as the lounge bar is a little quiet for my liking.

  • Tina Wallace

  • August 2015

Experience of a lifetime

Always wanted to spend a night in a castle, found out when arrived was upgraded to kings room, what an amazing experience.

The room was unbelievable and I would defitenely stay there again

  • Craig T

  • August 2015

Room was lovely.

A little disappointed when we had a drink in the lounge and after ordering a large wine, we received a small glass, but didn't really notice until someone else got a large glass

  • A Wilkinson

  • August 2015

wedding day doo

had a very nice stay at Lumley, staff excellent, room was nice and furnished.

well lovely nights sleep in the cosy bed.

  • A Backhouse

  • July 2015


Love the feel to the castle, loved it so much that we booked our wedding whilst we were there.

You must like the finer things in life to stay here.

  • Tony R

  • June 2015

Small single room booked.

Dramatic venue, lovely settting.

Very helpful staff. Enjoyable stay.

  • Mark F

  • June 2015

Living in a castle

Excellent quality hotel, bemused by the period costume the female staff had to wear but nonetheless an excellent hotel experience.

Even though I had a single room I felt the standard was luxurious. The bed was wonderful and so was the quality of the food in the restaurant. I will definitely stay here again. The only downside would be slow internet connection but acceptable given the surroundings.

  • Andrew C

  • May 2015

A Nice treat now and again

Excellent venue, superb food, friendly staff , just be careful when you enter the library bar if you enjoy your drink.

Rooms fantastic and overall leaves you with a unique experience of how it can be done in the UK. Will be back guaranteed.