No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street , County Durham, DH34NX
Standing proud for more than 600 years, the magnificent spectacle of Lumley Castle dominates the County Durham landscape. Surrounded by beautiful parklands overlooking the River Wear and Durham County Cricket Ground, Lumley Castle is a magnificent monument to a bygone age of chivalry and honour.
Located between the historic city of Durham and the vibrant beats of Newcastle, perfectly situated to explore the North East of England. Lumley Castle is undoubtedly one of the finest Durham hotels and UK business and leisure destinations, effortlessly combining old and new to create a truly unique and memorable travel experience.
With 73 uniquely designed bedrooms with Free Wifi throughout - elegant drapes, four poster beds, feature baths, rooms with stunning views, a library bar and an award winning restaurant - Lumley Castle is a feast for all the senses!
Lumley Castle is a unique & inspirational venue; perfect for weddings, conferences, celebrations, luxury dining & leisure breaks.

Picture of Lumley Castle Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special Anniversary night
Can't fault this hotel and it's staff.No complaints at all.Thanks for a really nice experience including the Black Knight restaraunt.Just lovely.

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great ambience!
A hotel with lots of character and atmosphere. I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions in the past but each time found to be expensive for what you receive. The restaurant, the Black Knight has good service and ideal surroundings for a castle restaurant but lacks English fayre on the menu to balance the experience, foreign visitors, I am sure would be a little disappointed. The food is also expensive for what you get and choice limited. Unfortunately for customers the hotel has a captive audience with its clients for food and unless you are prepared to travel to Chester-Le-Street or Durham, you have no choice than to eat in the hotel.

Reviewed by
Alan V

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Nice hotel, lovely setting.

Reviewed by
S Nixon

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No discount despite attending a wedding
The hotel and staff as always were lovely however the price was too much. Over £200 for one night! It didn't include any extras, only breakfast. Would only stay again if it was cheaper but obviously wanted to stay this time due to attending a wedding. Am sure the prices went up because 1. it was easter and 2. there were wedding(s) on.

Reviewed by
Amanda D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Third time I've stayed, excellent

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so good for business traveller
Forget getting a wifi connection in the room.
Else a very quirky and historical place to stay.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chilly Reception
Arrived and was told they didn't have my reservation then was asked if I was on the £69.00 bed and breakfast deal!! Bit of a shock as I was paying £130.00 for what was supposed to be a superior room. The room I was given appeared to be a standard room there was nothing spectacular or special about it , except, it was up a winding staircase. On arrival into the room I had to turn on the heating as it was freezing cold in the room. In fact the heating was on full all night and hardly made a dent in the temperature. There was a draft coming from the window and if I closed the cutains to stop the draft it also stopped the heating in the room as the radiator was behind the curtains. The television was to small to be viewed from the and the lighting was either too bright or too dull .
I am sure there are other better rooms in the hotel that would be better value and warm but my experience of this hotel wasdistinctly chilly.

Reviewed by
david ward

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent themed hotel
Chose this hotel due to location near to Cricket Ground. Not particularly useful for business needs, (a little too fussy for me) and the hotel is more geared towards holiday/leisure visitors. Excellent theme throughout the hotel though, expect it to be very popular with the Elizabethan style evenings advertised. Seem to have a great choice of events planned.
Magnificent position, the hotel / castle is an imposing building both from far away and within its walls.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Depositing a much loved child at Durham University.
I have stayed at the Lumley Castle several times over the past three years whilst my daughter was at the University in Durham. My son has now started at the University and I am back at Lumley Castle. The staff are lovely and helpful and, as a single woman, I feel very at home in the hotel. I am thrilled to think that I shall have another three years of staying at the hotel.

Reviewed by
Caroline Landers

From Bordon, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unique experience
Fantastic castle with genuine features.

Reviewed by
Antony Robinson

From Falmouth, England
Who stayed in September 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next