No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street , County Durham, DH34NX
Situated in its own grounds, close to junction 63 on the A1M, overlooking Emirates Durham International Cricket Ground and the river Wear. Lumley Castle dates back over 600 years to the 13th Century. A magnificent monument to a bygone age, now converted into a unique 4 star Hotel.

Lumley Castle Hotel’s 73 luxurious en-suite bedrooms are all individually designed and situated within the Castle and its adjoining Courtyard and Courtyard Mews.

The Black Knight restaurant is set deep within the Castle and enjoys an excellent reputation locally and the Library bar is atmospheric and comfortable.
Whilst a favourite for leisure guests, the Hotels quiet yet accessible location close to Durham (7 miles) Newcastle-upon-Tyne (11 miles) and Sunderland (12 miles) together with free WiFi, free parking and a range of meeting and event rooms make this a sensible overnight choice for both the business and leisure Guest.
Picture of Lumley Castle Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed considering the Castle and location
We stayed in a room that was accessed by a spiral staircase. This was very narrow and not easy to negotiate (especially with luggage). A wedding disco went on until one in the morning and the music was deafening and could be heard in our room. So no sleep until it ended. In the morning I ordered an eggs benedict for breakfast. I got one egg on a thin muffin and I felt the portion was small. After this stay I would think twice before staying here again considering the price and the disturbance we experienced. Before staying here ask if there is any weddings on during your stay.

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great experience
One of the few Hotels one could recommend to any class of person-s with confidence of zero disappointment. Probably the best value for money ever. .

Reviewed by
R Jackson

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regal moment
The setting of the castle is beautiful. We stayed in a courtyard room that was very musty and dark. I appreciate that is the nature of the beast but like marmite you either love it or hate it! The quality of the breakfast was good but the a la carte menu could have been better. On the plus side the hand cut chips were lovely.

Reviewed by
anna b

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No wifi
My room had no Internet which is a main reason I booked, also the breakfast was terrible, toast was cold, returned it to only get more cold toast, eggs benedict was not nice either, tasted of vinegar and poached eggs were like hard boiled eggs. Very disappointed.

Reviewed by
andy h

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place to stay
Wow. A stunning castle with lovely staff, historic building, delicious food (a little expensive but you're paying for the quality and experience), fantastic breakfast (highly recommended), beautiful grounds and a lovely room - couldn't believe how cheap it was - definitely recommend it

Reviewed by
Sian O

From Hemel Hempstead, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Lumley Castle
Reception staff, staff service in general, and in the restaurant were excellent. The accommodation was first class thought the room (on the first floor of the annex) was very warm. An electric fan had been provided and this was effective though somewhat noisy. The facilities provided were very good and we lacked for nothing essential.
Parking was very conveneient and the surroundings of the hotel were first class.
Dinner was somewhat disappointing. The grilled lamb was very tough ('an auld Cumbrian yewe' would have been more appropriate as a description on the menu), and this was pointed out to the waitress at table. I explained that I did not wish to cause a fuss but that it should be mentioned to the chef. She said she would point this out to the head waiter and he would detail the complaint. However, this did not happen and we left the restaurant without anyone speaking to us.
The staff at dinner, both food and wine staff, were very good.
Breakfast staff were first class.
Overall, a very pleasing and comfortable stay. The hotel has a lovely atmoshpere in very pleasant surroundings and we would ceraily like to come on another visit.

Reviewed by
Graham R Dixon

From Hornby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Medieval Castle
Wonderful Castle,great looking around 14 th century castle,food very good in Black Knight Restaurant,

Reviewed by
Joan N

From Gateshead, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Help with bags up to room would have been helpful as door was difficult to negotiate with bags, as it was at the top of the stairs with no landing.

Reviewed by
Jackie H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Different to Premier Inn
Up in the North East on business. Manged to get into Lumley Castle, what a result. Lovely place. Nice room, nice people good food.

Reviewed by
R Rousell

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely experience
Our room was very nice, but as with the style of the hotel, a little dark. I would like to make sure the next time that I book a room with a shower and a bath - we only had a shower room, which was a little on the small side. The bed was really comfortable. The food in the restaurant was delicious - there were 4 of us eating there and we all had a wonderful evening. We stayed 2 nights and it was a lovely break. On our second morning however, we were woken by the sound of a chainsaw in the grounds next to our room, at 7am!! Not so relaxing, but at least it got us up and out!!

Reviewed by
L Henderson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next