You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4

Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street, County Durham, DH34NX

Price From 144.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Craig T

  • August 2015

Room was lovely.

A little disappointed when we had a drink in the lounge and after ordering a large wine, we received a small glass, but didn't really notice until someone else got a large glass

  • A Wilkinson

  • August 2015

wedding day doo

had a very nice stay at Lumley, staff excellent, room was nice and furnished.

well lovely nights sleep in the cosy bed.

  • A Backhouse

  • July 2015

amazing

Love the feel to the castle, loved it so much that we booked our wedding whilst we were there.

You must like the finer things in life to stay here.

  • Tony R

  • June 2015

Small single room booked.

Dramatic venue, lovely settting.

Very helpful staff. Enjoyable stay.

  • Mark F

  • June 2015

Living in a castle

Excellent quality hotel, bemused by the period costume the female staff had to wear but nonetheless an excellent hotel experience.

Even though I had a single room I felt the standard was luxurious. The bed was wonderful and so was the quality of the food in the restaurant. I will definitely stay here again. The only downside would be slow internet connection but acceptable given the surroundings.

  • Andrew C

  • May 2015

A Nice treat now and again

Excellent venue, superb food, friendly staff , just be careful when you enter the library bar if you enjoy your drink.

Rooms fantastic and overall leaves you with a unique experience of how it can be done in the UK. Will be back guaranteed.

  • Nicola R

  • October 2014

Quirky room

Courtyard Room had a lot of charming character but bathroom fan was so noisy it woke me up at night

  • Gavin A

  • October 2014

Accommodation was adequate but basic.

Would probably be better if you were stopping for pleasure and had time to look around castle, neighbouring golf course etc

  • Victoria L

  • October 2014

Castle overnight stay

I chose this hotel as I was there for a birthday party.

According to the hotel website there were no rooms available in my price range, but late rooms had plenty. Very accessible to A1 and easy to find.

My room was very comfortable although the toilet and shower were built into the castle wall. Access to the toilet was through the shower ( not a misprint) so access to the toilet is only for the very agile.( my friends' room in the courtyard didn't have this arrangement. The bed was very comfy, towels fluffy. The party was in a private dining room and the pre ordered set menu was enjoyed by all. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, which was cooked to order. The majority of the staff were polite and helpful. A beautiful setting overlooking a golf course and close to the Chester le Street cricket ground.