Lumley Castle Hotel

4

Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street, County Durham, DH34NX

Price From 202.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Teresa M

  • September 2013

A night away from the teenagers

A good venue for date night, good value package, clean and characterful hotel.

good food and friendly staff.

  • David Ray

  • September 2013

Lovely Lumley

Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in this beautiful castle.

Staff very warm and friendly and above and beyond helpful. Food in Black Knight Restaurant was very good both at dinner and breakfast.

  • C F

  • September 2013

A fantastic place to stay.

Overall very good but let down slightly by a lack of attention to detail.

On arrival there appeared to be no one at reception, after we had been there a while and were walking away a member of staff appeared from behind a curtain next to the reception desk. She may have been on the computer. but was certainly close enough to have heard us. She could easily have said I will be with you soon and not ignore us. Most staff were fine but we had another simular experience in the dinning room. This is as previously said a fantastic place to stay but some staff training is needed for a few of the staff. Having said this I would stay again in the future. I did not mean this review to seem to negative but hope that these issues will be addressed and taken as constructive as Lumley Castle is a great place to stay.

  • Alan S

  • September 2013

Disappointed considering the Castle and location

We stayed in a room that was accessed by a spiral staircase.

This was very narrow and not easy to negotiate (especially with luggage). A wedding disco went on until one in the morning and the music was deafening and could be heard in our room. So no sleep until it ended. In the morning I ordered an eggs benedict for breakfast. I got one egg on a thin muffin and I felt the portion was small. After this stay I would think twice before staying here again considering the price and the disturbance we experienced. Before staying here ask if there is any weddings on during your stay.

  • R Jackson

  • September 2013

great experience

One of the few Hotels one could recommend to any class of person-s with confidence of zero disappointment.

Probably the best value for money ever. .

  • Sian O

  • September 2013

Amazing place to stay

Wow.

A stunning castle with lovely staff, historic building, delicious food (a little expensive but you're paying for the quality and experience), fantastic breakfast (highly recommended), beautiful grounds and a lovely room - couldn't believe how cheap it was - definitely recommend it

  • anna b

  • September 2013

Regal moment

The setting of the castle is beautiful.

We stayed in a courtyard room that was very musty and dark. I appreciate that is the nature of the beast but like marmite you either love it or hate it. The quality of the breakfast was good but the a la carte menu could have been better. On the plus side the hand cut chips were lovely.

  • andy h

  • August 2013

No wifi

My room had no Internet which is a main reason I booked, also the breakfast was terrible, toast was cold, returned it to only get more cold toast, eggs benedict was not nice either, tasted of vinegar and poached eggs were like hard boiled eggs.

Very disappointed.

  • Graham R Dixon

  • August 2013

Our stay at Lumley Castle

Reception staff, staff service in general, and in the restaurant were excellent.

The accommodation was first class thought the room (on the first floor of the annex) was very warm. An electric fan had been provided and this was effective though somewhat noisy. The facilities provided were very good and we lacked for nothing essential. Parking was very conveneient and the surroundings of the hotel were first class. Dinner was somewhat disappointing. The grilled lamb was very tough ('an auld Cumbrian yewe' would have been more appropriate as a description on the menu), and this was pointed out to the waitress at table. I explained that I did not wish to cause a fuss but that it should be mentioned to the chef. She said she would point this out to the head waiter and he would detail the complaint. However, this did not happen and we left the restaurant without anyone speaking to us.

The staff at dinner, both food and wine staff, were very good. Breakfast staff were first class. Overall, a very pleasing and comfortable stay. The hotel has a lovely atmoshpere in very pleasant surroundings and we would ceraily like to come on another visit.

  • Joan N

  • August 2013

Wonderful Medieval Castle

Wonderful Castle,great looking around 14 th century castle,food very good in Black Knight Restaurant,