No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street , County Durham, DH34NX
Standing proud for more than 600 years, the magnificent spectacle of Lumley Castle dominates the County Durham landscape. Surrounded by beautiful parklands overlooking the River Wear and Durham County Cricket Ground, Lumley Castle is a magnificent monument to a bygone age of chivalry and honour.
Located between the historic city of Durham and the vibrant beats of Newcastle, perfectly situated to explore the North East of England. Lumley Castle is undoubtedly one of the finest Durham hotels and UK business and leisure destinations, effortlessly combining old and new to create a truly unique and memorable travel experience.
With 73 uniquely designed bedrooms with Free Wifi throughout - elegant drapes, four poster beds, feature baths, rooms with stunning views, a library bar and an award winning restaurant - Lumley Castle is a feast for all the senses!
Lumley Castle is a unique & inspirational venue; perfect for weddings, conferences, celebrations, luxury dining & leisure breaks.

Picture of Lumley Castle Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Different to Premier Inn
Up in the North East on business. Manged to get into Lumley Castle, what a result. Lovely place. Nice room, nice people good food.

Reviewed by
R Rousell

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great return visit
great escape - would highly recommend

Reviewed by
Lynda S

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely experience
Our room was very nice, but as with the style of the hotel, a little dark. I would like to make sure the next time that I book a room with a shower and a bath - we only had a shower room, which was a little on the small side. The bed was really comfortable. The food in the restaurant was delicious - there were 4 of us eating there and we all had a wonderful evening. We stayed 2 nights and it was a lovely break. On our second morning however, we were woken by the sound of a chainsaw in the grounds next to our room, at 7am!! Not so relaxing, but at least it got us up and out!!

Reviewed by
L Henderson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well presented room, quality furnishings. resturant top quality

Reviewed by
m fish

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Very friendly and helpful staff, especially the bar ladies. The room was next to the wedding party which was very loud, so they on their own initiative had us moved. It would have been horrendous to have been next to such a loud event. Hotel was very good, rooms quaint and well kept, plenty of character. Good bedding and cushions, something many hotels overlook, breakfast and evening meal were exceptional. A bit costly but will pick dates next time, looks like they have some good deals!! Will also check if there are weddings on as it was very busy.
Overall, we will definitley go again, very very good

Reviewed by
P Heath

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

magical
we were there for a wedding, tha castle was magical, the staff were really friendly and helpfull, we asked for a late check out time which was given happily. the breakfast was excelent but the evening meal was small and expensive.

Reviewed by
deborah tinn

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in Durham
Superb stay - every need taken care of for a first class stay. Replicated my lifestyle at home, no omissions and would not hesitate to recommend this iconic hotel.

Reviewed by
V Telfer

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely night away
My boyfriend and I decided to stay at Lumley Castle for a romantic night away. We were given a lovely room, service was amazing when we checked in and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We were pleased that we were close to Durham as we spent the day there before coming back to relax in the hotel. Breakfast was lovely and again, staff were pleasant and helpful. We would love to stay again and highly recommend Lumley castle to others.

Reviewed by
Stephanie H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting visit
Quite an experience and lots of interesting things to see.

Reviewed by
Robert D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food
As we were out the whole of the day (cricket match) we could not access the 'afternoon tea' and the library menu as these were up to 5pm. This was a pity as we did not fancy an a la carte menu, as we felt there were too many flavours. We just fancy a basic meal such as was advertised on the library menu. We were then advised of the residents lounge on the top floor of the building, where we could order food from a menu and then phone it through to the kitchen. This we did, we received the meal almost three quarters of an hour later. The waiter initially went to our room in the court yard, when I had stated that we were in the Northumbria room, then he climbed the three flights of stairs with a large tray of food and drinks. In our opinion this is a health and safety issue. Also why could we not have had the meal in our room?
Next time we will be looking for a local dining experience rather than going through this performance again.

Reviewed by
R Beck

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next