Lumley Castle Hotel

4

Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street, County Durham, DH34NX

Price From 158.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (45)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alan S

  • September 2013

Disappointed considering the Castle and location

We stayed in a room that was accessed by a spiral staircase.

This was very narrow and not easy to negotiate (especially with luggage). A wedding disco went on until one in the morning and the music was deafening and could be heard in our room. So no sleep until it ended. In the morning I ordered an eggs benedict for breakfast. I got one egg on a thin muffin and I felt the portion was small. After this stay I would think twice before staying here again considering the price and the disturbance we experienced. Before staying here ask if there is any weddings on during your stay.

  • R Jackson

  • September 2013

great experience

One of the few Hotels one could recommend to any class of person-s with confidence of zero disappointment.

Probably the best value for money ever. .

  • Sian O

  • September 2013

Amazing place to stay

Wow.

A stunning castle with lovely staff, historic building, delicious food (a little expensive but you're paying for the quality and experience), fantastic breakfast (highly recommended), beautiful grounds and a lovely room - couldn't believe how cheap it was - definitely recommend it

  • anna b

  • September 2013

Regal moment

The setting of the castle is beautiful.

We stayed in a courtyard room that was very musty and dark. I appreciate that is the nature of the beast but like marmite you either love it or hate it. The quality of the breakfast was good but the a la carte menu could have been better. On the plus side the hand cut chips were lovely.

  • andy h

  • August 2013

No wifi

My room had no Internet which is a main reason I booked, also the breakfast was terrible, toast was cold, returned it to only get more cold toast, eggs benedict was not nice either, tasted of vinegar and poached eggs were like hard boiled eggs.

Very disappointed.

  • Graham R Dixon

  • August 2013

Our stay at Lumley Castle

Reception staff, staff service in general, and in the restaurant were excellent.

The accommodation was first class thought the room (on the first floor of the annex) was very warm. An electric fan had been provided and this was effective though somewhat noisy. The facilities provided were very good and we lacked for nothing essential. Parking was very conveneient and the surroundings of the hotel were first class. Dinner was somewhat disappointing. The grilled lamb was very tough ('an auld Cumbrian yewe' would have been more appropriate as a description on the menu), and this was pointed out to the waitress at table. I explained that I did not wish to cause a fuss but that it should be mentioned to the chef. She said she would point this out to the head waiter and he would detail the complaint. However, this did not happen and we left the restaurant without anyone speaking to us.

The staff at dinner, both food and wine staff, were very good. Breakfast staff were first class. Overall, a very pleasing and comfortable stay. The hotel has a lovely atmoshpere in very pleasant surroundings and we would ceraily like to come on another visit.

  • Joan N

  • August 2013

Wonderful Medieval Castle

Wonderful Castle,great looking around 14 th century castle,food very good in Black Knight Restaurant,

  • J Taylor

  • August 2013

Special Anniversary night

Can't fault this hotel and it's staff.No complaints at all.Thanks for a really nice experience including the Black Knight restaraunt.Just lovely.

  • P Heath

  • August 2013

Excellent service

Very friendly and helpful staff, especially the bar ladies.

The room was next to the wedding party which was very loud, so they on their own initiative had us moved. It would have been horrendous to have been next to such a loud event. Hotel was very good, rooms quaint and well kept, plenty of character. Good bedding and cushions, something many hotels overlook, breakfast and evening meal were exceptional. A bit costly but will pick dates next time, looks like they have some good deals!. Will also check if there are weddings on as it was very busy.

Overall, we will definitley go again, very very good

  • Jackie H

  • August 2013

Help with bags up to room would have been helpful as door was difficult to negotiate with bags, as it was at the top of the stairs with no landing.