No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street , County Durham, DH34NX
Situated in its own grounds, close to junction 63 on the A1M, overlooking Emirates Durham International Cricket Ground and the river Wear. Lumley Castle dates back over 600 years to the 13th Century. A magnificent monument to a bygone age, now converted into a unique 4 star Hotel.

Lumley Castle Hotel’s 73 luxurious en-suite bedrooms are all individually designed and situated within the Castle and its adjoining Courtyard and Courtyard Mews.

The Black Knight restaurant is set deep within the Castle and enjoys an excellent reputation locally and the Library bar is atmospheric and comfortable.
Whilst a favourite for leisure guests, the Hotels quiet yet accessible location close to Durham (7 miles) Newcastle-upon-Tyne (11 miles) and Sunderland (12 miles) together with free WiFi, free parking and a range of meeting and event rooms make this a sensible overnight choice for both the business and leisure Guest.
Picture of Lumley Castle Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mahfooz
Nice little cool take ur thermals x

Reviewed by
J Egan

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, great venue, terrific staff and unbeatable value
Lumley castle is steeped in history and a great place to stay. The service was great, the room rate via laterooms was fantastic value for money and it's a wonderful experience to stay in a real castle!

Reviewed by
H Tailor

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic stay
Lovely place with friendly staff

Reviewed by
M Howard

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel, with value for money being the only question.
Parking always available. Food not taken this visit, but generally a very good standard. Location excellent. Rooms in courtyard sometimes small & cramped. (Excepting infusions/fruit teas) only a single teabag for two people! No bottled water provided in room (would expect this for the price- £169). VFM is the only question; there being limited competition in the vicinity.

Reviewed by
Thomas R

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop
My single room was small but compact. There was no cupboard to hand your cloths up which was annoying. Rooms as usual were too hot but clean and the bed was comfortable.

Reviewed by
Colin d

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom
While we loved everything about the hotel especially the authenticity, we did feel that although low lighting is in keeping with the atmosphere of the castle, we did find the lighting a little bit to subtle for our needs. especially around the mirrors.

Reviewed by
glenys bunting

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night away from the teenagers
A good venue for date night, good value package, clean and characterful hotel. good food and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Teresa M

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Lumley
Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in this beautiful castle. Staff very warm and friendly and above and beyond helpful. Food in Black Knight Restaurant was very good both at dinner and breakfast.

Reviewed by
David Ray

From Lyme Regis, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place to stay.
Overall very good but let down slightly by a lack of attention to detail. On arrival there appeared to be no one at reception, after we had been there a while and were walking away a member of staff appeared from behind a curtain next to the reception desk. She may have been on the computer? but was certainly close enough to have heard us. She could easily have said I will be with you soon and not ignore us. Most staff were fine but we had another simular experience in the dinning room. This is as previously said a fantastic place to stay but some staff training is needed for a few of the staff. Having said this I would stay again in the future. I did not mean this review to seem to negative but hope that these issues will be addressed and taken as constructive as Lumley Castle is a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
C F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed considering the Castle and location
We stayed in a room that was accessed by a spiral staircase. This was very narrow and not easy to negotiate (especially with luggage). A wedding disco went on until one in the morning and the music was deafening and could be heard in our room. So no sleep until it ended. In the morning I ordered an eggs benedict for breakfast. I got one egg on a thin muffin and I felt the portion was small. After this stay I would think twice before staying here again considering the price and the disturbance we experienced. Before staying here ask if there is any weddings on during your stay.

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next