You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel


Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street, County Durham, DH34NX

Price From 120.05 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lauran B

  • February 2016

Fantastic stay

Loved the castle and will be back!

  • Craig R

  • February 2016

Great Wedding Venue with Fantastic customer service.

I've stayed at Lumley Castle a number of times and have never been let down.

The customer service is exemplary and the setting fantastic. This time I attended for a wedding which was superb. Very well presented and the catering excellent.

I was very impressed that staff phoned me in advance of my stay to double check that I didn't require a table at the restaurant. Had I not been attending a wedding I would have definitely required one.

  • John G

  • December 2015

Mixed Fortunes

Great location and room was adequate although a bit small.

Cleanliness was impeccable and quality if fittings and furniture were good. The shower was recessed in to a corner and difficult for me at 6'2" to best utilise though

Restaurant was wonderful and staff friendly and efficient. Its a bit pricy BUT this is not massed produced stuff; the quality and variety offered was first class. However, this was pre-Christmas and the noise around midnight and beyond was horrendous also made worse by the fact that a nominate smoking area is under the bedroom window. despite calls to receptions and promises to resolve it was not adequately handled and I only managed about 4 or 5 hours sleep which is poor. On advising reception the following morning they were disappointed but that was it. no real apology or "We'll ask the manager to contact you". I would stay again but ensure I was not in a room in the quadrangle or courtyard.

  • m bolton

  • November 2015

Lumley Castle Hotel

excellent stay,best hotel so far ive stayed at

the castle and grounds were first class and the staff were too they couldn't be more helpful to make our stay so good

I've already recommended friends and family and hope to stay there again soon

  • V Smith

  • October 2015

My experience

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The food for the price was not what we expected given how small the portions were but was nice. The only bad experience we had is I booked this night for my husband's birthday treat but couldn't explore the inside of the castle much due to there being 3 different functions happening all at once. It would have been nice to have known prior to booking so we could have booked for a sixteenth time. Given the floors being old understandably they creels however, having our 3 month old trying to sleep at night worth guest that were running up and down the hall made the floor creak so loudly. The castle is beautiful.

  • matthew ward

  • October 2015

Brilliant place to stay, quiet with beautiful surroundings.

  • Barry W

  • October 2015

A charming hotel

If you want to stay in a castle this hotel is the business.

Even the staff are dressed in medieval costume. Whilst the walls may be thick, the conversion into an hotel lacks insulated internal walls and the sound from adjacent rooms is excessive.

  • M Hannah

  • September 2015

Special hotel

Stayed for one night in this special hotel- a unique experience.

The room was accessed up some steep spiral stairs, it was clean, comfortable and decorated sympathetically with the period, Staff were very helpful and our only negative comment relates to the dinner menu which was rather limited for vegetarians

  • k dand

  • September 2015

Was great

What you would expect with a lot of customer service.

Staff are great and very helpful. Also staff are very knowledgeable about the history of the castle.

One of the porters even give us a guided tour and knew all the history of the castle.

Very interesting and luxurious.

Will definitely be staying again.

Even proposed to my partner.

  • S Mitchell

  • August 2015

Fantastic place to stay

Took by husband to this hotel as a surprise for his birthday, we had the superior mews room and it was lovely, everything you could need is in the room from a hair dryer to an iron.

Very comfortable, great shower and can also make tea & coffee. We also used the Black Knight restaurant for 2 nights, food was excellent and good value, drinks are a little pricey though. Lounge bar was a bit quiet for our liking but was still lovely, the fire alarm did go off twice one night but even so had a great stay and would definitely go back. Could have done with a livelier bar as the lounge bar is a little quiet for my liking.