Reviews - Malmaison Manchester


1-3 Piccadilly, Manchester, M1 3AQ

Price From 244.63 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (86)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Paula Mcgaughey

  • October 2014


A lovely hotel highly recommended so much so we got married there and everything was perfect

  • Raksmey Hiv

  • August 2014

Great Hotel

The hotel location is perfect, quality of the hotel is very luxury and especially great value

  • Suzanne S

  • August 2014

Wonderful stay from the moment we walked in till we left.

Staff super friendly welcoming and helpful.

Can't wait to return in September

  • James C

  • August 2014

Early check-in much appreciated

Really appreciated a room being available early on day of arrival (11am) for me to quickly collect my key, check in and drop my bag in the room before heading out for a long day and only arriving back in the hotel after midnight.

  • sharon t

  • August 2014

lovely hotel

Really nice hotel, lovely rooms, booked two twin rooms through late rooms and ended up with one twin and a double,the hotel said it was late rooms fault as they didnt specify what kind of rooms even though my confirmation said two twins,it wasnt really a problem as it was my sister that i was sharing with.We stayed for breakfast which was very nice no complaints and staff were friendly and quick to respond to our requests,

  • jade s

  • August 2014

Fabulous stay

What great value for money gorgeous room fabulous food and drinks attentive staff and great location

  • Wendy L

  • August 2014

Not what we've come to expect from the Mal

I booked an Executive Double for 3 nights.

On arrival we had been allocated a first floor room on the front overlooking the 'smoking area/taxi rank' - we asked to be moved to a higher floor away from the street noise. The receptionist duly obliged albeit begrudgingly and we were moved to a room in the same position but on the 5th floor.

We have stayed in this Mal on numerous occasions in the past and have always had a good experience but this was poor in comparison. The 'Executive Double' is advertised as having an ipod dock - there wasn't one - possibly due to the distinct lack of sockets. One socket was tucked behind the desk and it was a struggle to plug anything in - the kettle was dangerous to use because of the stretched cord and using the hairdryer was just possible - if I'd been any taller it wouldn't have been - it certainly wasn't possible to use the hairdryer whilst looking in the mirror. Lots of little things were missing - in a double room for 2 people there was only one (caffeinated) coffee sachet which was duly replaced each day. One biscuit - oh and one bath towel on the third day. The sign for the door was also missing which almost led to an embarrassing situation whilst I was showering. Check out was slow and painful (not enough staff on) and parking at the NCP very expensive even with the 'discount' offered by the hotel.

The only difference we could think of is that we booked through Laterooms this time and normally we book through the Mal website - we didn't think that we were treated with the same level of courtesy or service as we have been in the past at this and the other Mals that we have used. The room certainly wasn't up to scratch. We will probably avoid the Manchester Mal in the future - a real shame as it has been one of our favourites for several years now.

  • Ross M

  • August 2014

Great room, shame about the noise.

My room was very nice, with smart furnishings, a big TV and was well looked after.

My room overlooked a demolition site, which was making some noise. That wasn't a problem really, as the noise stopped around 8pm. The larger problem was the level of noise from ground level (people, trams, car horns, etc.) that were audible from the third floor. It was pretty poor, really. When I mentioned that my room was noisy on checkout, the member of staff I spoke to wasn't particularly helpful or apologetic. It's a shame, really. The hotel is otherwise very nice.

  • Becky G

  • August 2014

A lovely stay at the mal maison!

Great room and lovely people.

The receptionist kindly gave us two free drink vouchers as it was my boyfriends birthday. The cocktails were amazing and the bar had a great atmosphere!

  • Russell Welch

  • August 2014

Nice place in a good location

Nice place in a good location.

Room was tasteful and clean. Nice bar area. Staff friendly and organised. Would stay there again.