Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central and South England > West Sussex > Bramshot Hotels > Old Thorns Manor Hotel, Golf & Country Estate
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Thorns Manor Hotel, Golf & Country Estate

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Weavers Down,Longmoor Road , Liphook, GU30 7PE
Old Thorns Manor Hotel, Golf & Country Estate is tucked away in 400 acres of rolling Hampshire countryside.

It is one of Southern England's most picturesque country house hotels and offers luxury accommodation, relaxing Health Spa facilities and fantastic cuisine combined with an outstanding 18 hole championship golf course designed by Peter Alliss.

Old Thorns has something for everyone with our spectacular champagne and multi screen sports bars along with our ever popular Kings Carvery brasserie. For health and relaxation why not visit our luxury spa and Elevations health club with over 25,000 square feet of the latest facilities overlooking our wonderful championship golf course.

Easily accessible from the A3 London to Portsmouth route, Old Thorns is less than 30 minutes from the M25.

With easy access by road, air or rail, Old Thorns is simply the perfect country retreat.

Picture of Old Thorns Manor Hotel, Golf & Country Estate, Liphook at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost amazing
The hotel and facilities are without doubt some of the nicest I have ever used. I travel the country every week and have done for the past 3 years so I know a fine hotel when I find one. And this place is wonderful. The room was spacious and well appointed, the buildings had a lovely country club feel to them, the grounds (being a golf course too) were immaculate. The gym was absolutely the best I have been to. Only two things let the experience down. The first was the food, at almost £15 for a burger you'd expect Jamie Oliver-esque quality. In reality it was good quality ingredients murdered by the chef. I suppose he was aiming for 'chargrilled', I tasted burned. But the thing that made me smile was the snotty nosed greeting I received at the front desk, completely ignored by one lady, and given a well rehearsed routine of corporate politeness mixed with condescending sneer by the other. Clearly my real world work attire didn't fit with their idea of the hotels image. I would still stay here again though if only for the excellent facilities and another opportunity to disgust the staff with my 'manual' job.

Reviewed by
R Reed

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in better, stayed in worse.
Pretty standard fare.
Average room, poor view, eclectic decoration (patchwork wallpaper), crack in wash basin (room 111 if anyone from Old Thorns reads this). Excellent leisure facilities. Distinctly average / poor food in the sports bar.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value had great time away
All good would definately recommend. Best was the company took though!!

Reviewed by
James L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff. Good clean room and lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old thorns
We paid 178.00 for two nights accomadation with breakfast room was very tired & in bad need of updating it was not very clean either food was good but cold.the pool & gym were excellent & all that went with it ie the sauna steam room hot tubs hot beds & relaxing beds this made the two nights stay bearable I would not go back there in a hurry it would have to be a very good offer .we found the premier inns much better & value for money.

Reviewed by
Joan S

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late arrival
I booker my room expecting to book-in at 6pm which transpired to be 9.30pm. I was met by a very cheery girl who dealt with my late arrival excellently. She showed great concern when she found out that I had not eaten and made great efforts to sort something out for me. My room was large, clean and most comfortable - perhaps a little hot but the weather is very mild - a fan in the room doing the trick. Buffet breakfast of good quality with attentive staff. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
B Phipps

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golf weekend and spa
Been twice before, with golfing friends, so went with another couple so the girls could do spa we played golf (was told we would pay for twilight golf but was charged full amount, so only played 15holes, some of those in the dark!) other that the rooms were great, food is carvery mostly could do with a bigger choice but never the less we all enjoyed our stay and will go again.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something for everyone!
What a gem, this is a place that has something for everyone.
Whether young or old, there is loads to do and the staff are so friendly and helpful.
I would definitely book here again, a lovely part of the country to do just what you want.
The rooms are of a good size and has everything you need.

Reviewed by
Steve M

From Tring, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice!
Liked the hotel, beautiful setting, clean, good staff. Negatives: a little hard to find your way about and the bath/shower fittings were terrible, the sink/bath didn't drain quickly and the shower was so powerful it kept jumping off it's hook. Other than that though it was great.

Reviewed by
Cheryl D

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb stay and would definitely go again. Have already recommended to friends. Very stylish!
Staff are both friendly and efficient. A very pleasant stay and cant wait to go back there again. To me, the pictures do this hotel no justice, we found it an amazing establishment. Relaxing spa facilities and the gym is out of this world (if you feel energetic!) Great value for money. The Champagne bar was my girlfriends favourite!

Reviewed by
P Webster

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next