No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hillthwaite

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THORNBARROW ROAD , WINDERMERE, LA23 2DF
The family-owned Hillthwaite hotel, set in three acres of landscaped gardens between Windermere and Bowness, is one of the area’s highest hotels overlooking England's largest lake and with magnificent panoramic
views over to Langdale Pikes, Crinkle Crags and Coniston Old Man. Within easy reach of the M6 motorway this 3-star, 33-room hotel offers a warm Lakeland welcome with a reputation for superb food and friendly service. Individually designed rooms are maintained to a high standard, all have en suite facilities, some with splendid four-poster beds and jacuzzi baths and most have lake or fell views.
The ground floor suite of public facilities includes a comfortable lounge with well-stocked bar, a feature
conservatory and impressive restaurant with stunning bay window views of the unique South Lakes skyline. In summer months the terrace overlooking Lake Windermere is a favourite for guests to relax and take in Cumbria’s ever changing colours. Or they can enjoy the exclusive use of the year-round leisure facilities including a heated swimming pool, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Hillthwaite, WINDERMERE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with lovely views. Staff at Hotel all friendly and pleasant. We used the Leisure facilities also which were excellent. Had the pool all to ourselves on both occasions.
Room although small was clean and well furnished. thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
S Hughes

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hillthwaite hotel review
Very disappointed ,we were looking forward to this stay ,based on the comments we viewed on-line .
The room was dark and dingy, the furniture dated and the outlook from the room (back of hotel )was poor. The room and toilet looked out onto a path and if I sat on the loo my head was level with people walking by directly outside the room !!. Our room (garden room 2 ) was probably one of the worst we have ever stayed in .The dining room was OK but the table was directly opposite the kitchen with all the associated noises and odours, the service was variable and they were obviously under-staffed at breakfast since waited an inordinately long time to be served .The views from the front of the hotel were superb however and the setting was great. The hotel is in dire need (from the room we saw and the general impression we obtained) of some refurbishment .The lady on reception was very accommodating and obliging ,however since the hotel was full she could do little to help,consequently ,we cut short our stay and left with a very poor impression of the hotel.Needless to say we will not be back!!.

Reviewed by
a jackson

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lakes visit
I have stayed at Hillthwaite quite a few times over the years and the standard is still as high as ever. A very relaxing atmosphere.

Reviewed by
L Marsh

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place
Hotel has a fantastic view perched on the hill. Walking down to the lakeside wasn't too far. Great room and bathroom, didn't get to take advantage of much else in the hotel with a short stay.

Reviewed by
J Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly informal staff;lovely breakfast with a great view of the hills and lake

Reviewed by
alastair bradbury

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you like good food - try Hillthwaite House.
My wife and I have just spent several days at the hotel. Hillthwaite House is ideally positioned with easy access to Bowness and Windermere. The hotel staff were extremely polite, friendly, helpful and obliging. The room was very comfortable and clean with excellent facilities and a great view of the lake. Dinner in the restaurant was brilliant - both service and food. The high standard was maintained at breakfast time too! I would encourage anyone to try the hotel if they are looking for a relaxing, high quality break.
We will certainly be returning to Hillthwaite to enjoy another relaxing holiday as soon as we can.

Reviewed by
Garry Lane

From North Kelsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we exspected after being recommended..
We booked this hotel after it was recommended by a work colleague. We found the room to be spacious but very dated furniture and decor, this being a superior room we exspected more. It was also very dusty and the curtains did not close only the blinds which didnt meet in the middle so light came through in the morning. Tea and coffee facilities very limited, only 1 packet of biscuits between two of us which I thought very tight taking into account the amount we had paid..

Reviewed by
jill s

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay at Hillthwaite House
Enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel was conveniently placed for walking either to Bowness or Windermere (approx 20 mins). The staff were attentive,polite and friendly. The food was well presented and tasty ,although we both thought the walk-in menu was better value than the a la carte. The room was comfortable and well appointed and it was nice to find a bathroom with both a shower and a bath. Overall very pleased and would stay again.

Reviewed by
R WILCOCK

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hillrthwaite hotel break
really enjoyed our stay here. Hotel and staff lovely. nice quiet relaxing atmosphere. small and cosy hotel. lounge areas and conservatory very comfy and bedroom nice.

Reviewed by
janet b

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.