No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
11 Bury Road , Newmarket, CB8 7BX
The four star Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa offers the very best in modern comfort and luxury. Our hotel epitomises a strong contemporary style whilst retaining the charm and character of its former country house beginnings. It retains the character of an 18th century country house amid beautiful, fragrant rose gardens and manicured lawns. It's located adjacent to some of the world's best-known racehorse training yards, it's a stone's throw from the 'gallops' and a few minutes from the town's two leading racecourses.

The hotel has 77 stylish bedrooms and suites, state-of-the-art leisure facilities and a 2 AA Rosette winning Orangery Restaurant renowned for its imaginative and exceptional menus. For those wishing to dine less formally, there's a comprehensive lighter bar-snack menu.

The Spa at Bedford Lodge Hotel is the region's first luxury destination spa and a haven of relaxation. Rated the only 5-bubble Spa in East Anglia by the Good Spa Guide, The Spa offers a wealth of beauty and wellbeing benefits for guests and a wide range of indoor and outdoor spa facilities, including a hot tub with views over the paddocks. The Spa at Bedford Lodge Hotel offers a serene environment in which to relax and unwind from daily life. Whether your desire is health, beauty, revitalisation or just pure relaxation, our dedicated team of therapists provide the highest standards of client care.

The hotel is just 20 minutes away from Cambridge and within easy reach of London.
Picture of Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa, Newmarket at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a pleasure
I will be staying here every time I come to Newmarket lovely clean friendly smart the best service the staff have very high standard the hotel was the best I have stayed in for a very long time thank you all it's was that good my self and my daughter stayed a extra night

Reviewed by
C Matthews

From Seaton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel for accomadation and service .
We had a wonderful four nights at The Bedford Lodge . The room and service could not have been better. We had dinner on the first night in the hotel restaurant and it was really very ordinary at a VERY high cost . A great disappointment for a two rosette establishment . We eat out out every other evening . Having said that the vey same restaurant laid on the best hotel breakfasts we have had in years with the service to match . We will certainly return to this lovely hotel but avoid the dinners . By the way the spa facilities are really excellent .

Reviewed by
Colin Fidler

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay shame about the food
Fantastic hotel lovely grounds friendly staff but food in restraunt was shocking portions tiny and pork tenderloin was just fat no meat very expensive u dont expect to pay over a hundred pounds for food and wine and still walk away hungry breakfast was a far better experience but I did leave feeling cheated over dinner.

Reviewed by
richard bett

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horse lovers dream hotel.
Fantastic setting close by the centre of the home of horse racing but don't be put off if you're not a fan. This hotel is set back from the road in beautiful gardens and has a fabulous spa, gym and pool so plenty for everyone to enjoy. Very comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Judy D

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night break in Newmarket area.
Spotted this hotel on Laterooms site. Booked 2 nights and from arrival to departure everything
was first class. Location, accommodation, food and staff were all excellent.

Reviewed by
H Good

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Customer Service
Unfortunately we never got to stay at the hotel, as when I rang to check the reservation, the reservations department said their was no booking in our name. We then we're left without accommodation and could not attend a concert at Newmarket Races. We also unhappy as on the Sunday they left us a message on our answer phone saying we had been charged for a room that according to reservations we had no booking for. We have been in touch with the hotel but they have said there is nothing they can do about this error. Unfortunately this should have been a birthday treat.

Reviewed by
Maxine B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always impressed
I just love staying here .... Quiet, clean, lovely beds and nice touches

Reviewed by
Joanne D

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice stay...
A very nice hotel - luxurious feel without being overly pretentious. Room was very comfortable, the bed too, although I would have preferred more or firmer pillows. The view across the stables was a bonus. We seemed to have a water tank closet adjacent to our room which made some noise, but it wasn't a big problem. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it looked a bit pricey. (We ate at the highly rated Thai restaurant in Newmarket instead). Breakfast was nice, very busy though. It was interesting that the hotel itself didn't feel busy, it was only apparent at breakfast time. We both had continental breakfasts (included in the price). I then asked for scrambled eggs which were very tasty and the staff were more than happy to do. When my eggs came I ordered more toast, but it never came, we actually gave up waiting because too many people were arriving for breakfast and the staff seemed a bit overwhelmed. Anyway, it didn't spoil the weekend! We checked out and then used the hotel's pool, Jacuzzi etc. Again very nice. They loan you towels. Would definitely stay here again, and I'd quite like to check out the Spa next door too.

Reviewed by
Jane H

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad, far from perfect.
All okay, except:
40 minutes wait for desert at dinner. Clearly they had forgotten our desert order. The manager gave us the desert for free, but it wasn't worth the wait regardless.
Slightly weird experience: Our room was turned-down and someone removed a paracetamol from its packet and left it on the bathroom counter. Nothing else was disturbed or gone. Very odd. Kept the door locked and the "do not disturb" sign up for the rest of the trip.
A nice enough hotel and good staff, but just missed the mark, especially after the weird experience described above. Undecided on returning back.

Reviewed by
Karl D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Had a great stay, staff and facilities were lovely.

Reviewed by
Sally M

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next