Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket Hotels > Bedford Lodge Hotel, Leisure & Restaurant
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bedford Lodge Hotel, Leisure & Restaurant

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
11 Bury Road , Newmarket, CB8 7BX
The 4 star Bedford Lodge Hotel is a haven of peace and calm, spectacularly situated in 3 acres of beautiful rose gardens in Newmarket, Suffolk. Parts of the hotel date back to the 17th century, yet its luxurious facilities are very much 21st century.

Offering stylish well-appointed guestrooms and luxurious suites, spacious conference and meeting rooms, Weddings and Civil Marriages, excellent cuisine in the award-winning Two Rosette Squires restaurant and a first class health club with sparkling 15m indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi bath, sauna and steam rooms.

Situated only 20 minutes from the city of Cambridge and within easy reach of central London making it the ideal location for business or a short break.
Picture of Bedford Lodge Hotel, Leisure & Restaurant, Newmarket at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horse lovers dream hotel.
Fantastic setting close by the centre of the home of horse racing but don't be put off if you're not a fan. This hotel is set back from the road in beautiful gardens and has a fabulous spa, gym and pool so plenty for everyone to enjoy. Very comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Judy D

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night break in Newmarket area.
Spotted this hotel on Laterooms site. Booked 2 nights and from arrival to departure everything
was first class. Location, accommodation, food and staff were all excellent.

Reviewed by
H Good

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Customer Service
Unfortunately we never got to stay at the hotel, as when I rang to check the reservation, the reservations department said their was no booking in our name. We then we're left without accommodation and could not attend a concert at Newmarket Races. We also unhappy as on the Sunday they left us a message on our answer phone saying we had been charged for a room that according to reservations we had no booking for. We have been in touch with the hotel but they have said there is nothing they can do about this error. Unfortunately this should have been a birthday treat.

Reviewed by
Maxine B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always impressed
I just love staying here .... Quiet, clean, lovely beds and nice touches

Reviewed by
Joanne D

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice stay...
A very nice hotel - luxurious feel without being overly pretentious. Room was very comfortable, the bed too, although I would have preferred more or firmer pillows. The view across the stables was a bonus. We seemed to have a water tank closet adjacent to our room which made some noise, but it wasn't a big problem. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it looked a bit pricey. (We ate at the highly rated Thai restaurant in Newmarket instead). Breakfast was nice, very busy though. It was interesting that the hotel itself didn't feel busy, it was only apparent at breakfast time. We both had continental breakfasts (included in the price). I then asked for scrambled eggs which were very tasty and the staff were more than happy to do. When my eggs came I ordered more toast, but it never came, we actually gave up waiting because too many people were arriving for breakfast and the staff seemed a bit overwhelmed. Anyway, it didn't spoil the weekend! We checked out and then used the hotel's pool, Jacuzzi etc. Again very nice. They loan you towels. Would definitely stay here again, and I'd quite like to check out the Spa next door too.

Reviewed by
Jane H

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad, far from perfect.
All okay, except:
40 minutes wait for desert at dinner. Clearly they had forgotten our desert order. The manager gave us the desert for free, but it wasn't worth the wait regardless.
Slightly weird experience: Our room was turned-down and someone removed a paracetamol from its packet and left it on the bathroom counter. Nothing else was disturbed or gone. Very odd. Kept the door locked and the "do not disturb" sign up for the rest of the trip.
A nice enough hotel and good staff, but just missed the mark, especially after the weird experience described above. Undecided on returning back.

Reviewed by
Karl D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Had a great stay, staff and facilities were lovely.

Reviewed by
Sally M

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

top class
but that is reflected in the prices

Reviewed by
d norris

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bedford
we stayed for 1 night and the hotel and staff were faultless the food was a bit average

Reviewed by
peter s

From Newent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Couldn't fault.

Reviewed by
M Webb

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next