No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hyatt Regency Birmingham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 Bridge Street , Birmingham, B1 2JZ
Boasting an enviable location, ideal for both business and leisure guests. The Hyatt Regency Birmingham is the quintessential Hyatt residence – modern, classicist and elegant. Located in the centre of Birmingham, it looks back to the city's rich heritage with its colourful canal-side setting and forward to a dynamic future through its direct link to the International Convention Centre and Symphony Hall. The National Exhibition Centre and the Airport. are only 20 minutes drive from the Hotel.The hotel offers 319 luxuriously appointed, spacious and airy rooms with stunning views of the city. Fitted with a comprehensive array of guest facilities such as an urban day spa, a well-equipped gymnasium and an expansive swimming-pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and Turkish Hamman. Amala Spa & Club features a nail bar, tea lounge and six therapy suites that offer a range of beauty and therapeutic treatments . Aria, the hotel’s cosmopolitan restaurant offers a varied menu that draws on modern European influences. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, Snacks and appetisers are served in the Atrium Lobby, while Bar Pravda offered an extensive drinks menu and provides the perfect venue for a pre-theatre drink in a refined setting. Car Parking is available nearby at an additional charge of £13.50 for 24 hours
Picture of Hyatt Regency Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean accommodation and the most comfortable bed I've slept in. Great to have such large windows and a view of the city from above. Food of very high quality but drinks far too expensive and decor of room itself very dull. Staff all helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel with great views
Lovely foyer, views and great location. Rooms fair.

Reviewed by
R SETH

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Customer Service
Cristos who served us was extremely helpful and went the extra mile for us as well as the waitress in the Regency Lounge on the Saturday Night. They thoroughly went out of there way for us. The view was magnificent and the room was lovely and spacious. I wish we had more time to stay in the spa.

Reviewed by
C Farmer

From England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor shower for quality of hotel but room excellent, disappoiniting to pay extra for internet !

Reviewed by
D Drake

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre Christmas experience
Had a great stay. A special birthday treat for my best friend. The room was stylish and well kept. The hotel was an excellent location , the reception and concierge guys were very helpful, friendly and of great character, although the breakfast was expensive and mundane. Food was less than average and the breakfast staff lacked lustre in oppose to the remainder of the hotel. (I recommend they smile be more approachable and try to make the guests more welcome, create more of an atmosphere).

Reviewed by
Jayne D

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
Stayed with family. Nice hotel.

Reviewed by
omar y

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
i norman

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel
We only stayed for the one night, however the room was fabulous. Very comfy, the hotel was busy but we heard no noise in our room!! Would recommend this hotel to stay. The only down side was it took a age for the phone to be answered.

Reviewed by
Debbie B

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we arrived we were given a room on the newly refurbished 11th floor, when we entered the room a large sanitising machine was already in residence, which we had to get removed. On entering the bathroom there was a strong smell of cigarettes and there was cigarette ash on the floor in two places. However as we were short of time we did not ask to have the room changed, but did report the problem to reception the following morning.
The food was very nice, but extremely expensive, £140 for dinner for 2 plus a modest bottle of wine! The breakfast was also very nice, but at £18 per head you would expect it to be!

Reviewed by
sue preston

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded grandeur and unexpected charges. Don't expect sleep
My friend and I booked a twin room for the weekend. On arrival, we were 'greeted' by a miserable woman who looked at us as if we were too scruffy to stay there and barely spoke to me even when trying to explain where things were. We were allocated a room on the 16th floor and found it to be a double. A phone call had us moved to a twin. All around were signs that this was a hotel that was formally very grand but now needed work - stains on the carpet had been unsuccessfully covered up, the tiling was chipped, the sink tap leaked and was loose and the furniture bore signs of being hit too many times with a Hoover. Ironic as when some furniture was moved it was clear it hadn't been hoovered under for some time. The lamps were very dusty too.
Wi-fi is not included. This fact is largely hidden. We asked, and were given, a password which didn't work. We asked for help and only after a couple of calls did anyone say it was chargeable at a quite extortionate rate - fine for the business clientele they largely cater for but as a holiday guest I felt ripped off as cheaper hotels provide complimentary access. I worried that I had been charged so went in person to reception to ask that if I had inadvertently put something on my bill, that it be taken off as I wouldn't be using it and would stick to the (excellent) 3G and cloud access from the Wetherspoons next door. The lady on reception was very helpful, apologised unreservedly for the confusion, mentioned that others that day had had similar circumstances and gave us a 24 hour access voucher. This came in useful later that night.
We went out for the evening then returned and went to bed. At around 11:30 loud, thumping music started and continued for several hours. We could hear the club district very clearly so very little sleep was had as it finished after 4am. On ringing reception I was informed that this was normal and the only thing we could do would be to ask to be moved. We spent the night watching YouTube and iplayer on my iPad using the wi-fi voucher until we could finally get some rest.
The following day we were given a new room which despite being called an upgrade was identical to the one we had vacated except it was 4 floors further up and was on the 'quiet' side. We took advantage of the spa facilities (bit small but the jacuzzi is lovely) and after a night at the theatre we returned and finally got some sleep.
Overall, it's not a bad hotel but they know that half of it is uninhabitable at weekends and should install sound-proofing or warn guests before they start ringing reception asking for earplugs (they don't have them). Three attempts at having a comfortable place to stay should not necessary and charging that much for wi-fi is farcical. Especially when it's free from the pub next door. Most of the staff are pleasant and respectful but our encounter with the first receptionist was very unpleasant. I doubt she would have cared a jot about my concerns or lack of sleep.
If I return to Birmingham I shall find a hotel away from the club district as I doubt the necessary sound-proofing will ever be done.

Reviewed by
G Snape

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next