Camden Lock Hotel

3

89 Chalk Farm Road, London, NW1 8AR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (106)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alan M

  • June 2015

Friendly but flawed

Very friendly serviceespecially at Reception but from my room (102) on the first floor, I was awakened by the sound of the neighbour's (101) shower and toilet.

Maybe due to paper-thin walls and/or dodgy plumbing but this was LOUD. Also, a curtain or blind on the window would have been appreciated to allow some natural light in the room and some privacy as the alternative to exhibitionism was keeping the curtains closed. I paid £75 for a double room.

  • Francesca Walker

  • May 2015

  • David Briggs

  • April 2015

book direct with the hotel

We stayed here for 3 nights and used the hotel as a base.

Don't be put off by the exterior as the rooms are excellent and very clean. We used the coffee shop downstairs for breakfast and at £5.00 you would be hard pressed to find a better one anywhere in the country never mind in London. Top tip. Book direct with the hotel as they charge £20 a night less than going through someone like late rooms.com as we did. Oh, and if you are not used to London traffic take some ear plugs. They worked for us!

  • C Reeves

  • April 2015

Good value functional hotel

Clean, good location, nothing fancy.

A bit noisy, but it's in Camden.

  • Debera Harris

  • April 2015

Camdon lock

Nice location to stay Chalk Farm tube across the road and Camden market a five min walk and the underground where there are concerts so was central for us

  • Andrew W

  • April 2015

Camden Lock Hotel

Outdoor decor and shared areas (corridors, stairs etc) could do with refreshing but apart from that, great location - directly opposite the Roundhouse and a few mins walk from the centre of Camden.

Staff were excellent, breakfast in attached cafe was perfect. Room was large, clean and had everything I needed.

  • S Friessner-Day

  • April 2015

Interesting

After making payment of over £100 for 1 night we were handed the keys to our room.

The receptionist, I'm convinced stifled a laugh, as she informed us that we were to have a lovely room with fantastic views. Then we were informed that our room was to be on the 1st floor, and that they are currently refurbishing the 1st floor. On entry to the first floor corridor we were greeted with dust sheets on the floor & 2 grumpy workers I wearing masks in a fog the plaster dust they were sanding from the walls. They begrudgingly stopped work to allow us to squeeze past. I held my breath so as not to breathe in too much dust as we walked through. On entering the room my throat & chest felt right. I'm not sure if it was the dust or the fact I suddenly realised I'd paid over £100 to sleep in a cupboard overlooking the crossroads with a bed squeezed into a corner & just enough space for a battered old dressing table. The nights sleep was terrible, lumpy bed which my husband had to navigate his way out of from the wall side to visit the bathroom during the night. On leaving in the morning the workmen were back & I left with a second coating of white plaster dust covering my black top & bags. The staff were friendly enough, the breakfast was well presented.

I really think that whilst refurbishments are being carried out then that floor should not be used for paying guests..

  • simon t

  • March 2015

it's cheap for a reason

Appalling hotel in a noisy location with no parking, surly, rude and unhelpful staff.

  • s jones

  • March 2015

This is a comfortable hotel, and a little hidden gem for London prices.

I agree with the other reviews re: outside does not look nice, but the staff were excellent. I received a warm welcome. The room as clean and ideal for what I wanted - a cheap bed for the night. I booked a single room, which, although small suited my purposes. Lots of eating places and shops nearby for bits & bobs. I ordered the continental breakfast, which did the trick. Not posh by any means, but a bargain for the price.

  • Sandra D

  • March 2015

Cheap and cheerful

The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment at present.

We had a refurb room which was quite small but very clean. Mattress was quite lumpy. There was an extractor outside on the outside wall which gave was constantly humming. The receptionist did her best to change our room, but as the hotel was full there wasn't much choice, so we stuck with our original room. She did give us some earplugs though. Consequently not a good sleep. Breakfast was excellent. We booked breakfast before we went, which was cheaper. Was ok for one night, did the job as we went to Camden Market, which couldn't have been nearer.