No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Camden Lock Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
89 Chalk Farm Road, London, NW1 8AR
The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite The Legendary Roundhouse Theatre at London's Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation.
The Camden Lock Hotel is about 10 minutes to King's Cross and Euston rail stations, the West End, Oxford Street and Madame Tussauds by tube or bus.
Nearest tube station is Chalk Farm (on the Northern Line) just 50 meters from the hotel.
Picture of Camden Lock Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, good location, ideal for shopping and a night out
We enjoyed our stay at the Camden Lock, it is near to the tube station and Camden Markets so in an ideal location for shopping. The hotel is near a few bars so was quite noisy at night, we slept fine though.
We stayed in a recently refurbished room, still had the new smell. The shower wasn't easy to work to get the right temp, also the mixer tap on the sink wasn't working well (hot was cold, cold was hot)
The rooms were very hot, we turned our radiator off as soon as we got in but the room was still very hot all night. (couldn't open the window due to noisy pub opposite)
The staff were lovely and very helpful, a credit to the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Waring

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased, would definitely come back again
When arriving at this hotel we were pleasantly surprised. From the outside we were a bit worried if we had the right place but as soon as we walked in to the stylish clean modern reception we were greeted by a lovely receptionist she made us feel extremely welcome and she couldn't do enough to help us. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the bathroom was absolutely spotless. Also it's in a good location too, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone I know. The only down side is that it doesn't have a lift

Reviewed by
Leah K

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a visit
This hotel has seen better days in respect of its décor, but don't let that put you off. It was immaculately clean, very warm and everything you need was on hand. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. At £84 for the night it was very reasonable as central London hotels go. The only down side was that one of the single beds, that together formed the double, needed a new mattress and so it may not have been so comfortable if there had been two of us. This is why I marked down on that aspect.

Reviewed by
Yvonne H

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Camden Lock Hotel
Great location next to tube station and friendly place.

Reviewed by
Neville Blenkinsopp

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, good value basic hotel room
If you don't need much in the way of 'frills' but do want to stay very close to the night life of Camden, and not break the bank, then this hotel is pretty decent value.

Reviewed by
Matthew G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spot on accomodation in a very convenient location
Hotel is right by tube station, eateries, the Roundhouse(which are gig was in) and a short walk to Camden Market, which was amazing!!! Receptionist was the most efficient I ve had in ages and I have stayed in more up market establishments. Breakfast was in the attached coffee shop and was lovely. Couldnt have found a better base, will definitely be using for future gigs.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

experience
found the staff very friendly and so very helpful but found the rooms very noisy. you could here everything, even people going to the toilet above you. other than that couldnt fault the cleanliness of the room etc.

Reviewed by
s Fagence

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't judge a book by its cover
As we approached the hotel we thought we may have made a mistake in booking there, but the moment we walked inside we relaxed. The staff were very polite, helpful and hospitable. We were located on the top floor so beware of the stairs if you stay here, they are great for toning your butt and thighs lol. The room was a twin room of good size, very comfortable for the two of us. Nice and clean, featuring tea/coffee making facilities, towels in the bathroom, TV on the wall etc. the view was nothing to be desired but then we didn't come for that and we were in the big city. The location was pefectly placed for the intentions of our trip. It's literally opposite Chalk Farm Road station and also has buses that pass regularly so easy transport access. It was conveniently sat opposite the roundhouse and next to a pub. Local chippy, cafe even dominos pizza very close by and with a 10 min walk down the road, a bus or very short train hop you are at Camden Markets where you can shop til you drop. Breakfast was provided by a cafe you walk through to, adjoined to the hotel. A lovely little spot. All round I would stay again and recommend. Price for location was great too. Have a nice stay.

Reviewed by
Nikita B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean but very small also bathroom was tiny .The bed was comfy. The breakfast was very good
We was on the top floor with a view of the roundhouse with no lift that's 49 steps but all together a clean room & the receptionist was very helpful.

Reviewed by
Karen W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
I love it.

Reviewed by
claudia v

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next