No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Camden Lock Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
89 Chalk Farm Road, London, NW1 8AR
The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite The Legendary Roundhouse Theatre at London's Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation.
The Camden Lock Hotel is about 10 minutes to King's Cross and Euston rail stations, the West End, Oxford Street and Madame Tussauds by tube or bus.
Nearest tube station is Chalk Farm (on the Northern Line) just 50 meters from the hotel.
Picture of Camden Lock Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Doesn't look much from outside and until you get to your room. But rooms are clean and good. Can't argue with it for the price. No worse than a budget chain hotel but half the price.
It's walking distance to London zoo, regents park and Camden town. Underground station outside (chalk farm) with regular northern line trains to euston, Tottenham court road, Leicester square and Waterloo. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
R Cousins

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place
Really nice people. Coped well with our late arrival and went way beyond the call of duty about a very minor leak into our room, offering us a complimentary breakfast.

Reviewed by
Graham Finch

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good 'budget' hotel.
This hotel is what it is...a good budget hotel. It's in a fantastic location right next to a tube station and a very short walk to Camden market. Don't expect any frills, but it's clean, has everything you need for an overnight stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here on a couple of occasions now with no problems.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Camden lock hotel
Great hotel next to Chalk farm tube station and Camden market, super value for money and very clean, I will be staying here again.

Reviewed by
E Phillips

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean room very close to the tube station
While the reception was a bit slow and the stairs corridor a bit unattractive the room was very clean and comfortable and everything worked

Reviewed by
Rupert G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mid week stay
The staff were very friendly polite and helpful. We stayed for one night as hotel was right next to the gig we were going to. Very good location if your visiting Camden for a gig or shopping.

Reviewed by
Laura B

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab place to stay
Ideal hotel, it was close to everything we needed for our weekend stay, would use again. friendly staff & very helpful

Reviewed by
shirley dorman

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK I agree it doesnt look great from the outside
I work in London so have experienced both the good and the bad. This place though is a mix.
The lady on reception was brill, she dealt with everyone efficiently, was very friendly and you could see by the other guests that she also built up relationships.
The room was clean functional and bright, the bathroom a little small but had a power shower which made up for it.
The outside of the hotel let's it down, it a very dated and the lead up to the room again is an old hotel feel. If they sorted this out then I'm sure it would pay dividends
Rooms need some air con as well, next to the road (where isn't in London) so when you opened the window you couldn't hear yourself think or it was overheating all night.
I'd stay again, it's not on my bucket list for beat experience of my life but it's everything you need for a good cheap stay centrally

Reviewed by
G Roberts

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be returning
In an ideal setting, close to all your main Camden attractions and the tube. Very helpful staff. Comfy room. Great hotel

Reviewed by
Michael Baird

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outside persona a bit dated but rooms nice and clean

Reviewed by
David Thompson

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next