No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Makeney Hall Hotel in Derby

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Makeney, Milford, Belper , Derbyshire, DE56 0RS
Makeney Hall hotel is set in the heart of Derbyshire just 30 mins, 21 miles from junction 28 on the M1 it sits just off the A6, 8 miles from Derby City Centre and on the doorstep of the Peak District.
Makeney Hall hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure. The hotel is situated in 6 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and provides breathtaking views across the Amber Valley and Derbyshire’s Peak District. Each of the beautifully decorated 46 en suite bedrooms offer Satellite TV, FREE Wifi, duvets, tea & coffee making facilities. The tranquil surroundings offer a perfect location for Wedding Receptions, Private Events, Meetings & training facilities make it a perfect location and a popular choice. Short breaks area also a popular choice as we are ideally located for walking in the Peak District or a visit to Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall or Alton Towers.
Picture of Makeney Hall Hotel in Derby, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Evening Meal did not appeal and was very expensive for what it was

Reviewed by
David T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing Standards
On arrival we went to the reception, first impressions were good, the Hotel is situated in lovely grounds, parking was good with two disabled parking spaces available.
At reception we were asked to pay a £50 deposit along with the £75 expected and known charge for 2 people for one nights B&B? On asking what it was for I was told a charge to cover possible expenses/breakages and this would be refunded at end of stay! I don't expect to be untrusted when I am arriving as a guest and it set a poor impression. I was asked if I wanted breakfasts, I had to inform it was inclusive in the booking and gave a copy of my late room booking form.
On a positive note I was asked if I wanted to use any wifi devices and was given two codes to access WIFI on my devices after I ascertained it was free (I had to ask)
We we're put in the courtyard annexe, normally I hate staying in an 'annexe' as it's usually poorer accommodation than the main hotel, though in this case it's rooms are arranged around a very pretty courtyard with a water feature in the middle.
On entering the room it initialy seemed bright and clean, however the windows were to say the least filthy, and one had the remnants of a 'clean...presumably me! written on one! More disturbing on opening a drawer, there were underwear garments presumably from the last occupant!
I informed reception and they did apologise and sent someone to collect the garments, again just shows a lack of attention to detail in preparing rooms for new guests.
Apart from a room menu, there was NO welcome information in the room at all, so we were unaware of the facilities or how to access them, very, very, poor. In the event I had to ask the time that breakfast was served. It's 7am till 9.30am if there is no information in your room!
Other points are the hair dryer is in a drawer but wired in so it cannot be removed, but the only mirror is in the bathroom. There were plenty of beverage drinks available in the room, the bathroom and bedding we're clean, no safe in the room, I don't know if there is one in the main hotel? Again part of the lack of information.
The bed was comfortable and in fairness we had a good nights sleep. On getting up in the morning the shower was stuck on scalding so unable to have a shower, which frankly isn't good enough, good job there was a bath!
Breakfast was in a pleasant room and though self service, staff were on hand if you needed anything extra. The quality of food was good and if it's indicative of the general catering, food should not be an issue.
On checking out I informed of faulty shower, met with 'I'm sorry about that!', I was then charged the room rate (£75 plus £3 for using a credit card). I asked about the £125 paid on card yesterday and was told that would be credited back on my card in a short time (presumably after checking our room, shame they didn't do that in first place.
In fact after checking my card records the £125 appears to not have been taken nor credited back to my account, so it appears that they simply retain the transaction of the £125 if needed? Still not good enough as not evident on booking and for the way it makes you feel as a 'guest'
Although we didn't have the best of experience, I wouldn't say its a bad hotel, it is in lovely grounds and the hotel itself is smart and as stated the quality of food was good. However the problems we experienced re clothes in room and broken shower and the lack of any welcome information is simply not good enough. This along with the 'deposit of £125 asked for on booking in, turned what should have been a good experience into a bad one.
The previous occupants clothes in the room and defective shower were reported to reception and in fairness did result in apology, but still left feeling resentful re these issues. We didn't report dirty windows (see picture) or lack of welcome information, as these are basic issues that should be evident on room inspection.

Reviewed by
Martyn W

From Barrow upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed
We only stayed for one night but had a lovely room in the court yard which had been recently refurbished. Excellent value with Breakfast included. Very impressed all round. The fountain outside did keep me awake for a while but that was just me.

Reviewed by
Alison E

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My recently refurbished room, was located within the very attractive "courtyard" of the hotel site.
The courtyard section with its Italian style water fountain, provides a wonderfully restful, covered area. The room itself was tastefully decorated, with a high spec. shower room and a useful selection of soaps/shampoo etc. The spacious bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. Hairdryer is available but a mirror had not yet been fixed above the dresser ( I was assured that this will shortly be rectified) and the wardrobe offered plenty of hanging room. Spotlessly clean throughout, including bedding and towels. Very good choice at breakfast, with attentive staff, in a light bright dining room with attractive views over the gardens and surrounding countryside. All in all an enjoyable, trouble free stay and I will certainly be returning in the future.

Reviewed by
P Hersey

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A dreadful experience
On entering what was meant to be our superior room my heart sank. The wallpaper was yellow with age, plaster missing from the ceiling, dirty carpet with dried in muddy feet marks by the window, the wallpaper behind the door was filthy black with what looked like oil from the hinges. The black rickety furniture should have been put in a skip years ago. The curtains and bed were new but why put these into a room desperately in need of a full redecoration. Although the bed was new it was most uncomfortable offering no support and felt like lying on a bag of old springs.
The evening meal was very good and I could not fault the quality of the food however some of the accompanying veg didn't arrive and staff had to be reminded. It became quite apparent that they had forgotten to cook those items as by the time they arrived at the table the main course was almost finished.
Breakfast was a different story. Buffet style. The plates were stone cold and there was no heat under the serving dishes so the bacon was barely warm and was greasy. The scrambled egg was inedible and seemed to have been made from reconstituted egg. I left the table without breakfast and we checked out after only one night unable to face a second.
The only positive comment I can make is that the rooms were well serviced with clean bathroom, good towels and bed linen. Although winter weight bedding in the summer was a bit difficult to bear.

Reviewed by
H Proud

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were not happy with our room as we had paid extra for a room with a view.The receptionist upgraded us to a better room which had beautifull views and was very helpfull.

Reviewed by
L Parkin

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four stars??
Whilst some aspects of the hotel were lovely, mainly staff service, location and the atmosphere enjoyed with friends we were staying with, the accommodation certainly doesn't warrant 4 stars. Our room was in need of a good clean, lots of cobwebs! On arrival we were told there was no shower but a bath with a shower attachment. What we actually found was a 1970's throwback, with a 3/4 size bath, a rubber shower attachment which sprayed more water up the wall than over you. With a husband at 6'6", it was like kneeling in a washbasin. Finally the wardrobe was so broken it was in danger of collapse so 1 or 2 stars max! There was a note saying the rooms are due to be re-furbished which can't come soon enough.

Reviewed by
Emma P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Great place for a short break or wedding!
Room was perfect for what we paid although there wasn't a mirror near the hair dryer but other than that perfect :-)

Reviewed by
V Craig

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable after renovations complete will be a lovely place to stay. Amazing setting.

Reviewed by
Chris D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything you would expect from an old character hotel
Old world charm and lovely rooms. Clean, spacious, and charming. So quiet, literally no noise from outside or other guests. Great stay and at a discount, would have loved breakfast to enjoy the full potential of the hotel. The reception was "old school", not particularly warm or friendly but functional and polite.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next