No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Makeney Hall Hotel in Derby

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Makeney, Milford, Belper , Derbyshire, DE56 0RS
Makeney Hall hotel is set in the heart of Derbyshire just 30 mins, 21 miles from junction 28 on the M1 it sits just off the A6, 8 miles from Derby City Centre and on the doorstep of the Peak District.
Makeney Hall hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure. The hotel is situated in 6 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and provides breathtaking views across the Amber Valley and Derbyshire’s Peak District. Each of the beautifully decorated 46 en suite bedrooms offer Satellite TV, FREE Wifi, duvets, tea & coffee making facilities. The tranquil surroundings offer a perfect location for Wedding Receptions, Private Events, Meetings & training facilities make it a perfect location and a popular choice. Short breaks area also a popular choice as we are ideally located for walking in the Peak District or a visit to Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall or Alton Towers.
Picture of Makeney Hall Hotel in Derby, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed
I was told by Late rooms.com that I had booked a superior room, in the event it was not, we had to ask for a better room. the first room was small, paper coming off the wall. The second was much better but I would not say superior, it was large the bed was comfy. I did detect a unpleasant smell in the toilet, only down side with this room it was on the top floor and the lift had broken down. We had stayed in this hotel 20 years ago and it was first class then, it seems a little sad now, on the good side the bed was comfy we both slept well and it was quiet, the food in the evening was very nice,Saturday breakfast was help-your-self and the food was lukewarm but enjoyable, and a good selection. On the whole a little disappointing.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Skinny Sausuage for breakfast
Makeney Hall was a lovely setting and my room was warm and clean, plenty of space with a good bathroom, loads of hot water even late at night, and quite. Room was made up after the first night, which was nice as only staying 2 nights.
However Breakfast could have been better, this was not in the price of the room, and was a supplementary fee costing £10 and £16 if not booked the night before, I was disappointed at the quality of the full English breakfast, 4 tiny mushrooms looks like grilled to death, bacon was good, fried egg nice, no hash browns (as the lady said) and no suggestion of extra mushrooms/bacon/egg etc, but the sausage and the beans, must have come from a food bank, beans all mushy, and the skinniest sausage I've seen, I have worms in my garden fatter!
This let Makeney Hall down, and did not set the standard, the feel of this lovely Hall has, oh and the bit of tape holding the carpet together in the breakfast room kept sticking to my chair leg, and found it awkward to move!
Come on Makeney Hall lets see a Full English breakfast to Makeney Hall's standard!

Reviewed by
Chris Caton

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Makeney Hall Hotel
Tired and shabby, bedrooms need a makeover, bed cushions very grubby indeed. Difficult to get service at the bar.

Reviewed by
D Whiteoak

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel for my one night business stay
I stayed one night on business in mid March 2014. I had a Courtyard room and after a little difficulty locating the room (it was upstairs, through a door in the far corner - it was late and I was tired!), the room was clean and tidy for my stay. The bed was comfortable and overall, the room was very quiet. The shower was a bit of a letdown as it was more of a dribble and the plastic shower curtain had definitely seen better days. Breakfast was quite expoensive but was plentiful.

Reviewed by
J Hunter

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the experience we expected
Very disappointed by this hotel. Although a grand building, and paying for an upgrade above the standard double, our room was very dated, On arrival we were informed that the lift was not working. There was no offer to help carrying baggage to our top floor room, regardless of our party being women only. The room smelt musty and the mattress was either a very very soft one, or so old it had sunk, as as soon as 2 people laid on it, we both sank down into the middle of the bed. Staff asked questions such as whether we had had a nice day, however we distinctly got the impression they were not interested in our answers.
We booked this room as a treat, the experience something a little classier than the Premier Inns we usually use when travelling, and were left feeling we'd paid out a lot more money, for a much poorer quality of hotel and service than we consistently receive at Premier Inns. Extremely disappointing.

Reviewed by
Claire H

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly hotel superb, would highly recommend breakfast was beautiful
Cannot wait to visit this hotel again, superb

Reviewed by
S Nicholas

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the 2nd time we've stayed and would definately book again.

Reviewed by
Ray Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Still a good place to stay.
We enjoyed our stay but on arrival to our room (not escorted) found that the TV did not have a control hand set, No breakfast times on display, Not enough sugar left in room, and the noise from the extractor fan outside of the room was very loud (I thought ) It starts early in the morning and goes off late at night. Also the bathroom extractor fan is quite noisey. But I must say the staff were good. except when I rung down to reception from our room, no response.

Reviewed by
Peter Juniper

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Treat for parents
My hubby and I took my parents for a Golden wedding anniversary treat. They enjoyed it tremendously .the staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast delicious. The hotel has loads of quirky features and I felt I had stepped back in time!!! The bedrooms were warm and comfortable. My father is disabled and he found it a comfortable place to stay.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely hotel very nice staff help full grounds lovely our room was great nice and big very clean

Reviewed by
derek Squires

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next