Reviews - Clarion Collection Makeney Hall


Makeney, Milford, Belper, Derbyshire, DE56 0RS

Price From 149.15 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (54)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • jonathan gleeson

  • November 2015

Weekend stay

We had a great stay and had good chats with the friendly receptionist.

Unfortunately, we were staying on the evening of somebody's wedding which dominated the hotel.

I had visions of a serene environment with a warm hotel room on your arrival. We entered our room to find it freezing and had to ask for an extra heater and blankets. The staff that did bring them were a little late but friendly. I feel the hotel needs to employ a few more staff to cater for other guests when they have a function happening elsewhere. On the Sunday evening the hotel was like a ghost town. I had to find a staff member at the back of the hotel to serve us drink as we got a little fed up with ringing the 'ring for attention' bell. The hotel has great history and a pleasure to stay in. I would say if they painted the interior as it was a little tired and shabby in places. Our toilet roll holder was also hanging off the wall. I only say all of this as I would be picked up in my profession if I were not to be up to standard and be providing a top rate service.

  • ann b

  • November 2015

Lovely room

Large lovely room with comfy bed and large bathroom with corner bath.

  • Peter N

  • November 2015

a worthwhile stay to remember

A most outstanding country house with first class accommodation, and 5 star rooms, views to kill for...friendly staff....

  • S Wild

  • October 2015

Excellent setting and excellent, friendly service.

Lick of paint needed here and there and corridors and dining room needed a hoover round.

Food mainly excellent. Afternoon tea very good. Had three course evening meal with starter being average, main course superb and dessert excellent. Would stay here again.

  • Nathan S

  • September 2015

Very smart accommodation with extremely friendly and helpful staff.

The grounds are lovely

  • Sean Williams

  • August 2015

Worth the time and effort.

A very enjoyable experience for the both of us.

The room was spacious and airy with all the expected facilities being clean plentiful.

The food was of excellent quality with a decent wine list and all reasonably priced.

The staff were all polite and discrete, the hotel is well kept and definitely worth a further visit.

  • Alan Seymour

  • August 2015

Clarion Collection Makeney Hall

Lovely hotel in a nice setting.

Two villages a short taxi ride away and hotel has very friendly staff. Great value for money


  • July 2015


I thoroughly recommend anyone to stay at the Makeney for a short break.

In tranquil surroundings, the hotel is perfect for anyone just wishing to get away for a short break. The food in the restaurant was first class, the staff were attentive without being overly so, our room was spacious and there are a couple of excellent pubs a few minutes away. We visited Chatsworth House which was just 20 miles north and there are also decent stop offs at Bakewell and Matlock Bath. Coming from the West Midlands the Makeney is not too far and we will be back.

  • Ian S

  • April 2015

Superb place to stay in a beautiful location

Staff friendly and helpful, hotel itself very easy to find yet nicely tucked away, within walking distance of a few okay eateries and an easy drive out of Belper.

Beautiful buildings and setting, wouldn't hesitate to recommend as a springboard for a Peak District holiday or similar.

  • Deb D

  • April 2015

Very peaceful location.

had a wonderful time in the surrounding areas

But very noisy heating system. Shower not powerful, toilet needs attention. Lovely large room and friendly staff.