Clarion Collection Makeney Hall

4

Makeney, Milford, Belper, Derbyshire, DE56 0RS

Price From 238.09 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (73)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ian S

  • April 2015

Superb place to stay in a beautiful location

Staff friendly and helpful, hotel itself very easy to find yet nicely tucked away, within walking distance of a few okay eateries and an easy drive out of Belper.

Beautiful buildings and setting, wouldn't hesitate to recommend as a springboard for a Peak District holiday or similar.

  • Deb D

  • April 2015

Very peaceful location.

had a wonderful time in the surrounding areas

But very noisy heating system. Shower not powerful, toilet needs attention. Lovely large room and friendly staff.

  • Jane McCall

  • April 2015

Huge room with great bathroom and wonderful views.

Staff were very friendly and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Elizabeth W

  • April 2015

An ideal venue for a relaxing break

This was a lovely hotel in a beautiful area of Derbyshire, The evening meal for the first night of our stay was divine and my desert of lemon cheesecake was the best dessert that I have ever eaten.

The 2 people who were with me for the evening meal also expressed their pleasure at the standard and content of the meal. The evening waiting staff were rather aloof and did find it somewhat difficult to smile. The rooms were very comfortable and of a good size and the breakfast were good. The day waiting staff were friendly and approachable.

  • Jill F

  • March 2015

A little Disappointed

We stayed for one evening paying a discounted price for a superior double.

The room was big but it was obvious it could have done with a lick of paint. The divan was badly stained and I couldn't understand why this was not covered with a valance as it was unsightly. We had eaten out earlier so didn't use the restaurant instead ordering sandwiches. They took 45 mins to be prepared and instead of being on bloomer as described in the menu, came on regular wholemeal bread. The one sandwich was dry and felt stale to the touch. Disappointing for £5.50 each. Due to this (and a conversation we overheard from another couple who had just eaten in the restaurant) we chose not to have breakfast the following morning, (£10 if you prebooked or £16 if you paid on the day) choosing to eat outside the hotel.

  • Amanda Murdoch

  • March 2015

Beautiful unusual hotel

Booked via laterooms.com and chose to drive a few miles rather than book into a standard Travel Lodge.

Very impressive hotel. Did get the impression from the receptionist that she though I wasn't up to the standard of clientele she was used to, but it may have just been her manner. All other staff were lovely. Room was fine (room 14) - good view of the fire escape but I only paid £39 and it got dark soon. Room heated up very quickly, the other reviewer who mentioned it was LOUD was so right. Lashings of hot water, corner bath and the biggest walk-in closet I've ever seen.

Would I go back. Yes I would, but definitely not the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • L Fox

  • January 2015

Clarion Collection Makeney Hall

Wonderful overnight stay , lovely room with great views.

  • J Spencer

  • January 2015

In need of some TLC

Tired hotel room but large and lovely and warm on arrival.

Plenty of hot water. Cracked hand basin and various stains and marks throughout room but bed comfy and clean

Tea and coffee making facilities, kettle was nice and clean. Breakfast was fine.

  • Jane G

  • January 2015

Lovely retreat

  • Linda R

  • January 2015

Room standard

The room was very tired looking and in need of decoration and a deep steam clean on the furniture and fittings.

A couch in the room was deeply stained in a number of places and most unpleasant and unsightly. On moving the sofa I was very disturbed to find two broken glass picture frames and shards of glass on the floor. The bedside lamps had been fitted with energy saving light bulbs, however the shades did not fit correctly and were very unsafe. The bathroom looked as though it had recently been tiled to a high standard, sadly the flooring was broken and had lifted by water residue spoiling the whole appearance. On arrival at the hotel the receptionist omitted to inform me of breakfast or facilities within the hotel and the room had no information with dining times etc.