No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mount Royale Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
117-119 The Mount , York, YO24 1GU
The epitome of a country house living - with a relaxing old world feel with all modern luxuries. Within walking distance of the historical, cultural and famous City of York. It is easy to access by rail, road and an international airport 20 minutes away. Unique, antique filled rooms, heated outdoor pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub open all year set in English gardens, spa and exquisite restaurant! Unfortunately we cannot accommodate stag or hen do's. We do have off street parking in front of the Hotel.
Picture of The Mount Royale Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok stay
ok is the best that can be said. Room was very dated, manager unhelpful, staff at breakfast good and food was good. Paid £105 and it was definitely over priced for the hotel.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

royale welcome
Very relaxing weekend for us. Hotel was quiet and the service we received was warm and friendly. The meals were excellent as was the service. We intend to make use of this hotels facilities when we next travel to York

Reviewed by
alan t

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Hotel, Friendly staff and Excellent food
A really lovely hotel with excellent food and the best homemade breakfast we have had in a hotel ever!!
Short walk away from York city centre
Friendly staff and excellent OXO's restaurant to have an evening meal in.

Reviewed by
hayley s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice and clean
i love this hotel

Reviewed by
Rida Mohamed Ahmed El Kalawy

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent four day break no problems at all the breakfast was first class but I didn't eat at Oxo's as the cheffie menu and the photos of a spoon of this and a blob of that on a piece of slate put me off but that's me I am sure it was fine if that's what you like.

Reviewed by
bob hoyle

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
The staff at this hotel were very helpful and very pleasant., couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was very good no complaints. The accommodation was disappointing, the room needs upgrading and the bed was very uncomfortable. The bathroom was nice although the shower was totally ineffective. The price was far too expensive for the quality of the room.

Reviewed by
M Hill

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel
Great 3 night stay in a super hotel, very helpful staff, lovely room, very quirky and original accommodation would definately return

Reviewed by
Carol L

From Scotland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room could do with a lick of paint and brightened up, gardens are fantastic and well looked after, staff were first class !

Reviewed by
Iain D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character hotel with hidden benefits
Needed a hotel with parking near the city, allowing us to stumble across the Mount Royale Hotel. Inside it is a warren of character features, leading out into a surprising garden complete with steam room, sauna, swimming pool and hot tub complete with changing facilities at the bottom of the mature garden. The staff were very friendly and attentive with a very impressive award winning breakfast menu, with an equally impressive restaurant with inside and outside dining options, with very good and well presented food. Our room was within the main building but we saw three stand alone villas with their own veranda's facing onto the garden, linked to the main building by an unusual and interesting covered courtyard path. The only drawback was revealed because we stayed during a heatwave - no air conditioning in the room, which made it a bit sticky however, not likely to be an issue for 95% of normal UK weather conditions. Handy for both the city and the race course, which are within walking distance (15 mins). Generally a pleasantly different hotel, which we will use again.

Reviewed by
Donald Muir

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay and a very warm welcome
This hotel was lovely with very friendly and attentive staff. Our room was great, we had a garden suite and it was comfortable, clean and full of character.
The restaurant was also really nice, the food was very good and again, great service.
The best thing about the hotel was definitely the staff. they were all so helpful and pleasant. We were cycling coast to coast and they looked after our bikes for us and didn't bat an eyelid at us turning up in our lycra!
The hotel is a 10 minute walk from York city centre.

Reviewed by
A Langley

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next