No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Brighton Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
143-145 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2PQ
The Best Western Brighton Hotel is a stones throw from the seafront & beach in the heart of Brighton. Opposite the famous West Pier and bandstand you can enjoy the panoramic views across the English Channel. The hotel location is an ideal base to enjoy all Brighton has to offer on minutes walk away and great for a short break or long weekend. A grade 11 listed building, the Best Western Brighton Hotel was once three magnificent private residences. Nowdays the single building stands as one of the oldest hotels in Brighton dating back to 1854.

In 1973 a scene from Carry on Girls was filmed in front of the hotel. With so many years history to its name, the one constant is the excellent service and attention to detail. Come and see for yourself.

On Brighton’s seafront promenade, this hotel offers elegant interiors and scenic sea views, 15 minutes’ walk from the Royal Pavilion. Cooked breakfasts are served, and free Wi-Fi is available.

Bright and warmly furnished, each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Rooms include a TV, ironing facilities, and tea and coffee. Some rooms also offer lovely sea views.

Brighton Rail Station and the boutique shops of Brighton Lanes can be reached in a 15-minute walk. Brighton Pier is 20 minutes away on foot, while Brighton’s central shops, clubs and restaurants are 15 minutes’ walk away.

The stylish bar serves a wide selection of drinks in relaxed and informal surroundings.

There is charged parking in front of the hotel and it is based on a first come first served policy. Guests can only book spaces on arrival.
Picture of Best Western Brighton Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 196 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but adequate.....
Friendly reception and clean comfortable room albeit very small

Reviewed by
S Williams

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The reception staff were very good, helpful etc plus an excellent room which was overlooking the sea.
The only downside (But this is common in all Brighton) is the lack of car parking spaces.

Reviewed by
David W

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was perfectly adequate, but--The tele controller needed new batteries, and the were screwed in so couldn't be changed--the bedside light didn't work, but was repaired for nioght 2. ---there should have been 2 bedside lights. But above all---I paid £15 for a parking space for night 2, but all the spaces were occupied, one by a person without a permit. I had to park such that I was awoken at 7o'clovk to move my car as it was blocking another--not, unfortunately the offender. I believe the hotel should have found the offender and got his car moved--or informed the police. Not acceptable.

Reviewed by
kenneth wolfe

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh. Oh, dear.
Where to start?
On arrival I couldn't open the front doors (partly due to my back injury and the sheer awkward heaviness of the door, partly because of the weird entrance and partly due to the member of staff stood in the way talking to other customers...
Checking in was fine, staff were very friendly, which is always lovely.
Decided to use the lift to get to the third floor - one of the most terrifying experiences of my life. Though later when we used the stairs, I felt like Alice going down the rabbit hole. Certainly not wheelchair-user friendly as the lift is way too small for a big chair and a carer or friend/partner etc.
The walls had something growing on them - maybe mould but it was a funny colour.
The room was on a slant and the bed was in two parts and kept moving around with the slightest bit of motion. The bathroom was horrible, old and dirty. I couldn't shower because it was just nasty.
Sound travelled hideously and we didn't have to turn the TV on - we could hear it through the wall.
In all, I know it was a fairly cheap deal and gave us a place to stay but I'd only recommend it if you have very very very low standards of what to expect from a hotel.

Reviewed by
Natalie C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below average
We stayed only one night in the hotel I stayed with my wife and young daughter at first they placed in the basement room where we only could go down by about 60 stairs with our daughter it was very hard we asked to change the room which they did for us.
The room was very basic it looked like it have not been decorated for 30 years. The heating in the room was not working so after we raised the issue we got an electric fan which was very noisy my wife couldn't sleep. Bathroom was also very small and cold. The wifi internet was also not working on the day we were there. The best from our stay was the breakfast . We would not recommend this hotel to others

Reviewed by
A Greff

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it was a nice hotel and it was very clean and very nice for the break we wented

Reviewed by
tim welch

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heavy Snoring Loud TV
Difficult to sleep in room partitioned by plasterboarding - next room kept me awake with snoring and TV played all night long

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dark, dingy & old fashioned room. Wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
Philip R

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decor is a bit tired and shappy .Good efficient service

Reviewed by
Marina W

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If this is the best, I'd hate to see the Worst Western
Just awful. Room not clean. View of a brick wall. Shampoo and soap half empty so clearly not been changed from previous guests. Parking cost an additional £15. I have seen better hostels

Reviewed by
Sam H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next