No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 128 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect accommodation for Central London
Greeted by very friendly staff on arrival, hotel very central, only a walk away from Euston Station. More importantly, had a really good night's sleep! Thank you :-)

Reviewed by
J Fox

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smart and Relaxing
We had a lovely two night stay. Very clean and Fab decor!. Professional and helpfull staff. Very close (walking distance) to Shaftsbury theatre/Camden/museums. Would stay again!.

Reviewed by
Andy Grove

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect in every way
We chose the Academy because of it reviews and location. This hotel is perfectly situated to access everything in London by foot ( if you're wearing good footwear!), bus, taxi or tube. The staff were friendly, approachable and happy to help if needed. Our room was as described. Comfy and clean with plenty of facilities, the bonus of a docking station,free wifi and the fruit and posh coffee was a hit for our teenagers! The temperature of the room was extremely warm all the time but we were able to open the windows or use the air-con. We didn't eat in the Academy at all as we chose to explore elsewhere and were out all day however their menu seemed reasonable for London. Overall we were all impressed and pleased with The Academy and would definitely stay again. Extra info: We pre booked parking at Euston train station and left the car there for the duration, its only a 5 mins walk to hotel and outside the congestion charge.

Reviewed by
A Donnachie

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant, well located hotel. We booked for one night at what was indicated on Late Rooms as a saving of £336, so we were expecting quite a degree of luxury. However, you would not have paid that sort of money for our room, which was very small, in the garret at the very top of several flights of stairs (61 steps) with no lift. Although clean, the 'bathroom' was so tiny you could not fit 2 people in at the same time. It was pretty good value for the £89 we paid, but a bit misleading from the website info.

Reviewed by
J Cupit

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent City Break
We were made very welcome in this beautiful and well appointed hotel.

Reviewed by
Mark A

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Academy Hotel Review
Extremely welcoming hotel on an awful day weatherwise. Up-graded to a suite on the hotel frontage. A little weary paintwork in the bathroom but otherwise very good standard of furnishings. The large bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep.
The cooked breakfast was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
I would book this hotel again.

Reviewed by
S Chater

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed only one night , however it was a great confortable, clean room, fast and efficient service.
The location is close to restaurants, shopping centres, theaters. It was very convenient hotel to visit London. We will stay there again in our next visit to the city and highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
A Morelos

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Very Nice Venue
Lovely old school hotel - recommended

Reviewed by
Ian P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great quality, would stay again
I got a good price (for London) - £148 for a single room with cooked breakfast. I got a lovely, comfortable room that I could swing a cat in (unusual for London!) with lots of what I consider extras; dressing gown, slippers, mini bar, fruit, free wi-fi, spacious bathroom, trouser press. I had a room service dinner which was delicious and I feel reasonably priced (Thai King Prawn Curry with rice for £11). Staff were very welcoming and friendly and the ambience in the hotel was lovely. Close to Oxford Street and Tottenham Court Road (about 10mins walk), so great location too. I was travelling alone on business and it felt very safe; lock and chain on the door, all well lit. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to a friend.

Reviewed by
Joanne S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bathroom old, noise from creaky floorboards disappointing. Service excellent, location great
At the reduced price (£90) available through Late Rooms the value for money was acceptable. The full rack rate quoted (£390) on Late Rooms must be in someone's dreams. Answers to following questions assume the reduced price is standard.

Reviewed by
D Gurr

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next