No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is blessed with a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. It is a traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character. Each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and for your entertainment, there are iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's with digital channels. When the sun is shining take advantage of the two walled gardens and listen to the trickle of the water fountain. Or during colder days relax in the peaceful heated conservatory. In keeping with the area's literary history, while away the time reading in the small library or enjoy a drink in the sumptuous lounge. Once rested, take advantage of The Academy's location - visit the boutique shops in Covent Garden, theatres of The West End and the nightlife of Soho, just a 10 minute walk away. The nearest tube station is Goodge Street (3 minute walk) on the Northern Line, or Tottenham Court Road (8 minute walk) on the Central Line. London St Pancras for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy is easily accessable from all major London Airports.
Please note that The Academy is a Grade II listed building, and, as such, does not have an elevator. All rooms are only accessible by stairs.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only issue is the room is too small

Reviewed by
XIAOYAN WANG

From Shanghai, China
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

none

Reviewed by
Emilio D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a boutique hotel
An easy pleasant stroll into town and the reception staff were immaculately turned out and polite. Our room, up many flights of stairs, was in the roof and the steeply sloping ceiling had a couple of intriguingly large holes in it. The room was ok but failed to thrill. Though free fruit -3 apples which were not added to, there was no cutlery or plates. The tea making was in a dark cubby hole - tricky with poor eyesight and the usual problem never enough teabags or milk sachets although hidden in a charming box this was haphazardly replenished. At £185 a night this is to say the least disappointing. The bathroom was fine and contained the usual offerings the high threshold - presumably to contain potential flooding was a nuisance. Exploration revealed a meagre garden completely overlooked by the neighbouring student accommodation. We never found the library and ducked out of breakfast as the additional costs did not seem worth the risk. Why didn't we complain - some days it doesn't seem worth it, I had hoped it would become our pied de terre- but no.

Reviewed by
J Lowe

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Academy
Small room but comfortabe, at the top of a lot of stairs, no lift

Reviewed by
n wood

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely comfortable stay, quiet, not too hot, comfy bed...yummy breakfast and a bargain price. Excellent!

Reviewed by
Liz T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was suitable for a weekend stay
Clean and comfortable, although traffic noise throughout the day and night.... Recommend for weekend. Staff very friendly and helpful. Suitable positioned for access to all the theatres also from kings cross.

Reviewed by
R F

From , England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay.
We stayed for two nights and found it to be clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and the suite we had was perfectly big enough for a family of four. A 5 minute walk from Goodge Street station with plenty of amenities close by, it was a great location to use as a base. There is no lift and the suite was up four flights of stairs but this was not an issue for us, though probably be difficult with babies or a toddler. Overall, a fantastic hotel, would definitely go back and recommend to friends. Didn't eat there (fussy kids!!) so can't comment on the food but the menu was reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
Samantha G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location, very nice staff, very nice room
Had a great holiday, very comfortable room for a family, great location, staff was very knowledgable and helpful

Reviewed by
Shachar B

From Tel Aviv, Israel
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel fine but over-priced

Reviewed by
C B

From NORTH YORKSHIRE, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acadamy hotel
Our family room was great for our purposes. Fairly spacious and comfortable although a little noisy from the road, and hot. The bedding and bathroom were not top quality but adequet. The breakfast was lovely and the staff very kind and helpfull. We got last minute discount prices and felt we got good value but i would have been disappointed if we d payed the full price.

Reviewed by
J Killingley

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next