No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Down Hall Country House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Matching Road Hatfield Heath, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS
Down Hall Country House Hotel is a luxurious four star Country House Hotel located on the Hertfordshire - Essex border. Set in 110 acre estate and features 99 spacious bedrooms, the Grill room restaurant, cocktail bar, opulent lounge with fireplace, tennis courts and conference centre. During the summer enjoy Down Hall's Terrace restaurant, our alfresco dining experience in the sophisticated surroundings of the Down Hall estate. Down Hall has something to offer to everyone, it is the perfect venue for a romantic weekend away or just a relaxing escape from everyday life. However long you stay, you will be guaranteed to leave relaxed and refreshed. The hotel is ideally located for Bishop's Stortford, Harlow and London Stansted Airport, offering free wi-fi and overnight car parking.
Picture of Down Hall Country House Hotel, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Down Hall Country House Hotel - To get away from any stress - idyllic surroundings
Stayed just 1 night here and used laterooms.com to discover this beautiful hotel with period features and 'something to catch your eye' virtually anywhere you walk around this lovely building. Staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Bedroom was so welcoming after a lot of driving on arrival day but wow are the beds comfortable and definitely I will be booking to stay here again but next time for longer and a planned relaxing stay. This time was booked purely for the short distance to Stansted Airport allowing me the extra hours lie in that morning. Highly reccomend Down Hall Country House Hotel to anyone - opulence but without the price tag!

Reviewed by
Caroline S

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what was expected
Given that this room was originally priced at £200+ it was disappointing. It was an old and 'tatty' room. We did not expect mould in the windows, wallpaper hanging off and a musty smell. The customer service was excellent however and the hotel it's self is in a loVely location and is very grand ( just not the discounted rooms!)

Reviewed by
Anna C

From Epping, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was nice and large but hairdryer did not work and one of side lights did not work

Reviewed by
alison branch

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I took my partner here for his birthday and it was an excellent choice, the hotel décor was very opulent and the lighting breathtaking. It has extensive grounds which we didn.t have time to go all around.

Reviewed by
P Fuller

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel

Reviewed by
J H

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced
for what I paid, £67.50, as booked through Laterooms, I guess i shouldn't moan! My room, includingthe en-suite were both very big but very tired looking. The lighting in the room didn't help as yhere wasn't enough of it.
Silly I know, but even the milk sachet had gone off and I had to ring down for fresh milk to be sent up, which finally arrived 30 mins later!
The bar prices were extorsonate as were the food prices, although I have to say the food was quiet
nice.
In summary, this is a Hotel perporting to be some thing it quite clearly isn't and needs to up it's game!

Reviewed by
Julian E

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality of the room
Since we had not had a holiday for over a year we had decided to get away for a peaceful relaxing break - so we chose Down Hall because it looked and sounded like it would be just what we needed. Whilst the exterior and the communal areas were lovely - we felt very deflated by our room, which was not much different from a Travel Lodge room. We had trouble in getting through the bedroom door because it opened up onto another door (to the en-suite bathroom) and once you were in through the door there was a very small walkway past a badly situated (rather small) wardrobe.There was virtually no where to put your clothes away and only three hangers in the tiny wardrobe - this was not acceptable for two people staying for three nights! The quality of finish was poor (particularly to the bathroom - with a badly repaired chip to the bath). And the sound proofing was almost non-existant - we could hear lots of noise from the reception area below us in the evening and were woken early each morning by people coming and going. Also, although we found out there was a swimming pool - we were not aware of it before the visit and were unable to locate it when we got there.

Reviewed by
janet g

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the place needs some maintenance/renovation, dryer pipe in the bathroom detached from the wall, water in the bath difficult to drain due to faulty mechanism, plastic cap plugs on the top of bathroom taps were falling off, most of the stuff is in 'only look at me but do not touch' condition... good value for £67 but not worth the usual £200 a night price.

Reviewed by
Victor W

From Clitheroe, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel.
This was a pleasant hotel and an ideal location for my meeting in the morning, Staff were nice at check in. The room, was a good size, but there were a number of 'stains' on the floor which made the room 'feel dirty'. I called for room service as I wanted to work in the room and after 2 attempts of over 5 minutes I finally got through. Food was ok. I ordered a sandwich and some chips (which were cold). Breakfast was nice and check out was easy. This is a nice hotel, but needs a re-vamp, new carpets, new furniture, bathroom fittings. and also, the shower and loo flushes could be heard from the next room which were very very loud. I paid a lot less than the rack rate and would have been very disappointed if I have paid the full price. I didn't complain as there was nothing that could have been instantly changed, but I think if they work on the points above, it could really be a lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
Amba M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The review of our stay
When we arrived, we were told that we had been upgraded, which of course is always nice to hear. the room waste excellent and looking at the Hotel at the front you would have chosen the room as it was one of the largest. When we entered the room we were very impressed. The bedroom however, looked tired' with the decor needing a little TLC. In particar the bench at the end of the bed required a clean as the fabric looked dirty.We arranged to go out in the evening to a local restaurant and my partner washed her hair. In the bathroom on the wall, was a hairdryer, This was broken, and smelt of burning when trying to use it. We asked the reception for a replacement and having waited some twenty minutes they were unable to find one. As the table was booked my partner left the hotel with wet hair' not very good. Our sleep was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. In

Reviewed by
Gary Watkins

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next