Down Hall Country House Hotel

4

Matching Road Hatfield Heath, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (74)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • N Abdallah

  • April 2015

An excellent choice

Booked as a last minute place to stay close to Stansted airport.

Sadly arrived very late and missed the whole day of sunshine :-( however the room was A* and was just as good as I hoped it to be.

The view next morning was superb overlooking green and a pond. I got everything I asked for.

Didn't have a chance to have breakfast or try any of their food but I can imagine it's equally as good.

Highly recommended and we will be back :-)

  • Leandro M

  • March 2015

Down Hall Country House Hotel

Best hotel I have stayed in a long time better then some 5 stars

  • A Cox

  • March 2015

lovely hotel excellent see

We had a lovely comfortable stay - we attended a murder weekend and opted for an extra night which was well worth it as the tranquil and peaceful setting is great if you want to relax.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and we had to wait quite a while for a taxi we pre ordered which was a pain but not hotels fault, they kept us updated at all times and chased taxi firm for us without asking. The restaurant grill staff were lovely and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The room was large and very clean and bathroom perfect for our needs. We were on the ground floor and this was very easy to access all areas quickly and a cream tea at lunchtime with one portion of sandwiches was more than enough for two. All in all a great relaxing atmosphere, lovely accommodation and fantastic customer service - I would highly recommend.

  • Bryan M

  • March 2015

Needs refurb

Bedroom was the worst I have stayed in .

Bathroom was not clean and the sealing round the bath was black with mould. The bedroom furniture was very scruffy and badly scratched with the veneer flaking off in places

  • Hazel S

  • March 2015

Was it Down Hall or Lower Loxley... did I find Ambridge?

Wonderful setting, professional and efficient staff, lovely room and fabulously comfortable bed.

I remembered to bring my gym stuff, so could take advantage of the fitness room and my partner could go for a long run around the country lanes. Dinner in the restaurant was a bit disappointing... or rather, poor value for money in my view. I thought we'd moved on from nouvelle cuisine, but it seems not. I prefer my art in a gallery and food on my plate, preferably with some vegetables as an acompaniment. The tasty, and to be honest, more nutritiously balanced full English breakfast was better value for money. I informed the staff in the restaurant of my views both at dinner and breakfast. I have selected the box for 'not recommending to friends' because I don't think it's 'our' sort of place. We chose the hotel at short notice for a spontaneous few days getaway and it was convenient for the airport that we used. I enjoyed the stay and but I think it's more of an 'event' hotel... there was a wedding party and a 'murder weekend' during part of our stay. Perfect for such a location.

  • C Barrett

  • March 2015

Nice and relaxing

Stayed with my partner for one night end of February, and despite there being a wedding on the room was very quiet and it was a very relaxing experience overall.

The room was a very good size and the bathroom was excellent. We had both lunch which was a little expensive but the portion sizes were huge particularly the chips. Dinner was closer to fine dinning, my steak was perfectly cooked and the dessert was incredible. Had a good comfortable night sleep too and would definitely stay there again although would book earlier next time to try to get an appointment in the spa.

  • K Goldstone

  • February 2015

Good Hotel not very good food

We had a very nice stay overall.

Nice room and clean. Little disappointed about the food and the service was about average. Dinning room too small for this size hotel and could not get in. Had meal in room. Order was wrong and there were missed items. Room service did not answer had to leave order with reception.

  • paul stirrat

  • February 2015

outstanding

Could not fault anything at this hotel.

Service was outstanding from arrival to departure. We managed to find a great deal with laterooms and was expecting the room to reflect the cheap price. We were wrong. the room was huge, bed bigger than a king size, bathroom with a huge bath and his and hers sinks, loads of storage room and beautiful decor. Best nights sleep we have had in a long time. We did not stay for breakfast, but from what we saw and smelt it looked great. Buffet style so you can have as much, or as little, as you like. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Thank you all, especially Martin at reception. I would recommend room 512!!

  • Jason C

  • January 2015

Men will find room 131 a pain

Broken toilet seat, chipped bath were our first impressions.

Breakfast the most ridiculously overpriced I've experienced.

  • kavida rei

  • December 2014

Lovely overnighter at Down Hall

The room was enormous and very comfortable.

The sauna and steam in the morning were fabulous. There was a jolly wedding happening and the atmosphere was wonderful. And surprisingly we were not disturbed at all because the hotel had kindly given us a room far from the disco. The staff were really friendly.