No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Down Hall Country House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Matching Road Hatfield Heath, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS
Down Hall Country House Hotel is a luxurious four star Country House Hotel located on the Hertfordshire - Essex border. Set in 110 acre estate and features 99 spacious bedrooms, the Grill room restaurant, cocktail bar, opulent lounge with fireplace, tennis courts and conference centre. During the summer enjoy Down Hall's Terrace restaurant, our alfresco dining experience in the sophisticated surroundings of the Down Hall estate. Down Hall has something to offer to everyone, it is the perfect venue for a romantic weekend away or just a relaxing escape from everyday life. However long you stay, you will be guaranteed to leave relaxed and refreshed. Down Hall celebrates the opening of a brand new gymnasium in March 2014. The new gym facility features a wide range of innovative exercise equipment from leading fitness provider, Technogym, alongside a great selection of free weights and exercise balls. The gym features running machines, cross trainers, exercise bicycles, a rowing machine, free weights plus exercise balls and mats. The hotel is ideally located for Bishop's Stortford, Harlow and London Stansted Airport, offering free wi-fi and overnight car parking.
Picture of Down Hall Country House Hotel, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel set in an amazing gronds - fantatic!
Hotel is absolutely stunning, room was huge with high ceilings and incredible features. Would 100% recommend!

Reviewed by
S Ward

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was astounded!
Stayed here for 4 nights whilst working in the area. The hotel was a perfect place to unwind after a difficult day in the office, Food was very good, beers were reasonably priced.
The location and buildings were brilliant, lots of grounds so you don't feel at all crowded.
The rooms were comfortable and spacious.

Reviewed by
Jason M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room really difficult access to the bathroom, coffee facilities hidden in wardrobe.

Reviewed by
V Walton

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was a friendly welcome in a relaxed atmosphere yet still extremely professional.

Reviewed by
Kay Player

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great from the outside ? 2 star accommodation.
Kitchen fan outside my room kept me awake all night ,the room was very dated and the bed very uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling room - was noty charged after complaining
I stay all around teh Uk in hotels which I book via Laterooms. This one looked fine on teh pictures, and of course, it stated that the 'real' room rate was £250 down to £85. Upon arrival, the room was very old, old furntiure and incredibly hot. I opened teh two windows, one would not stay open so I had to wedge it with a loo roll. There was a fan in the old wardrobe, which would not plug into the wall beside the bed, because the electic fitting was so old fashioned. I had to stretch the fan from teh otehr side of the room onto a chari and sleep updsie down to get some cold air! the fan also was covered in dust which blew around the room when swicthed on. There was terrible staining on the floor and on the wall (damp) beside teh windon. The bathroom was ancient and looked dirty becasue of the age. Finally the chair beside teh desk was covered in terrible staining on the seat cover. In the morning, I showed the staff photos of teh room, they did not argue and refunded the money. I never complain, this was a first for me, shockingthat they should think it acceptable to let out such a room.

Reviewed by
L Ward

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to rest
I was met by a very friendly and helpful receptionist, the hotel is extremely grand and spacious with rooms to match. They are refurbishing the rooms at the moment, the works did not effect my stay, so if you can ask to stay in a new room.
Very comfortable bed and delicious biscuits with the complementary room tea and coffee.
Overall a good place to stay and rest.

Reviewed by
Charles Brooks

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous Hotel
Such a quiet setting, the grounds are well maintained as is the Hotel . Room facilities excellent, brilliant customer services. No negative feed back. Such a lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
Sally Newman

From Barkway, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous Hotel
Brilliant Hotel, good customer service, room so big and relaxing.
Shame about the English Summer weather....
Couldnt make the most usesuse the extensive grounds .
Even ordered a takeaway from the local Indian. Staff accomdated us with plates and napkins.
Want to go back again.

Reviewed by
Sally Newman

From Barkway, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel with so much history
Highly recommend people to book this amazing hotel

Reviewed by
Adele Waite

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next