No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Down Hall Country House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Matching Road Hatfield Heath, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS
Down Hall Country House Hotel is a luxurious four star Country House Hotel located on the Hertfordshire - Essex border. Set in 110 acre estate and features 99 spacious bedrooms, the Grill room restaurant, cocktail bar, opulent lounge with fireplace, tennis courts and conference centre. During the summer enjoy Down Hall's Terrace restaurant, our alfresco dining experience in the sophisticated surroundings of the Down Hall estate. Down Hall has something to offer to everyone, it is the perfect venue for a romantic weekend away or just a relaxing escape from everyday life. However long you stay, you will be guaranteed to leave relaxed and refreshed. Down Hall celebrates the opening of a brand new gymnasium in March 2014. The new gym facility features a wide range of innovative exercise equipment from leading fitness provider, Technogym, alongside a great selection of free weights and exercise balls. The gym features running machines, cross trainers, exercise bicycles, a rowing machine, free weights plus exercise balls and mats. The hotel is ideally located for Bishop's Stortford, Harlow and London Stansted Airport, offering free wi-fi and overnight car parking.
Picture of Down Hall Country House Hotel, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was ok restaurant was v v good
was ok......restaurant was very very good

Reviewed by
John d

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel, old but filled with character!
A very special hotel, well worth the room rates! We felt like a very cool couple this weekend :) amazing restaurant, quality breakfast and seriously good staff!

Reviewed by
H Murphy

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel, looking forward to going back
We loved Down Hall, and were disappointed that we were only there for one night. We are looking forward to going back for a longer stay. The drive up to the hotel was gorgeous, and set the scene for the beautiful locale. Our room was super - a good size, with a beautiful bathroom and stunning views over the gardens and giant chess set. The staff were all very well presented, friendly and helpful. All in all, a lovely experience.

Reviewed by
A Hayes

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty
Rooms dusty and very small

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another lovey stay
My second stay at Down Hall. Staff lovely and helpfull especially the blond waitress in the dining room. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Check in and out very easy and quick. Stayed in room 202 the first time which was on the top floor with quite a few stairs. The room was nice enough, clean with a view of the back garden but a little on the small side. The second time I stayed in room 123 with only one flight of stairs. Room nice and clean and and more bigger than 202 but the view was awful, part car park, part roof, part staff accomadation/storage ? and you could hear the staff talking and see them smoking. Room also look a little tired and carpet had stains on it. Still it doesn't put me off going again. I think it depends what you pay is what room you are allocated. Absolutely brilliant breakfast, so much choice and lots of it. Hopefully the spar/hydro pool will be open the next time we go.

Reviewed by
Lorraine C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant accommodation.
Excellant hotel in a good location for a relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
Brian G

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not restful
Was given a room on 1st Floor - everytime someone walked in the room either side of us or above us the floorboards were incredibly creaky making a lot of noise and sounded like they were in the same room as us. Woken up both mornings just before 07.00 by a member of staff using a air compressor to inflate the tyre on a moped! As our window was facing the side of the exit/entrance there was a lot of noise from cars coming and going so we had a lot of interrupted sleep.
The room was very small and manouvering in the bathroom was tight (compact)
The plus side was it was a well run hotel and attentive staff - lots of different areas to sit around and have a drink etc.
I would stay again but only if I had a room that was in a different location and avoid the corridor that we were allocated and a larger room as ours was a very small double - my friend had a room which was nearly twice the size of mine and we paid the same price.

Reviewed by
Rose L

From Bushey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning room!
I booked this for a 'date night' for myself and my partner as we had booked a table at a Restuarant nearby, and didn't want to travel home after. We were very impressed and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of our friends!

Reviewed by
Susan C

From South Ockendon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, nice room,food excellent, communal areas a little tired in places
Apprehensive about staying here as the week before we had attended for afternoon tea and were very disappointed but our fears were allayed as we had a good time. The room was clean, decent quality furnishings although in communal areas some parts were looking a little tired. The staff were very helpful. We attended the restaurant and the quality of the food was excellent, top restaurant quality. We would come back but not for tea.

Reviewed by
O Ellis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissappointed
While the staff were helpful and the accommodation quite clean, the room was I am afraid to say, shabby, from scratched and marked furniture to a bath with the enamel worn off, and the shabby theme continued outside the room with stair carpet worn and threadbare in places, the tiny bar area was also overwhelmed by customers and a long wait to be served was inevitable, we were also very disappointed with breakfast, Tinned Tomatoes, poor quality Bacon, and no choice of Eggs only Scrambled Egg on offer, we compared the stay a few days later to a Premier Inn in Norwich, for the same price the room was Modern and comfortable, and Breakfast at the adjoining Table Table restaurant was cooked freshly for you and with a choice of poached, fried, scrambled, boiled, or omelette had eggs in abundance and fresh tomatoes, as well as fresh fruit an branded cereal, and all for less than half the price charged at Down Hall, breakfast really does let down what is otherwise quality food service, I do realise the settings and surroundings are totally different, but overall I felt that it reminded me of the comments on my early school reports - Must try harder. I would stay only if it was convenient ( not as first choice ) and would only recommend with certain reservations.

Reviewed by
Susan T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next