No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Down Hall Country House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Matching Road Hatfield Heath, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS
Down Hall Country House Hotel is a luxurious four star Country House Hotel located on the Hertfordshire - Essex border. Set in 110 acre estate and features 99 spacious bedrooms, the Grill room restaurant, cocktail bar, opulent lounge with fireplace, tennis courts and conference centre. During the summer enjoy Down Hall's Terrace restaurant, our alfresco dining experience in the sophisticated surroundings of the Down Hall estate. Down Hall has something to offer to everyone, it is the perfect venue for a romantic weekend away or just a relaxing escape from everyday life. However long you stay, you will be guaranteed to leave relaxed and refreshed. Down Hall celebrates the opening of a brand new gymnasium in March 2014. The new gym facility features a wide range of innovative exercise equipment from leading fitness provider, Technogym, alongside a great selection of free weights and exercise balls. The gym features running machines, cross trainers, exercise bicycles, a rowing machine, free weights plus exercise balls and mats. The hotel is ideally located for Bishop's Stortford, Harlow and London Stansted Airport, offering free wi-fi and overnight car parking.
Picture of Down Hall Country House Hotel, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay/ Clean and friendly although the room was far too hot.

Reviewed by
J Swan

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Disappointing
Can't complain about the great deal through laterooms, howvever when looked at the hotel's website they offered a 'best rate online guarantee'. When I queried this with the hotel they didn't get back to me until after I had booked with laterooms and because I had already booked they said they couldn't do anything! Part of the guarantee was that if a better rate was found our room would be upgraded on arrival when we queried this we were told there were 'no rooms available' yet during our two day stay we never saw more than 20 people in a hotel with 99 rooms!
When we checked in our room was freezing cold. When I went to reception to complain we were told to 'fiddle about with the thermostat as it's an old system'. After lots of fiddling about eventually the heating did work but it would have been nice to not have to sort this out oursleves and wait two hours for the room to heat up.
TV - freeview only - didn't realise that there were hotels still going with such a limited channel offer.
Dinner was overpriced so we went to the local pub both nights and had a very pleasant meal and taxis to and from the hotel were very reasonable. If the breakfast was anything to go by we were mightily relieved that we didn't pay £30 per head for dinner.
Drinks expensive (but no worse than similar hotels)
The leisure facilities were a joke. - sauna broken, swimming pool suitable for no more than two people and had to go out of the hotel to gain access to the 'leisure facilities'. Gym - one treadmill, one bike and one x trainer in the hallway between the 'pool' and the snooker room!
Overall very disappointed and not worth anymore than the £47 per night we paid. Must have been a great hotel 20 years ago but not moved with the times. Under no circumstances pay anywhere near the rack rate and don't eat or drink in the hotel.

Reviewed by
Mark O

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice country hotel close to Stansted
Large country house set in its own grounds with 10m swimming-pool (well kept). Large lounge/ bar area with chill-out music. Interior partly a bit dated but room modern and well fitted-out. Staff friendly but not overly helpful. Vey good value for money through Laterooms but not sure if I would pay full price.

Reviewed by
Cora K

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

although building impressive inside & out the staff customer service did not match. At time of booking in I was not advised to book the restaurant for dinner. When myself and my mum went to have dinner at 7.00pm we were told the restaurant was fully booked, that was dissapointing. Also not enough staff on at bar, and the staff who were serving hadmiserable faces complaining. The fire in the main lounge was not attended too and it was a cold day and night. They had no fire lighters and kindling wood to start the fire. After pure determination I managed to start the fire and keep it alight by putting on the wood myself only to hear the manager with a miserable face tell me to close the log burning doors, due to health & safety reasons. Myself and other guests were not happy with this silly overbearing attitude , when adults are having a glass of wine in a hotel we expect to be treated as such not children. This alone has put me off going again. Shame because the hotel itself was lovely.

Reviewed by
j smith

From , England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Down Hall
An amazing building & hotel. Booking through laterooms made it excellent value for money & I enjoyed luxurious surroundings, very good customer service & a very nice dinner for the same price as staying in other well known chain hotels.
The quality of ingredients at breakfast were slightly disappointing & not consistent with the quality of the dinner I had the previous night. But otherwise I had a really enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
A Farr

From Monmouth, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a nice night away
Me and my husband enjoyed our stay at down hall we thought the room could have been cleaner as there was lots of cob weds above bed and on the lights and one of the doors on the unit around the bed was full of dust you could see this with the lamp on when you laid in bed! Food was ok in grill restrant althought there was not a great deal of choice on the menu.
I would return to down hall as we got a fantastic deal on our stay although would not pay full price to stay here

Reviewed by
E Muscutt

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice comfortable accommodation
Hotel very impressive ..Food quality lets the restaurant down.

Reviewed by
mark g

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is looking a bit tired in some areas

Reviewed by
M Hills

From Ware, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very nice hotel; high class public rooms, nice restaurant and large classy bedroom. The leisure facilities are a little disappointing with just a couple of exercise machines in a corridor, cold swimming pool and a small sauna in each changing room (ladies was not working). Overall, a very relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
M Collins

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room shame about the drinks
The room and customer service staff was very nice. The room however was quite modern but the curtains were old fashioned which didn't go together. The surroundings was lovely, but the decor was a little tatty in places.
The food was ok, but i felt that for the money the quality should have been better. the drink were very expensive £8.40 for a small glass of wine.

Reviewed by
Sharon B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next