No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Down Hall Country House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Matching Road Hatfield Heath, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS
Down Hall Country House Hotel is a luxurious four star Country House Hotel located on the Hertfordshire - Essex border. Set in 110 acre estate and features 99 spacious bedrooms, the Grill room restaurant, cocktail bar, opulent lounge with fireplace, tennis courts and conference centre. During the summer enjoy Down Hall's Terrace restaurant, our alfresco dining experience in the sophisticated surroundings of the Down Hall estate. Down Hall has something to offer to everyone, it is the perfect venue for a romantic weekend away or just a relaxing escape from everyday life. However long you stay, you will be guaranteed to leave relaxed and refreshed. Down Hall celebrates the opening of a brand new gymnasium in March 2014. The new gym facility features a wide range of innovative exercise equipment from leading fitness provider, Technogym, alongside a great selection of free weights and exercise balls. The gym features running machines, cross trainers, exercise bicycles, a rowing machine, free weights plus exercise balls and mats. The hotel is ideally located for Bishop's Stortford, Harlow and London Stansted Airport, offering free wi-fi and overnight car parking.
Picture of Down Hall Country House Hotel, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice setting, excellent service and food in the restaurant. Bed was lumpy and poor, room was ok. Pool was closed.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good for the price but room was tired looking.

Reviewed by
charles r

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was smaller than I would have expected for that kind of hotel.

Reviewed by
L Hall

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable value
Nice hotel but a few issues
1. I came down to reception at around 8pm to pick up a towel for the pool and 3 guys were just ahead of me to check in. I asked for a towel but was told to wait. I waited 15 mins while the 3 were checked in. I could have been passed the sign in book and a towel whilst these guys were being checked in.
2. 10% service charge on hotel food. This is a first for me in 30 years
3. Quite a snug room but OK

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Coleford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
great break

Reviewed by
R Bozeat

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review

Reviewed by
T Bett

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not what I expected
the accomodation was great. The dining area and the customer service./food was very poor.

Reviewed by
Gill C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
great looking building with good accomodation to a high standard

Reviewed by
T Bett

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food but bedrooms need upgrading
Bed was not comfortable - didn't get a good nights sleep. Bathroom needed upgrading. No fridge in room. Food was fantastic but inexperienced youngsters let the service down.

Reviewed by
P Panteli

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Down Hall Country House Hotel
Whilst the outside of the Hotel, and some parts of the inside look very grand, the quality of our room left alot to be desired. It felt that we were put in a room in a wing of the Hotel that had been forgotten, and the decor of the room certainly didn't match the entrance or downstairs reception/lobby area. The bathroom was really nice, though the space in the main bedroom was minimum. Net curtains were hung on ill fitting wire, and the space between the end of the bed and the dressing table made walking by it almost impossible.
Admittedly there was a wedding on, during our stay, and the Hotel staff were probably otherwise engaged, but the staff were very solemn looking and didn't engage in any conversation. We were over charged £8 for a burger and chips (£18), and the evening meal, in my opinion, in the Grill Room, didn't offer diners alot of choice.
The room service (breakfast) was very good, we received everything that we ordered, and the £4 tray charge was reasonable.
We were not asked if we enjoyed our stay, on booking out , so customer focus did not appear to be on form during our stay.

Reviewed by
Sharon Sales

From Waltham Abbey, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next