Reviews - Down Hall Country House Hotel

4

Matching Road Hatfield Heath, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

Price From 280.32 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • K Goldstone

  • February 2015

Good Hotel not very good food

We had a very nice stay overall.

Nice room and clean. Little disappointed about the food and the service was about average. Dinning room too small for this size hotel and could not get in. Had meal in room. Order was wrong and there were missed items. Room service did not answer had to leave order with reception.

  • paul stirrat

  • February 2015

outstanding

Could not fault anything at this hotel.

Service was outstanding from arrival to departure. We managed to find a great deal with laterooms and was expecting the room to reflect the cheap price. We were wrong. the room was huge, bed bigger than a king size, bathroom with a huge bath and his and hers sinks, loads of storage room and beautiful decor. Best nights sleep we have had in a long time. We did not stay for breakfast, but from what we saw and smelt it looked great. Buffet style so you can have as much, or as little, as you like. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Thank you all, especially Martin at reception. I would recommend room 512!!

  • Jason C

  • January 2015

Men will find room 131 a pain

Broken toilet seat, chipped bath were our first impressions.

Breakfast the most ridiculously overpriced I've experienced.

  • kavida rei

  • December 2014

Lovely overnighter at Down Hall

The room was enormous and very comfortable.

The sauna and steam in the morning were fabulous. There was a jolly wedding happening and the atmosphere was wonderful. And surprisingly we were not disturbed at all because the hotel had kindly given us a room far from the disco. The staff were really friendly.

  • John d

  • November 2014

Hotel was ok restaurant was v v good

was ok......restaurant was very very good

  • H Murphy

  • September 2014

Wonderful hotel, old but filled with character!

A very special hotel, well worth the room rates.

We felt like a very cool couple this weekend :) amazing restaurant, quality breakfast and seriously good staff!

  • A Hayes

  • September 2014

Fabulous hotel, looking forward to going back

We loved Down Hall, and were disappointed that we were only there for one night.

We are looking forward to going back for a longer stay. The drive up to the hotel was gorgeous, and set the scene for the beautiful locale. Our room was super - a good size, with a beautiful bathroom and stunning views over the gardens and giant chess set. The staff were all very well presented, friendly and helpful. All in all, a lovely experience.

  • Lorraine C

  • August 2014

Another lovey stay

My second stay at Down Hall.

Staff lovely and helpfull especially the blond waitress in the dining room. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Check in and out very easy and quick. Stayed in room 202 the first time which was on the top floor with quite a few stairs. The room was nice enough, clean with a view of the back garden but a little on the small side. The second time I stayed in room 123 with only one flight of stairs. Room nice and clean and and more bigger than 202 but the view was awful, part car park, part roof, part staff accomadation/storage . and you could hear the staff talking and see them smoking. Room also look a little tired and carpet had stains on it. Still it doesn't put me off going again. I think it depends what you pay is what room you are allocated. Absolutely brilliant breakfast, so much choice and lots of it. Hopefully the spar/hydro pool will be open the next time we go.

  • Lisa H

  • August 2014

Dirty

Rooms dusty and very small

  • Brian G

  • August 2014

Excellant accommodation.

Excellant hotel in a good location for a relaxing stay.