Down Hall Country House Hotel

4

Matching Road Hatfield Heath, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

Price From 258.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (70)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • kavida rei

  • December 2014

Lovely overnighter at Down Hall

The room was enormous and very comfortable.

The sauna and steam in the morning were fabulous. There was a jolly wedding happening and the atmosphere was wonderful. And surprisingly we were not disturbed at all because the hotel had kindly given us a room far from the disco. The staff were really friendly.

  • John d

  • November 2014

Hotel was ok restaurant was v v good

was ok......restaurant was very very good

  • H Murphy

  • September 2014

Wonderful hotel, old but filled with character!

A very special hotel, well worth the room rates.

We felt like a very cool couple this weekend :) amazing restaurant, quality breakfast and seriously good staff!

  • A Hayes

  • September 2014

Fabulous hotel, looking forward to going back

We loved Down Hall, and were disappointed that we were only there for one night.

We are looking forward to going back for a longer stay. The drive up to the hotel was gorgeous, and set the scene for the beautiful locale. Our room was super - a good size, with a beautiful bathroom and stunning views over the gardens and giant chess set. The staff were all very well presented, friendly and helpful. All in all, a lovely experience.

  • Lorraine C

  • August 2014

Another lovey stay

My second stay at Down Hall.

Staff lovely and helpfull especially the blond waitress in the dining room. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Check in and out very easy and quick. Stayed in room 202 the first time which was on the top floor with quite a few stairs. The room was nice enough, clean with a view of the back garden but a little on the small side. The second time I stayed in room 123 with only one flight of stairs. Room nice and clean and and more bigger than 202 but the view was awful, part car park, part roof, part staff accomadation/storage . and you could hear the staff talking and see them smoking. Room also look a little tired and carpet had stains on it. Still it doesn't put me off going again. I think it depends what you pay is what room you are allocated. Absolutely brilliant breakfast, so much choice and lots of it. Hopefully the spar/hydro pool will be open the next time we go.

  • Lisa H

  • August 2014

Dirty

Rooms dusty and very small

  • Brian G

  • August 2014

Excellant accommodation.

Excellant hotel in a good location for a relaxing stay.

  • Rose L

  • August 2014

Not restful

Was given a room on 1st Floor - everytime someone walked in the room either side of us or above us the floorboards were incredibly creaky making a lot of noise and sounded like they were in the same room as us.

Woken up both mornings just before 07.00 by a member of staff using a air compressor to inflate the tyre on a moped. As our window was facing the side of the exit/entrance there was a lot of noise from cars coming and going so we had a lot of interrupted sleep. The room was very small and manouvering in the bathroom was tight (compact)

The plus side was it was a well run hotel and attentive staff - lots of different areas to sit around and have a drink etc.

I would stay again but only if I had a room that was in a different location and avoid the corridor that we were allocated and a larger room as ours was a very small double - my friend had a room which was nearly twice the size of mine and we paid the same price.

  • Susan T

  • August 2014

Dissappointed

While the staff were helpful and the accommodation quite clean, the room was I am afraid to say, shabby, from scratched and marked furniture to a bath with the enamel worn off, and the shabby theme continued outside the room with stair carpet worn and threadbare in places, the tiny bar area was also overwhelmed by customers and a long wait to be served was inevitable, we were also very disappointed with breakfast, Tinned Tomatoes, poor quality Bacon, and no choice of Eggs only Scrambled Egg on offer, we compared the stay a few days later to a Premier Inn in Norwich, for the same price the room was Modern and comfortable, and Breakfast at the adjoining Table Table restaurant was cooked freshly for you and with a choice of poached, fried, scrambled, boiled, or omelette had eggs in abundance and fresh tomatoes, as well as fresh fruit an branded cereal, and all for less than half the price charged at Down Hall, breakfast really does let down what is otherwise quality food service, I do realise the settings and surroundings are totally different, but overall I felt that it reminded me of the comments on my early school reports - Must try harder.

I would stay only if it was convenient ( not as first choice ) and would only recommend with certain reservations.

  • Susan C

  • August 2014

Stunning room!

I booked this for a 'date night' for myself and my partner as we had booked a table at a Restuarant nearby, and didn't want to travel home after.

We were very impressed and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of our friends!