No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riverside

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Riverside Drive,Branston,Burton-On-Trent,Staffordshire , Burton on Trent, DE14 3EP
The Riverside Hotel Branston Burton Upon Trent near Derby sits in the Staffordshire village of Branston on the banks of the River Trent on the outskirt of Burton upon Trent with easy access to Derby via the A38 and Uttoxeter via the A50. The Riverside Hotel has its own private island, coarse fishing rights and moorings. The Riverside Hotel is a firm favourite with locals and visitors alike and you can be assured of a very warm welcome and excellent hospitality. The Riverside Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the historic brewing town, ancient buildings, magnificent gardens, numerous tourist attractions and natural beauty of the area. For the more adventurous there is an array of outdoor pursuits and sporting activities suitable for visitors of all ages. The Hotel has a large car park.

Hotel now has SKY packages in rooms
Picture of Riverside, Burton on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit dusty room and smelling of cigarettes in a nod smoking room
Ordered paper only got one on the last day

Reviewed by
Lynn Attreed

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful situation at the Riverside Hotel, burton-on-Trent
A which was lovely venue with good basic facilities. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. We were surprised at this for the 'budget' price we paid. The breakfast was very good too, but held in a very cold dining room (without heating). Although there was a gas log fire which was welcoming no one was allowed to sit there and it was at the other end of another dining area which was empty. The first night we stopped one of us opted for a single room which had a radiator which didn't work. We were made to feel very uncomfortable when we complained and asked to see the manager. We were told he was too busy to sort it out as there was a a wedding going on. We were not offered an alternative room and among other suggestions to warm it up was to run the shower for a bit! After persisting, a helpful staff member (Hannah?) found an electric heater. The second night they did put in the other room which we shared a 'z' bed, which was a surprisingly comfortable air bed. The staff were friendly and helpful on the whole, but looked a little harassed.
Parking was free, which was a bonus. The river Trent runs behind the hotel and is beautiful. The function rooms and guest rooms are slightly detached from one another, so no intrusive noise.

Reviewed by
susan m

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

premium room at Riverside
Excellent room , great value, would go again as long as its a premium room. Not sure about the others.

Reviewed by
Nichoals S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value
Room clean & comfortable albeit a little small. Staff friendly & accommodating. Service for bar meals a little slow

Reviewed by
Jennifer B

From Robin Hoods Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
The experience was very noisy. External noise from geese outside kept us awake all night long

Reviewed by
W H

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
enjoyable comfortable stay. nice room. lovely location. highly recommend it

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location , helpful staff
A lovely riverside location, helpful polite staff. Tasty, value for money food and windows that actually open all make the Riverside hotel experience worthwhile, the rooms could do with a little renovation but the bed was clean and comfy and the staff went out of their way to help.

Reviewed by
andy McIntosh

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was ok and a great location but...
Room was very cold and basic, wardrobe floor was falling apart and bathroom needed a clean.
Room number Stuck on with blue tack!
Not really worth £70

Reviewed by
John Dilley

From Weston super mare, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant 4 night stay
As I checked out, the builders who were going to refurbish my room were just arriving; so there's no point in rating the quality of my room.
Beautiful riverside location. Reliable free WiFi service. The only gripe is that the bar closes at 22:30 on a Sunday, although this was too much of a problem on this occasion as I was able to sneak into the the Function room to buy some drinks in there.

Reviewed by
John N

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely position
Hotel in a lovely position on the banks of the river. Staff very friendly and helpful, our room could have done with a lick of paint but that's a minor point. The food was good, arrived quickly and was hot. Had a very nice 2 night break. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
M P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next