No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riverside

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Riverside Drive,Branston,Burton-On-Trent,Staffordshire , Burton on Trent, DE14 3EP
The Riverside Hotel Branston Burton Upon Trent near Derby sits in the Staffordshire village of Branston on the banks of the River Trent on the outskirt of Burton upon Trent with easy access to Derby via the A38 and Uttoxeter via the A50. The Riverside Hotel has its own private island, coarse fishing rights and moorings. The Riverside Hotel is a firm favourite with locals and visitors alike and you can be assured of a very warm welcome and excellent hospitality. The Riverside Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the historic brewing town, ancient buildings, magnificent gardens, numerous tourist attractions and natural beauty of the area. For the more adventurous there is an array of outdoor pursuits and sporting activities suitable for visitors of all ages. The Hotel has a large car park.

Hotel now has SKY packages in rooms
Picture of Riverside, Burton on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel- service let it down.
I love the atmosphere of the Riverside, it is cosy and in a lovely location. If anything spoiled it, the breakfast service was very disappointing-way too slow and when the food finally arrived it was luke warm and the toast was cold. The restaurant wasn't full so there wasn't an excuse really.

Reviewed by
Maxine L

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review of riverside drive
staff did their best in spite of being short on numbers.
we were surprised and disappointed when bar closed at 11pm on a saturday without any warning.
otherwise there was a good feel to the place.

Reviewed by
r hamilton

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good breakfast, nice room
Nice hotel, room and food good. Service a bit slow - had to wait some time for reception on arrival and for service at breakfast. Staff pleasant and helpful. Rather noisy at night and early mornings but not excessively so.

Reviewed by
T Howes

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverside Experience
Great location - slight issue with waitress service on first night

Reviewed by
David L

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
A hidden gem on the river banks

Reviewed by
C Lester

From Craigieburn, Australia
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit dusty room and smelling of cigarettes in a nod smoking room
Ordered paper only got one on the last day

Reviewed by
Lynn Attreed

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful situation at the Riverside Hotel, burton-on-Trent
A which was lovely venue with good basic facilities. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. We were surprised at this for the 'budget' price we paid. The breakfast was very good too, but held in a very cold dining room (without heating). Although there was a gas log fire which was welcoming no one was allowed to sit there and it was at the other end of another dining area which was empty. The first night we stopped one of us opted for a single room which had a radiator which didn't work. We were made to feel very uncomfortable when we complained and asked to see the manager. We were told he was too busy to sort it out as there was a a wedding going on. We were not offered an alternative room and among other suggestions to warm it up was to run the shower for a bit! After persisting, a helpful staff member (Hannah?) found an electric heater. The second night they did put in the other room which we shared a 'z' bed, which was a surprisingly comfortable air bed. The staff were friendly and helpful on the whole, but looked a little harassed.
Parking was free, which was a bonus. The river Trent runs behind the hotel and is beautiful. The function rooms and guest rooms are slightly detached from one another, so no intrusive noise.

Reviewed by
susan m

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

premium room at Riverside
Excellent room , great value, would go again as long as its a premium room. Not sure about the others.

Reviewed by
Nichoals S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value
Room clean & comfortable albeit a little small. Staff friendly & accommodating. Service for bar meals a little slow

Reviewed by
Jennifer B

From Robin Hoods Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
The experience was very noisy. External noise from geese outside kept us awake all night long

Reviewed by
W H

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next