No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
187 Clermiston Road , Edinburgh , EH12 6UG
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel. With great views across the west of the city, our hilltop location enjoys a tranquil location without taking you too far from the sights and sounds of Edinburgh.

Modern, bright and fresh interior is complemented by free WiFi and substantial car parking, smart and flexible event space, comfy and spacious guest rooms and an extensive leisure club.

Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to Edinburgh.
Picture of Edinburgh Capital Hotel, Edinburgh  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely loved this hotel. The facilities were excellent, staff great and very friendly and the food was amazing. The location wasn't a problem as it was good to be able to park and leave the car and get bus into city centre which was really easy. The pool and leisure facilities were ace and just perfect. Will definitely recommend to others and will definitely be back. (thank you to the member of staff who we called for at 2.30 in the morning to shut our window which was awkward but our fault for not being able to close).

Reviewed by
R Rennie

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was clean and staff friendly
sauna and steam room were nice,but feel pool could do with clean

Reviewed by
STEPHANIE N

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel!
A nice hotel, which was modern, well maintained and the pool was nice! Only issue was noise of doors slamming outside our door which kept me awake at night. Prob not a lot you can do about that though and our room was right by the main doorway. Other than that really nice hotel and lovely experience.

Reviewed by
Emma C

From Newcastle Upon Tyne , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Only thing that let the hotel down was the cooked breakfast. If you went down to breakfast early then I'm sure everything would be fresh and warm but we went down at 0910 and the black pudding, potato scone etc were cold and hard. Top marks for the muesli, yoghurt and mixed berries as this is my wife's favourite start to the day!

Reviewed by
William Stewart

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok stay Eventually!!
After a very long journey - I finally arrived to be given a room in the basement of the hotel,(where there was no lift, so had to lug baggage up & down stairs) near where workmen were painting/decorating that had a patio door out onto the carpark! I immediately complained to reception (as a lone female traveller I did not feel safe in this room). I insisted they move me to a room in the main hotel, not on the ground floor. The room I was eventually given was on the 2nd floor & was large, airy & comfortable. Not a great start, but my stay was fine & the restaurant & breakfast was good & the staff were very friendly.
The carpets in the corridors were very worn/tired & could do with a bit of a refurbishment.

Reviewed by
H Smith

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel and brilliant staff
Couldn't fault the hotel one bit. Room was perfect,service was perfect and staff were extremely helpful

Reviewed by
R BROWN

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
Very helpful and pleasant staff. Fabulous spacious comfortable room. It's the second time we have stayed at this hotel and will return again in the future.

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ellens comments
I had a great time. Hotel was excellent. When we had ordered dinner we had a bit of waiting time for it. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was good but food was lukewarm. I would certainly go back.

Reviewed by
e brown

From Livingston, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh - Capital
A reasonably priced hotel. Ideal for business purposes with good access routes to city and airport.
Hotel room did not have air conditioning and parts of the hotel was uncomfortably hot (even through the night). Hotel otherwise was comfortable and the staff were very accommodating.

Reviewed by
R Leonard

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only thing that let this hotel down was the attitude of the receptionist upon arrival. Everything else was great.

Reviewed by
Janet W

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next