Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
39 Buckingham Palace Road , London, SW1W 0PS
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace.
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace: the four-star Rubens at the Palace is a firm favourite with both business and leisure travellers, where guests are assured a warm welcome and a variety of specially designed room types including the Royal Wing and rooms for single female guests. The Palace Lounge and Cavalry bar are popular haunts for guests and locals alike, the panoramic views from the lounge sometimes affording a glimpse of passing pageantry from The Royal Mews, the working stables responsible for transporting the Queen and the Royal Family.

Rubens has a fine range of dining options, from our deluxe full English buffet breakfast with all the trimmings that we have become famous for, to The Old Masters Carvery with its succulent menu and daily roasts. Not forgetting the Library Restaurant, serving award-winning English and international cuisine or BBar, our South-African themed bar and restaurant – you are truly spoilt for choice when dining with Rubens.

We are just a few minutes’ walk from London Victoria Train and Tube Stations and the Royal Parks, the Rubens provides superb access to the whole of London. For guests that are driving, 24 hour parking facilities are available at the nearby NCP. The hotel is very proud to be rated as one of the highest four star London hotels by the AA.
Picture of Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
The hotel was lovely and had lots of character. Double rooms a little small but as expected

Reviewed by
Sue g

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Rubens stay
we were wowed by the hotel, and the staff are very attentive and cannot do enough for you. the bar had a nice atmosphere, and the breakfast was run like a well oiled machine. We would definitely visit this hotel again, thanks to the staff for making us so welcome.

Reviewed by
martin o

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for sightseers with a baby!
Whilst there was a mix up with the room initially (I booked a Classic room which one staff member told me would fit a travel cot - later we found out it wouldn't and we would have to upgrade but after a bit of toing and froing they offered to upgrade us for free) the entire stay was really easy. That is no mean feat for a couple with a 6 month old baby. The website states a long list of items they are happy to provide for baby and we asked (for free) for a bottle warmer and travel cot. We got all of that together with a baby essentials pack with a little sponge, wipes etc. plus a very sweet hotel robe and slippers to match the adult robes. Plus there were extras for the parents like little brownies! I've only given the quality of the room 3 out of 6 because one of the beds that made up the superking was badly sagging and basically broken. We would have normally complained and asked to move rooms but baby was already sound asleep. I'm sure they would have accommodated us but it was an uncomfortable sleep for my husband. The location was really great with a nice area for restaurants (Cardinal Walk) about 3 mins walk away plus a Mc D's in the same area if you, like us, didn't want to fork out for the in hotel breakfast.

Reviewed by
Kelly M

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubens
Had a lovely weekend at the Rubens. Staff were very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Sharon O

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night
We were offered an upgrade and we chose the second option and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely room ( 229 ) and very good breakfast. Good location near Buckingham Palace.

Reviewed by
Steve Hulburd

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Going to the Palace
We were staying overnight to attend an investiture at Buckingham Palace for which this hotel is very convenient being almost next door. Service was excellent, room was well equipped even down to the office bits and pieces in the drawer. We had a great welcome, helpful staff at all points, good food at dinner, breakfast and for a celebratory lunch next day. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Diana L

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A birthday Treat at Reubens.
Booked this hotel as a birthday gift for my wife to see Billy Elliot at the Victoria Palace Theatre. The hotel is in a great location just 5 mins walk to Buckingham Palace and 10 mins to the Theatre. Travel there via Victoria Station (2 mins away).
The Staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly and the lobby, bar and dining areas were plush and luxurious. Our room didn't quite match these standards being rather small and bland. However it was clean and we had no reason for complaint.
We booked our stay inc breakfast and this was superb. The choice at breakfast was comprehensive and the quality of the food was top drawer.
The one negative from our stay was the bar prices, which we felt were outrageous. A nightcap of a glass of rose wine and a lifeless pint costing a whopping £20.25. This aside we would recommend the Rubens as a great hotel in a great location.

Reviewed by
Kelly F

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London weekend
Very comfortable room, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Excellent location for touring london

Reviewed by
J LOGAN

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bob on his travels
Only minor suggestions re-room. Room lighting re bathroom (Room light needs to be on). Room lighting access only on one side of bed.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quality stay in London
I was only staying in London for 1 night so I wanted it to be a comfortable experience. Upon arrival at the hotel I was greeted by a very polite uniformed doorman who took my cases from the taxi into the hotel lobby. The reception staff were very cheerful and welcoming and booked me into my room quickly and efficiently. I stayed in a Classic Double which was very nicely appointed and air conditioned but it was, like many other London hotel rooms, a little on the small side. As I was travelling alone it was perfect for my needs but if I had a +1 it would have been a little cramped. A small desk was available with free broadband connection and free wifi was available throughout the hotel. I ordered room service in the evening, a Rubens Burger, which was very tasty and quickly delivered but unfortunately the burger and the fries were rather cold and the bun was soggy on the bottom where it ha been sat in condensation. The bed was very comfortable and warm. The restaurant for breakfast was again very stylish and comfortable. I was shown to my table very quickly by attentive, friendly staff. Breakfast was a very comprehensive buffet with quality food choices but again the cooked food was rather cold. The fried eggs were cooked to order in front of you which was a nice touch and meant that they weren't hanging around under hot lights going hard like other hotels. To sum up, the hotel is in a perfect position for business in Westminster or for tourism, it is clean, well appointed and has very friendly and helpful staff. Free broadband and wifi for the business user. The only let down was the food which although very tasty and good quality was rather cold on both occasions.

Reviewed by
A Freeman

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next