Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
39 Buckingham Palace Road , London, SW1W 0PS
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace.
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace: the four-star Rubens at the Palace is a firm favourite with both business and leisure travellers, where guests are assured a warm welcome and a variety of specially designed room types including the Royal Wing and rooms for single female guests. The Palace Lounge and Cavalry bar are popular haunts for guests and locals alike, the panoramic views from the lounge sometimes affording a glimpse of passing pageantry from The Royal Mews, the working stables responsible for transporting the Queen and the Royal Family.

Rubens has a fine range of dining options, from our deluxe full English buffet breakfast with all the trimmings that we have become famous for, to The Old Masters Carvery with its succulent menu and daily roasts. Not forgetting the Library Restaurant, serving award-winning English and international cuisine or BBar, our South-African themed bar and restaurant – you are truly spoilt for choice when dining with Rubens.

We are just a few minutes’ walk from London Victoria Train and Tube Stations and the Royal Parks, the Rubens provides superb access to the whole of London. For guests that are driving, 24 hour parking facilities are available at the nearby NCP. The hotel is very proud to be rated as one of the highest four star London hotels by the AA.
Picture of Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubens rooms need some TLC
Great location and the room was ok although a bit small. Less is more remove, some bulky furniture and repair the tired tiles in bathroom.

ManagementResponse

I was sorry to read that you felt that your bathroom is need of an update. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes of accommodation with varying styles of decor and furnishings. We also have a rolling refurbishment program for our bedrooms and have been working through an ongoing improvement scheme over the past few years. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Malcolm Hendry, General Manager

Reviewed by
Mark E

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel staff were very good room size a little small, the room was starting to look a little tired and the arms on the chair were both worn and had holes in.

ManagementResponse

I was sorry to read that you felt that your room was in need of an update. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes of accommodation with varying styles of decor and furnishings. We also have a rolling refurbishment program for our bedrooms and have been working through an ongoing improvement scheme over the past few years. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Malcolm Hendry, General Manager

Reviewed by
John Neeson

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two days in excellent location
Great hotel for business and pleasure. Just a short walk to Buckingham Palace or Westminster. Service is excellent, food is good, rooms are well furnished, a great London hotel.

Reviewed by
Charles C

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

E L-J Wrote on 20 Nov 13
We were welcomed in a courteous and professional manner. The staff were helpful and efficient at all times and the room was spotless and comfortable. Although it was a room overlooking a busy road the air conditioning was efficient and we had a very comfortable night's rest.

Reviewed by
E Lloyd-Jukes

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
I had a great stay at Rubens from start to finish. The staff are extremely friendly and we were greeted with the great news that as it was a special occasion, they made some special arrangements for us.
The staff were always accommodating and the Mary Queen of Scots Royal Room was just the type of luxury we were after.
Breakfast was lovely and we even had dinner at the carvers which was also very nice.
All in all, a great and memorable weekend and we will be sure to return.

Reviewed by
A Haldar

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Place for the Palace
A superb room in the Royal Wing - have not encountered a bathroom with two showers before! We both had a really good night's sleep in an extremely comfortable, extra large bed - and so the additional hour afforded by the clock going back was much appreciated... We were able to enjoy a leisurely, full breakfast in the attractive restaurant where the staff were most attentive to our needs, despite our arriving at the busiest time. All in all, the best of treats for my wife's birthday and a luxurious experience for us both.

Reviewed by
D Harty

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our rooms were fabulous on the 4th floor, so clean comfortable & spacious, Food was plentiful & of good quality service was excellent too.

Reviewed by
Alison G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Is this a four-star quality room?
Surprisingly small room cramped with furniture but no minibar, and when using the A/C the air smelled slightly moldy.
The bathroom was luxurius enough, though, and the hotel entrance, lobby, bar and restaurant had an aura of old-fashioned elegance.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Rubens. I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel bathrooms to be luxurious. However, I was sorry to learn that you did not like the room you were allocated. If anyone is not entirely satisfied with the room that they are allocated, my team are always more than happy to show alternative room options. Regarding your comment on the air-conditioning system that was a bit smelly, I can confirm that this was caused due to the unit not being used for a few days. I have conveyed your disappointment to my Chief Engineer, who has since personally serviced this particular air-conditioning unit in order to eliminate this issue. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rubens in person in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely, Malcolm Hendry, General Manager

Reviewed by
Ole B

From Norway
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too expensive for us.
The room was very expensive.

Reviewed by
John Spence

From Alford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at The Reuben's on Sat 7th Sept 2013
The room was certainly not the best in the hotel. The tv didn't work and the reception said they would send someone up. After half an hour an guy came up and said he was surprised the tv was so old! Not like the usual ones in the hotel. The room was very small but spotlessly clean. It was very hot however and I turned on the air conditioning which worked well but was extremely noisy and kept me awake all night. Breakfast was lovely as were the staff. I told reception when I checked out since they asked when I checked out and she said she would make sure I got a better room next time.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Rubens at the Palace. I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you found my team to be very friendly and helpful. However, I was sorry to learn that you did not like the room you were allocated. If anyone is not entirely satisfied with the room that they are allocated, my team are always more than happy to show alternative room options, and we do try and find this out with our courtesy calls made to guests shortly after check-in. I am sorry that we did not establish this in your case. It is also disappointing to hear that your stay was disrupted by noise from our air-conditioning system. We do continuously spend time and money ensuring that our entire plantwork run with as minimal noise as is possible, and I have conveyed your disappointment to my Chief Engineer, who has since personally serviced this particular air-conditioning unit in order to eliminate this issue. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. With regards your comment on the television set not being very modern, I am delighted to inform you that we are about to replace all our televisions with more modern sets, and this project should be completed by the end of the month. I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rubens in person in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely, Malcolm Hendry, General Manager

Reviewed by
Helen A

From Alderney, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next