Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
39 Buckingham Palace Road , London, SW1W 0PS
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace.
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace: the four-star Rubens at the Palace is a firm favourite with both business and leisure travellers, where guests are assured a warm welcome and a variety of specially designed room types including the Royal Wing and rooms for single female guests. The Palace Lounge and Cavalry bar are popular haunts for guests and locals alike, the panoramic views from the lounge sometimes affording a glimpse of passing pageantry from The Royal Mews, the working stables responsible for transporting the Queen and the Royal Family.

Rubens has a fine range of dining options, from our deluxe full English buffet breakfast with all the trimmings that we have become famous for, to The Old Masters Carvery with its succulent menu and daily roasts. Not forgetting the Library Restaurant, serving award-winning English and international cuisine or BBar, our South-African themed bar and restaurant – you are truly spoilt for choice when dining with Rubens.

We are just a few minutes’ walk from London Victoria Train and Tube Stations and the Royal Parks, the Rubens provides superb access to the whole of London. For guests that are driving, 24 hour parking facilities are available at the nearby NCP. The hotel is very proud to be rated as one of the highest four star London hotels by the AA.
Picture of Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A different experience
We stayed at the Rubens for a couple of days and found it truly charming. From the moment we steeped through the doors to the moment we left the service and ambience was of the highest standard. The staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful. The room was quaint, not the biggest but still lovely. Breakfast was outstanding as was the scenery.
We loved seeing the comings and goings of the Royals outside and even saw a corgi.
We would definitely return.

Reviewed by
C Mulqueen

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Calm oasis
Felt like sanctuary from hustle & bustle of Victoria. Very pleasant & attentive staff.

Reviewed by
Jan L

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity Rubens wasn't British
Excellent facilities.
Bar a tad expensive but I suppose that's London. Good company at Bar though.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Rubens Experience
An excellent yesteryear experience in great quality surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was in tip top condition. Bed linen was changed daily and there was an evening turn down service on request. The breakfast was a leisurely experience with a substantial menu and the Library Restaurant was quiet and comfortable with an excellent menu and well presented quality food.
The Concierge and Doormen sorted everything from bus routes to taxis and the transfer of luggage.

Reviewed by
James Brunt

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubens rooms need some TLC
Great location and the room was ok although a bit small. Less is more remove, some bulky furniture and repair the tired tiles in bathroom.

ManagementResponse

I was sorry to read that you felt that your bathroom is need of an update. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes of accommodation with varying styles of decor and furnishings. We also have a rolling refurbishment program for our bedrooms and have been working through an ongoing improvement scheme over the past few years. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Malcolm Hendry, General Manager

Reviewed by
Mark E

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel staff were very good room size a little small, the room was starting to look a little tired and the arms on the chair were both worn and had holes in.

ManagementResponse

I was sorry to read that you felt that your room was in need of an update. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes of accommodation with varying styles of decor and furnishings. We also have a rolling refurbishment program for our bedrooms and have been working through an ongoing improvement scheme over the past few years. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Malcolm Hendry, General Manager

Reviewed by
John Neeson

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two days in excellent location
Great hotel for business and pleasure. Just a short walk to Buckingham Palace or Westminster. Service is excellent, food is good, rooms are well furnished, a great London hotel.

Reviewed by
Charles C

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

E L-J Wrote on 20 Nov 13
We were welcomed in a courteous and professional manner. The staff were helpful and efficient at all times and the room was spotless and comfortable. Although it was a room overlooking a busy road the air conditioning was efficient and we had a very comfortable night's rest.

Reviewed by
E Lloyd-Jukes

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
I had a great stay at Rubens from start to finish. The staff are extremely friendly and we were greeted with the great news that as it was a special occasion, they made some special arrangements for us.
The staff were always accommodating and the Mary Queen of Scots Royal Room was just the type of luxury we were after.
Breakfast was lovely and we even had dinner at the carvers which was also very nice.
All in all, a great and memorable weekend and we will be sure to return.

Reviewed by
A Haldar

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Place for the Palace
A superb room in the Royal Wing - have not encountered a bathroom with two showers before! We both had a really good night's sleep in an extremely comfortable, extra large bed - and so the additional hour afforded by the clock going back was much appreciated... We were able to enjoy a leisurely, full breakfast in the attractive restaurant where the staff were most attentive to our needs, despite our arriving at the busiest time. All in all, the best of treats for my wife's birthday and a luxurious experience for us both.

Reviewed by
D Harty

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next