Reviews - Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel


39 Buckingham Palace Road, London, SW1W 0PS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (39)

95% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kelly F

  • December 2014

A birthday Treat at Reubens.

Booked this hotel as a birthday gift for my wife to see Billy Elliot at the Victoria Palace Theatre.

The hotel is in a great location just 5 mins walk to Buckingham Palace and 10 mins to the Theatre. Travel there via Victoria Station (2 mins away). The Staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly and the lobby, bar and dining areas were plush and luxurious. Our room didn't quite match these standards being rather small and bland. However it was clean and we had no reason for complaint. We booked our stay inc breakfast and this was superb. The choice at breakfast was comprehensive and the quality of the food was top drawer. The one negative from our stay was the bar prices, which we felt were outrageous. A nightcap of a glass of rose wine and a lifeless pint costing a whopping £20.25. This aside we would recommend the Rubens as a great hotel in a great location.

  • Robert M

  • December 2014

Bob on his travels

Only minor suggestions re-room.

Room lighting re bathroom (Room light needs to be on). Room lighting access only on one side of bed.


  • December 2014

London weekend

Very comfortable room, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Excellent location for touring london

  • A Freeman

  • November 2014

A quality stay in London

I was only staying in London for 1 night so I wanted it to be a comfortable experience.

Upon arrival at the hotel I was greeted by a very polite uniformed doorman who took my cases from the taxi into the hotel lobby. The reception staff were very cheerful and welcoming and booked me into my room quickly and efficiently. I stayed in a Classic Double which was very nicely appointed and air conditioned but it was, like many other London hotel rooms, a little on the small side. As I was travelling alone it was perfect for my needs but if I had a +1 it would have been a little cramped. A small desk was available with free broadband connection and free wifi was available throughout the hotel. I ordered room service in the evening, a Rubens Burger, which was very tasty and quickly delivered but unfortunately the burger and the fries were rather cold and the bun was soggy on the bottom where it ha been sat in condensation. The bed was very comfortable and warm. The restaurant for breakfast was again very stylish and comfortable. I was shown to my table very quickly by attentive, friendly staff. Breakfast was a very comprehensive buffet with quality food choices but again the cooked food was rather cold. The fried eggs were cooked to order in front of you which was a nice touch and meant that they weren't hanging around under hot lights going hard like other hotels. To sum up, the hotel is in a perfect position for business in Westminster or for tourism, it is clean, well appointed and has very friendly and helpful staff. Free broadband and wifi for the business user. The only let down was the food which although very tasty and good quality was rather cold on both occasions.

  • Graham M

  • November 2014

Spontaneous stay

Lovely room and breakfast.

Would stay again.

  • p hinman

  • September 2014


The room was beautiful and made us feel special and honoured to be there.

  • Neil K

  • September 2014


Room was very small and very brown.

Wall covering exactly the same as bedcover. Arms of chair under dressing table were badly worn and frayed. On checking out £1.00 had been added to our bill for some charity which we agreed to pay as didn't want to appear churlish but seems a bit of a cheek to impose this on guests already paying £299.00 per night for room only, no breakfast. Definitely not good value for money, even with a view of the back of Buckingham Palace!

  • Donna M

  • August 2014


A fantastic experience, we were made to feel very special,went to the ritz much prefered the ruben at the palace.

Great experience, friendly staff, great cocktails.couldn't have asked for more.

  • J Taylor

  • August 2014


Reasonable location.

Had a room on the fourth floor near to the lift mechanism that ran all night - rather like sleeping in a tube station. Also had had a blue light illuminating teh lavatory whicj I couldnt find a switch to turn off - very curious. Not an idea meeting area for informal business appointments. Wifi in room didnt connect either.

  • Emily L

  • July 2014

Wonderful stay!

Our room was beautifully decorated with everything you could wish for, very clean too.

Breakfast was exceptional with lots of choice and great service. staff extremely friendly and helpful...already booking again to return in September.