Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
39 Buckingham Palace Road , London, SW1W 0PS
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace.
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace: the four-star Rubens at the Palace is a firm favourite with both business and leisure travellers, where guests are assured a warm welcome and a variety of specially designed room types including the Royal Wing and rooms for single female guests. The Palace Lounge and Cavalry bar are popular haunts for guests and locals alike, the panoramic views from the lounge sometimes affording a glimpse of passing pageantry from The Royal Mews, the working stables responsible for transporting the Queen and the Royal Family.

Rubens has a fine range of dining options, from our deluxe full English buffet breakfast with all the trimmings that we have become famous for, to The Old Masters Carvery with its succulent menu and daily roasts. Not forgetting the Library Restaurant, serving award-winning English and international cuisine or BBar, our South-African themed bar and restaurant – you are truly spoilt for choice when dining with Rubens.

We are just a few minutes’ walk from London Victoria Train and Tube Stations and the Royal Parks, the Rubens provides superb access to the whole of London. For guests that are driving, 24 hour parking facilities are available at the nearby NCP. The hotel is very proud to be rated as one of the highest four star London hotels by the AA.
Picture of Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night in May
All of the staff are very attentive whether the doorman, reception or waiters.
The room was comfortable and well equipped.
The bathroom was fine.

Reviewed by
Jill E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful both at reception and the carvery

Reviewed by
C Brine

From Aldershot, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, really enjoyed our stay at the Ruben Palace Hotel.
Shame there was no mini bar in our room.

Reviewed by
stacey baldry

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
Great stay at the Rubens Hotel staff were excellent great experience helped us have agreat weekend.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel.ko
Had an excellent few nights away thanks to the rubens hotel. The staff were all very friendly. Our room was lovely and the breakfast and service was great. Was made to feel very welcome. We would definately love to visit the rubens again. Excellent location.

Reviewed by
G Edwards

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A WONDERFUL stay. Service superb.
We went for afternoon tea (with champagne) one afternoon and left our other (booked and paid for hotel) the next day to stay at the Rubens. To us it was worth moving (having paid for the other hotel) to come to the Rubens. My wife and I had a wonderful time. The staff were great, courteous, attentive and yet tactful. We had a room service "snack" that was enough for both of us and breakfast was perfect. Needless to say, the afternoon tea was one of the best we'd ever had - and my wife is an expert ! We hope to return very soon.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your kind review and for taking the time to let me know that you had such a wonderful time during your recent stay at The Rubens. I am thrilled to hear that my team made you feel so welcome and that you felt enjoyed your Afternoon Tea! My team were ever so happy to hear your comments when I passed these on to them. I cannot thank you enough for the support you have shown us by posting a review of your stay on Laterooms. This really is much appreciated. My team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager

Reviewed by
Martin Gomez

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A different experience
We stayed at the Rubens for a couple of days and found it truly charming. From the moment we steeped through the doors to the moment we left the service and ambience was of the highest standard. The staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful. The room was quaint, not the biggest but still lovely. Breakfast was outstanding as was the scenery.
We loved seeing the comings and goings of the Royals outside and even saw a corgi.
We would definitely return.

Reviewed by
C Mulqueen

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Calm oasis
Felt like sanctuary from hustle & bustle of Victoria. Very pleasant & attentive staff.

Reviewed by
Jan L

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity Rubens wasn't British
Excellent facilities.
Bar a tad expensive but I suppose that's London. Good company at Bar though.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Rubens Experience
An excellent yesteryear experience in great quality surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was in tip top condition. Bed linen was changed daily and there was an evening turn down service on request. The breakfast was a leisurely experience with a substantial menu and the Library Restaurant was quiet and comfortable with an excellent menu and well presented quality food.
The Concierge and Doormen sorted everything from bus routes to taxis and the transfer of luggage.

Reviewed by
James Brunt

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next