No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
36 New Dover Road, Canterbury, CT1 3DU
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel has offered unique Kentish character to guests since 1927. Its Gothic style building dates back to the 1830s, and ensures all who visit return home with a few Canterbury tales of their own! Today, the hotel is ideal for those seeking the 'picturesque' and the 'personality' that Britain is famed for, with tasteful-yet-traditional refurbishment in recent years only adding to its appeal. Tranquil gardens mean there's as much peace and quiet to be found outside as there is within our 19th Century walls, and you'll find all the comforts and amenities of a first class modern hotel at every turn. The hotel has free onsite parking and is just five minutes' walk from the County Cricket Ground should you want to be bowled over by the tradition and intrigue of the 'Gentleman's Game'. Please note that the hotel currently has a new Leisure Facility under development.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We thought the hotel was lovely, room great, very clean and comfortable. We had a snack in the bar (toasted sandwich) and apart from it being only luke warm it was lovely. Staff very helpful and friendly. We would thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
K Howard

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Exprience at the hotel
THE room was a good size, very neat and tidy with a lovely shower but the location of the room was not good, The view was the heating and cooling system which did not go off until after 10.00pm and came on at 8.00am, there was no option of a change of rooms.
Breakfast was not include.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value accomodation
Good location and walking distance to Cantebury town centre. Friendly staff and room was great value.

Reviewed by
C Brennan

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
We had such a nice time at Canterbury. The hotel was 10 minutes away from the high street. We were very satisfaid with the staff. The room was perfect. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Z Csakvari

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome with good service
We were delighted with the accommodation at this dog friendly hotel which provides a bed for the dog. Room was comfortable and clean, staff helpful and friendly . food and room service good
Will use again when visiting Canterbury.

Reviewed by
Bob M

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow!
I was very impressed upon arrival at hotel and this continued throughout my entire stay. The receptionist who booked me in was very friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Reviewed by
D Omar

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog friendly Hotel
A very nice hotel close to the city center. The staff were very accomadating and friendly and also very friendly to our two Newfoundlands.

Reviewed by
R Wilson

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Experience
Lovely hotel. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
P Dart

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort and convenience in a well-equipped hotel. A good, professional welcome and friendly, attentive service throughout, from Reception to restaurant. Minor issues: the hotel is over-heated - turn down the radiators in the corridors! The bedroom door-closers are too strong and can cause disturbance to neighbouring rooms as the doors shut. Internal signage should also be improved, e.g. directions to the restaurant, lounge and bar areas, and to Reception from upstairs. A good place to stay; recommended.

Reviewed by
Malcolm G

From Edinburgh, Scotland
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Could'nt fault the stay.

Reviewed by
Justin D

From Fareham, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next