No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
53 Piccadilly , York, YO1 9PL
Hotel 53 is a modern hotel in York city centre, within the historic city centre walls. It has free Wi-Fi, a restaurant and cocktail bar and stylish rooms with flat screen TVs.

The modern rooms have hairdryers, tea/coffee-making facilities and walk-in power showers with complimentary toiletries. Disabled rooms and double rooms with twin beds are available on request. Double rooms also have a sofa bed to accommodate up to 2 children up to the age of 12 years.

Hotel 53 is less than 2 miles (3.2km) from York Racecourse and less than a mile (1.6km) from York Rail Station. The major attractions are a short walk away. Limited on-site parking is available at an additional charge.

The restaurant at Hotel 53 will no longer be opening on Saturday & Sunday evenings for dinner service. However, the restaurant will remain open Mon-Fri from the newly amended time of 18:30 - 21:00 (last orders). Please note that the restaurant will be closed on New Years Eve.

On arrival, a credit/debit card pre-authorisation is required to cover any incidentals or extra charges
Picture of Hotel 53 York City Centre, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 246 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved our stay here, staff were very helpful and willing to be of service. At one point we were caught in the rain and when we arrived back, the staff had towels ready for us at Reception.

Reviewed by
G McGregor

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

parking is on a first come first served basis, so be prepared to park in either the car park opposite or on a meter on the road.Definatly close to sights, easy to get to.

Reviewed by
s mepham

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel 53 top marks.
2nd visit , very happy, highly recommended. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
Staff are very friendly and are full of knowledge about York and where the best places are to visit. Thank you for making our mini break Great.

Reviewed by
Natalie jayne O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

anniversary weekend
Fantastic hotel. 5 mins from centre. Very clean room and breakfast was gorgeous. Can't wait to visit again.

Reviewed by
G Gleeson

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A modern and clean hotel with friendly staff but parking is expensive at £10 a day!

Reviewed by
F Dawes

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
The staff were very efficient and friendly. The hotel was clean, modern and very attractive. Our stay would have been made perfect with air-conditioning. I would come back but only in the winter months.

Reviewed by
elaine H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but not really for families
The customer service, quality of room and value for money aspects of the hotel were all very good. However the breakfast wasn't great and the family room we got not really suitable as it was too cluttered, noisy and far too hot ( we had to get two fans)

Reviewed by
J Jones

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location - Modern & Clean
Great location within the walls, east to get to and has limited parking availability at a reasonable price so good to reserve a space.
Nice clean modern hotel, no complaints.

Reviewed by
PAUL BASHAM

From Harwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Hotel and room was clean, our room 117 was near the front of the hotel which because of the nice weather the window was open, so from the noise of passing traffic and people leaving nearby pubs led to a vey broken nights sleep. When asked by the receptionist on how I found my stay, her reply to my comments was " that's what happens when you stay in the centre of town" not the answer I expected, so no I will not return.

Reviewed by
William M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next