No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
53 Piccadilly , York, YO1 9PL
Hotel 53 is a modern hotel in York city centre, within the historic city centre walls. It has free Wi-Fi, a restaurant and cocktail bar and stylish rooms with flat screen TVs.

The modern rooms have hairdryers, tea/coffee-making facilities and walk-in power showers with complimentary toiletries. Disabled rooms and double rooms with twin beds are available on request. Double rooms also have a sofa bed to accommodate up to 2 children up to the age of 12 years.

Hotel 53 is less than 2 miles (3.2km) from York Racecourse and less than a mile (1.6km) from York Rail Station. The major attractions are a short walk away. Limited on-site parking is available at an additional charge.

The restaurant at Hotel 53 will no longer be opening on Saturday & Sunday evenings for dinner service. However, the restaurant will remain open Mon-Fri from the newly amended time of 18:30 - 21:00 (last orders). Please note that the restaurant will be closed on New Years Eve.

On arrival, a credit/debit card pre-authorisation is required to cover any incidentals or extra charges
Picture of Hotel 53 York City Centre, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 212 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good customer service, very yummy breakfast, room ok but could have been a bit bigger
Room was clean but not too spacious for a family of 4

Reviewed by
Giuliana J

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Stayed here for New Years with my girlfriend and we had never been to York before. We never realised what a great location the hotel was in as it was 3 minute walk into the main shopping centre. I'd definitely stay here again and i think I will be in the near future. Great room also very big bed which was great for a wriggly sleeper like myself lol.

Reviewed by
Shane Green

From Cleator Moor, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking and window
The hotel was clean and of a good standard, shower excellent. Parking is extra and on a "first come first served" basis so not sure what happens when there is no room in this car park. It cost an extra £10.00 which is an added expense. The staff were very helpful and efficient. My only complaint was the windows which allowed noise in from outside and disturbed me on a few occasions, the window blinds were damaged and allowed light through. In spite of this it is a good hotel that I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Anne M

From Tadcaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Post Christmas Break
Hotel is nice but rooms are more basic than Travelodge over the road. Had no storage space apart from a few coat hangers on a rack and when you are using the sofa as a bed really removes any storage at all. On another note my partner found a what looked like blood stained under sheet on the bed which she put a towel over. If the price for this hotel was at 100+ would not stay at that amount.

Reviewed by
G Stones

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab city hotel
Lovely rooms with lovely beds great value and close to city centre. Informative staff and car parking close by.

Reviewed by
Beth L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy to recommend
I Stayed at hotel 53 for one night while meeting up with friends in York, it has an extremely handy location for all the city centre attractions. The room was well maintained and very clean, the lobby and bar area were well presented and also very clean the only area that I saw that was not meticulously maintained were the stairwells that had marks and stains on the carpets and walls but if this deters you I doubt any hotel will satisfy.
Finally I would like thank and praise the staff who were excellent, I was warmly greeted and bid farewell by the reception but maybe slightly more surprisingly I was greeted with the same welcome and warmth when I returned in the early hours.

Reviewed by
M Turton

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean tidy room and had a very comfortable stay, well worth another visit

Reviewed by
G Gratton

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay.
Room was quiet and relaxing, my Daughter and I had nice few days shopping on our visit.

Reviewed by
J Pickard

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel 53 and the workman's club behind it.
Hotel was ok nothing special expected more for the price. Paid for a double room got 2 single beds pushed together.
The biggest let down was the noise from the workman's club behind karaoke until after 12 o'clock. Wouldn't. Stay in this hotel again

Reviewed by
C richardson-moon

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York nightout
Lovely hotel, great location & very friendly staff, around very nice hotel.

Reviewed by
G Barker

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next