No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
53 Piccadilly , York, YO1 9PL
Hotel 53 is a modern hotel in York city centre, within the historic city centre walls. It has free Wi-Fi, a restaurant and cocktail bar and stylish rooms with flat screen TVs.

The modern rooms have hairdryers, tea/coffee-making facilities and walk-in power showers with complimentary toiletries. Disabled rooms and double rooms with twin beds are available on request. Double rooms also have a sofa bed to accommodate up to 2 children up to the age of 12 years.

Hotel 53 is less than 2 miles (3.2km) from York Racecourse and less than a mile (1.6km) from York Rail Station. The major attractions are a short walk away. Limited on-site parking is available at an additional charge.

The restaurant at Hotel 53 will no longer be opening on Saturday & Sunday evenings for dinner service. However, the restaurant will remain open Mon-Fri from the newly amended time of 18:30 - 21:00 (last orders). Please note that the restaurant will be closed on New Years Eve.

On arrival, a credit/debit card pre-authorisation is required to cover any incidentals or extra charges
Picture of Hotel 53 York City Centre, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 248 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location
Close to city centre and all attractions. Rooms were decent size, however there were empty glasses under the main double bed and the kids came accross cosmetics in their sofa bed from previous occupants. There is Hotel parking available accross the street, at a cost of £10 per night.

Reviewed by
D Brown

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Having read some reviews for Hotel 53 I think they must have been staying in a different place! Our room was exceptionally comfortable with a huge bed that we didn't want to get out of. It's a short walk to the main shopping and market area, although it's a bit too far to walk for the station in my opinion, but a taxi was only £6.
There is a wetherspoons directly opposite the hotel so if you don't fancy eating in the hotel or going into town then this is a good option.
All in all a great 2 night stay and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Harris

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel 53
Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. Good location within the city. Staff were excellent very friendly polite and professional. We would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
e huckle

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern, clean and comfortable room
The title says it all. The room was modern, clean and comfortable.
Porbably a little pricey for a room only though. Checking in and out was quick and efficient.

Reviewed by
G HADEN

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate
Room was clean and comfortable but as there was no air conditioning it was humid, but fans are available.
Reception staff were very polite and helpful.
Well situated for walking to see York attractions.

Reviewed by
s moore

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Further to walk than Ithought
It was fairly easy to find by car. Car park opposite hotel. The room itself was fairly small.i did not like the no bedside table thing. Probably a little too far out for us as walking into centre we went down same route each time which. Became a little boring.

Reviewed by
june f

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably better than fine!
All the basics were more than covered at Hotel 53. I only stayed one night, but the room was fine, clean, and had everything you could want. I liked the decor style and I had a really good night's sleep. I was on the top floor and it was very quiet other than there was an adjoining door (locked at the time!) to the next room, and I could hear voices and snoring from there! Also the TV signal was weak and kept cutting out, or the sound going off, which when you are in a hotel room n your own is a bit rubbish!
I only ate breakfast there, and it was quite limited. I am veggie and usually get plenty of breakfast in a hotel without any special ordering and fussing, but my hot options were limited to eggs and mushrooms which I thought a bit poor. It aint a full English without the tomatoes!
The hotel was slightly further out of town than I expected along a road that felt slightly dodgy for walking alone at night. But it was within the walls with very nearby access so great in the daylight even for a quick explore which is great if you aren't a tourist with time to spare but still hope to see something of the city!
I would stay again on a good deal, but wouldn't return specially. All the staff were very nice and helpful. There is only one lift though, which is squashed and slow. Better signposting to the stairs for those of us happy to use them would solve several problems at once!

Reviewed by
Julie L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as a Premier Inn. Bed ROCK hard and poor nights sleep.
I have never complained about a hard bed in a hotel before. They came up and put a duvet under the sheet to soften. Room very basic. No bedside table for cup of tea and book. Breakfast poor value. Use local cafe instead. Felt mislead when alpharooms said rate £225 discounted to £85. Had it been room rate £50 would not have been negative and blamed myself for being a cheapskate but I was expecting £225 standard and got £50 standard for £85 cost. Glad it was 1 night only. I rarely use premier Inn but think they are at least honest and offer value.

Reviewed by
S Freeman

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
I had high hopes for this hotel given it's appearance but don't be fooled by the cover!
The room was a worse standard than a Premier Inn even though Hotel 53 gives this high quality image. Not only was the room cramped, the bathroom had fixtures loose or poorly maintained. My room door also was not lockable as it was broken and had tape placed over it...... nothing major but you expect better given the premium price.

Reviewed by
J D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved our stay here, staff were very helpful and willing to be of service. At one point we were caught in the rain and when we arrived back, the staff had towels ready for us at Reception.

Reviewed by
G McGregor

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next