Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre


53 Piccadilly, York, YO1 9PL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (128)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • angela f

  • November 2015

Great shower!

Very nice room.

Shower was amazing and parking just over the road for an extra £10 a day which I thought was good value for central york. Rather costly however, but everywhere seemed to be in york.

  • William D

  • November 2015

Hotels are expensive in York

This hotel is ideally situated to access the centre of York.

We found the staff very helpful & the hotel very clean (lovely smell of new carpets throughout). The room had a good size bed, a modern bathroom (no bath) & was well arranged. My only two whinges would be the pillars & the fact that our room was situated by the air conditioning/heater system which sounded like an aeroplane taking off around 5.30 in the morning which is a real shame because other than that the hotel was quiet & we had been undisturbed throughout the saturday night. I can't say it was value for money but all hotels in York seem expensive.

  • James Tyas

  • October 2015

Pleasent stay

Nice and clean.

  • Nick D

  • September 2015

Hotel 53 scores 100%

Excellent service, fantastic room, great location.


  • Amy G

  • September 2015

My Stay at hotel 53

Hotel 53 was a nice hotel, was very handy didn't take long to Walk into York City centre.

I was a bit disappointed with the noice in the morning the workers were outside laughing and banging trolleys around, which I didn't like, and I when I checked out no one said thankyou or asked did i enjoy my stay.

  • paige wall

  • August 2015

Loved it!

This hotel was everything we wanted.

The staff were so kind and helpful and very welcoming. The room and all other areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean. The room itself was a lovely room although a funny shape which made any tv watching at night a bit awkward. Would have been better to have the tv mounted on the wall. It was 5 minutes walk from all the shops and restaurants bars and pubs but just far enough away to still be quiet at night times. Overall we were VERY pleased with the room and hotel and would definitely stay here again if in the city.

  • Jolene D

  • July 2015

Expected more for the money

The room was small, the bed just about fit both of us on it.

We could hear fighting outside that went on for ages in the early hours, but I guess that is to be expected from being in the city centre.

The rooms were hot and stuffy even with the windows open, no air con which would have been ideal on one of the hottest days in the UK so far this year.

For £160 (one night, double bed not including breakfast) I expected so much more. It did the job but we won't be back to this hotel again I'm afraid.

  • Claire W

  • June 2015

Saturday Night in York

Very stylish, very clean and very comfortable room overlooking trees in a quiet location, but handy for centre of York.

Customer service was excellent - we were made very welcome. Linens were superb - fluffy white towels, and ultra clean white cotton bed linen. It was a bit expensive for our usual budget, but we had booked at nearly last minute and other accommodation was not available. I was not disappointed. Felt that at the price, however, breakfast could have been included - though it did not affect us as we had a Sunday brunch date out. My only criticism of the room is very, very minor - there was nowhere to hang the hand towels near the basin, but there were hooks by the shower for bath towels.

  • Angelika S

  • May 2015

comfortable and very close to the city center

The room was very comfortable with coffee & tea and a lot of towels.

It was also very clean. The service was very friendly and you just walk a few minutes right into the Center. Perfect place to visit York.

  • R Gratton

  • April 2015

Great Location

Excellent hotel & great location.

Parking bang opposite hotel easy access. Very easy to park pay at the hotel. Will definitely stay here again.