No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
53 Piccadilly , York, YO1 9PL
Hotel 53 is a modern hotel in York city centre, within the historic city centre walls. It has free Wi-Fi, a restaurant and cocktail bar and stylish rooms with flat screen TVs.

The modern rooms have hairdryers, tea/coffee-making facilities and walk-in power showers with complimentary toiletries. Disabled rooms and double rooms with twin beds are available on request. Double rooms also have a sofa bed to accommodate up to 2 children up to the age of 12 years.

Hotel 53 is less than 2 miles (3.2km) from York Racecourse and less than a mile (1.6km) from York Rail Station. The major attractions are a short walk away. Limited on-site parking is available at an additional charge.

The restaurant at Hotel 53 will no longer be opening on Saturday & Sunday evenings for dinner service. However, the restaurant will remain open Mon-Fri from the newly amended time of 18:30 - 21:00 (last orders). Please note that the restaurant will be closed on New Years Eve.

On arrival, a credit/debit card pre-authorisation is required to cover any incidentals or extra charges
Picture of Hotel 53 York City Centre, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 241 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!!!

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in york
Ideal situation for sightseeing in York only 5 minutes from center.

Reviewed by
John McAndrew

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not the same as the pictures
The bathroom isn't as nice as in the photos I saw online. The room lacked air conditioning and so the room was unbearably warm. I've paid less for hotels which have had way more features.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spot on
Very impressive location, short walk to the centre, good standard of facilities and extras.

Reviewed by
Philip e

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic Break Wonderful
Booked Hotel 53 for first wedding anniversary. Loved the hotel close to centre of York. Stopped in room 515 was spacious had king size soft bed huge walk in shower. Leather sofa. Was modern and very clean breakfast was special had enough choice for everyone. Only downfall is that I didnt stay longer.

Reviewed by
Nicola Mason

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful location.
Great location... With parking!!
Staff really friendly & helpful

Reviewed by
j morris

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent choice
This is a modern, efficient hotel within easy strolling distance of the town centre. The staff were smart, helpfull and friendly and everything worked as you would want it to. The room was spacious and comfortable and a very pleasant surprise as we walked in on arrival as the price we paid was very competitive. I do think the hotel would benefit from air conditioning as the room and hallways were very warm/stuffy and the windows do not open to a great extent. However it was mid-June and this was the only niggle we had as we enjoyed our stay immensely and would not hesitate to book again.

Reviewed by
brian Thomas

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Nice clean hotel, with friendly & helpful staff. The only thing that let's it down is that there's no aircon in the rooms. While they did provide us a fan, when we asked for it (it wasn't advertised anywhere that you could get one), it wasn't exactly the quietest , which meant you couldn't have it on and sleep at the same time.

Reviewed by
Simon Watkins

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stay
Very nice clean room, bathroom spotless, bed very comfortable. Our friends enjoyed it also.

Reviewed by
june ann h

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel 53 York
Good service overall and a nice comfortable room, very happy with my stay and will probably be coming back in the future.

Reviewed by
Craig C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next