No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
53 Piccadilly , York, YO1 9PL
Hotel 53 is a modern hotel in York city centre, within the historic city centre walls. It has free Wi-Fi, a restaurant and cocktail bar and stylish rooms with flat screen TVs.

The modern rooms have hairdryers, tea/coffee-making facilities and walk-in power showers with complimentary toiletries. Disabled rooms and double rooms with twin beds are available on request. Double rooms also have a sofa bed to accommodate up to 2 children up to the age of 12 years.

Hotel 53 is less than 2 miles (3.2km) from York Racecourse and less than a mile (1.6km) from York Rail Station. The major attractions are a short walk away. Limited on-site parking is available at an additional charge.

The restaurant at Hotel 53 will no longer be opening on Saturday & Sunday evenings for dinner service. However, the restaurant will remain open Mon-Fri from the newly amended time of 18:30 - 21:00 (last orders). Please note that the restaurant will be closed on New Years Eve.

On arrival, a credit/debit card pre-authorisation is required to cover any incidentals or extra charges
Picture of Hotel 53 York City Centre, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 239 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding and half term recovery holiday
We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel 53 York. Made all the more memorable by staff who went out of their way to give excellent service which made our stay all the more enjoyable
Perhaps you could put a picture on the bedroom wall to make the room look less bland and corporate.
We would recommend the hotel with out hesitation.

Reviewed by
David Bush

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good stay
We stayed one night, the staff were very friendly and helpful the room was comfortable. The only downside was the noise from outside through the night.
We will definitely stay here again despite the noise (ear plugs one thinks) 💤💤💤

Reviewed by
derek c

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I expected a bigger room for a "family room", this was just quite a small double room with a sofa bed. There was very little space left in the room once the sofa bed was pulled out. There was no wardrobe, just some hangers on a rail by the door. But it was clean and had a nice shower (no bath).

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel 53
Excellent staff service and the room was excellent for a romantic get away

Reviewed by
M Aiken

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Everything great except one minor niggle - having paid for a late checkout my room key was still deactivated before my arranged checkout and no apology offered when I had to trail back down to reception to have it reactivated. A little thing but still a bit disappointing.

Reviewed by
Hazel C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Receptionists was very friendly and very helpful on our arrival, pointed us out with regarding local attractions to visit. Hotel room was very clean and tidy, and all appliances in the room was working, the recrptipn and bar area was clean and tidy, the hotel was sited just a couple of minutes walk away from York centre. The food was of a high standard. The only down side to our 2 night stay, was that the hotel was having some decorating done, during our stay, we wasn't informed of this when we checked in, as my partner suffers from ashma, when asked if we could change floors, all other rooms was full, so we had to sleep with our window slightly open, not ideal on a cold February night, apart from that the overall stay was great, and would recommend this place to stay.

Reviewed by
j parkin

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel 53
The Hotel is very close to all the amenities.
Excellent location.
Very modern and clean.
Very friendly staff and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
c t

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hi very nice welcome from the staff , do think parking should be free when staying at any hotel . Very clean nice fresh towels , near city centre . We enjoyed r stay and will deff. Be booking here again x

Reviewed by
heaps h

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
We stayed in this hotel for our anniversary and were pleasantly surprised, given that it was the cheapest centrally located option for us in its rating. The hotel is very modern and we found all the staff to be very friendly. The only comment I would make is that better care could be taken with the cleaning, by no means was it dirty or neglected but I noticed coverings of dust in several areas, that admittedly wouldn't be the most obvious if doing a 'quick polish' but in a hotel I wouldn't really expect to see this.
We very much I enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to visit again. The location is also good and the centre of york is just a short walk away.

Reviewed by
Sam F

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in york for my birthday. Will definitely return to this hotel. Was good value for money, comfortable and close to the centre.
My only knock was that we couldn't order room service despite it being a friday. That said they did offer take away menu's.
Nice hotel. friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Tracy D

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next