You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre


53 Piccadilly, York, YO1 9PL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (67)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • bernadette c

  • March 2015

View of Dick Turpin's Grave

This is a great wee hotel just 4 minutes walk from York Centre.

Our bed was smallish, but the room was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend. It is within easy reach of everything you'd want to see in York. We searched for Dick Turpin's grave on our first day in York and were amused when we discovered that it had been visible from our Hotel 53 room window all along. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Nicola M

  • February 2015

Great modern hotel

We stayed for one night in a family room.

Nice modern hotel, close to city centre. Parking just over the road. All round a nice hotel. Would stay again.

  • Owen M

  • February 2015

A good hotel in a convenient location

The hotel was good overall with friendly and helpful reception staff and is located really well for getting into York and visiting the main attractions, though the street it is on seems a little run down compared to other areas of the City.

We got a last minute deal on the room rate making it very reasonable. The rooms are a little small and lacked some finishing touches, for example metal blinds instead of curtains, but the rooms were comfortable. The bathroom seemed to be fitted recently and had everything you needed. The room was a little noisy from passing traffic and the alleyway beside the hotel in the morning but all in all it was a good place to stay.

  • Ian drummond

  • February 2015

Hotel 53 York City Centre

The hotel is excellent the staff are all friendly.

The restaurant is very good value and food is excellent standard. The waiters make you feel very special and really look after you whilst dinning. The room was excellent standard and the power shower was the best I have ever had whilst staying in a hotel.

  • A Dawson

  • January 2015

Excellent quality accommodation

An overnight stay at a hotel I look forward to staying in again.

Room ideal for 3 as traveling with our daughter. Great location and thoroughly pleased with our choice and the options available due to its location.

  • Giuliana J

  • January 2015

Good customer service, very yummy breakfast, room ok but could have been a bit bigger

Room was clean but not too spacious for a family of 4

  • G Stones

  • January 2015

Post Christmas Break

Hotel is nice but rooms are more basic than Travelodge over the road.

Had no storage space apart from a few coat hangers on a rack and when you are using the sofa as a bed really removes any storage at all. On another note my partner found a what looked like blood stained under sheet on the bed which she put a towel over. If the price for this hotel was at 100+ would not stay at that amount.

  • Anne M

  • January 2015

Parking and window

The hotel was clean and of a good standard, shower excellent.

Parking is extra and on a "first come first served" basis so not sure what happens when there is no room in this car park. It cost an extra £10.00 which is an added expense. The staff were very helpful and efficient. My only complaint was the windows which allowed noise in from outside and disturbed me on a few occasions, the window blinds were damaged and allowed light through. In spite of this it is a good hotel that I would stay again.

  • Shane Green

  • January 2015

Great location

Stayed here for New Years with my girlfriend and we had never been to York before.

We never realised what a great location the hotel was in as it was 3 minute walk into the main shopping centre. I'd definitely stay here again and i think I will be in the near future. Great room also very big bed which was great for a wriggly sleeper like myself lol.

  • Beth L

  • December 2014

Fab city hotel

Lovely rooms with lovely beds great value and close to city centre.

Informative staff and car parking close by.