Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre


53 Piccadilly, York, YO1 9PL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (145)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • F Dawes

  • July 2014

A modern and clean hotel with friendly staff but parking is expensive at £10 a day.

  • elaine H

  • July 2014

Great Hotel

The staff were very efficient and friendly.

The hotel was clean, modern and very attractive. Our stay would have been made perfect with air-conditioning. I would come back but only in the winter months.

  • Emma B

  • July 2014

Brilliant hotel

The hotel has a brilliant location close to the city centre and the rooms were clean and modern.

The staff were very friendly and helped us to decide what to do during our stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • D Fraser

  • July 2014

Central modern boutique hotel

We stayed here for two nights in July.

The hotel was very central for York. Parking was available just across the road at a very reasonable rate . The rooms were very decorated tastefully , & a large comfortable bed . Free wifi , very helpful staff ( It was SO hot and there is no A/C in room) who provided a fan . Buffet style breakfast ,plenty to eat . Only con was ,being central ( windows open for the heat through the night) the noise of people returning to the hotel across the road ,it was noisy .Plus the emptying of all the recycle very early in the morning .

  • William M

  • July 2014


Hotel and room was clean, our room 117 was near the front of the hotel which because of the nice weather the window was open, so from the noise of passing traffic and people leaving nearby pubs led to a vey broken nights sleep.

When asked by the receptionist on how I found my stay, her reply to my comments was " that's what happens when you stay in the centre of town" not the answer I expected, so no I will not return.

  • K Taylor

  • July 2014


  • John McAndrew

  • July 2014

Weekend in york

Ideal situation for sightseeing in York only 5 minutes from center.

  • jeanette Q

  • July 2014

too noisy to sleep

Very basic and a little depressing, but probably what you'd expect for the price.

We had a street facing room which was incredibly noisy with traffic and people leaving the club opposite the hotel, so we all had very little sleep and had to cut our weekend short. Miserable.

Other guests were also complaining about the noise over breakfast. We complained to the Hotel customer service but they were not interested, saying we should have closed the window correctly even though I checked the window several times throughout the night.

  • Paul S

  • July 2014

not the same as the pictures

The bathroom isn't as nice as in the photos I saw online.

The room lacked air conditioning and so the room was unbearably warm. I've paid less for hotels which have had way more features.

  • Philip e

  • July 2014

Spot on

Very impressive location, short walk to the centre, good standard of facilities and extras.