No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
53 Piccadilly , York, YO1 9PL
Hotel 53 is a modern hotel in York city centre, within the historic city centre walls. It has free Wi-Fi, a restaurant and cocktail bar and stylish rooms with flat screen TVs.

The modern rooms have hairdryers, tea/coffee-making facilities and walk-in power showers with complimentary toiletries. Disabled rooms and double rooms with twin beds are available on request. Double rooms also have a sofa bed to accommodate up to 2 children up to the age of 12 years.

Hotel 53 is less than 2 miles (3.2km) from York Racecourse and less than a mile (1.6km) from York Rail Station. The major attractions are a short walk away. Limited on-site parking is available at an additional charge.

The restaurant at Hotel 53 will no longer be opening on Saturday & Sunday evenings for dinner service. However, the restaurant will remain open Mon-Fri from the newly amended time of 18:30 - 21:00 (last orders). Please note that the restaurant will be closed on New Years Eve.

On arrival, a credit/debit card pre-authorisation is required to cover any incidentals or extra charges
Picture of Hotel 53 York City Centre, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 226 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Great location for thr centre of York.
A little noisey in the morning due to deliveries to the hotel.

Reviewed by
W Thompson

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation, decent service
The room was great, the bathroom fantastic & it's a good location. Pretty decent value overall, though breakfast is not included. I wasn't impressed by the service on the desk though, I was left feeling my presence there was an inconvenience.

Reviewed by
L Campbell

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel

Reviewed by
N Masters

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything was top quality very helpful staff

Reviewed by
wayne birds

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
Great location to acess the city centre.5 min walk to main shopping areas and bars. Hotel was very modern and had great style. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful. Our room had everything we needed for our overnight Stay. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

Reviewed by
j cousins

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return Visit
Stayed here before & consider hotel to represent good value. Like the location and not too far to walk from train station if you are travelling light. Good sized room. Clean & comfortable. Enjoyed breakfast.

Reviewed by
Karen D

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in good location
third time we have stayed at this hotel. Everything very good only slightly negative thing to comment on this time was the road noise at certain times but other than that we have a had brilliant time in york.

Reviewed by
Christine Horton

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room is a bit small but nice and clean, staff are lovely and helpful, choices of food in the menu sounds and look nice and delicious, however they're expensive.

Reviewed by
E Reyes

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Night stop to visit York
Very convenient location, we were able to leave the car in the car park (£10 per day charge but secure) and go everywhere on foot as this hotel is very close to the centre of York.
Room was good, excellent walk in shower, no bath which may put some off but not us. Big comfy bed but storage for clothes a bit lacking. Breakfast was fine each day & yes we would stay there again.
Value for money was first class.

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why 53 Piccadilly a good choice.
I did not intend to travel alone, but other commitments stopped my partner from joining me. Clear advice as to how & where to find hotel, essential if no sat/nav. Helpful and brief advice on all essential aspects of hotel upon arrival. Too much, too soon , is no help, just a fatigue. Further help, if required, as in my case it was, immediately there, at least before eleven and possibly later. I had trouble with engaging full power to rooms, merely because I forgot to place card in well sited holder as some lights immediately came on and television worked, so forgot anything else needed to be done. On reporting this to reception, necessary advice on placing entrance card in holder given but not only that, an electrician would be sent to room to sort "problem" unless I contacted reception to report there was now , no problem. In other words, if I was right, I had to do no more, but if remedial strategy was successful, I was requested to inform reception to stop an unnecessary action. That contrasts strongly with many hotels in my admittedly limited experience, where any problem requires you to skip through countless hoops before any action is even considered. What's your experience?
I have no real criticism on any aspects of my stay. The quality any choice of food available in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service as I missed the "toast" area and this was delivered, not immediately, but when requested, instead of being told "It's there. You may collect whenever you wish, before we close!" I just feel damp clothes should be available to clean fingers after breakfast, as any jam taken with toast, at least in my case, tends to transfer itself liberally to my fingers! Of course, this can be remedied back in the room, but better if done in restaurant.
With in easy walking distance of many key attractions, I will revisit if, as now a pensioner, prices don't dramatically increase. I fully recommend a visit, young, in the middle, ancient or even, as most may think my category, prehistoric. (Apologies to those of like age category, it's just how I see myself, not others of similar or several more friends of even more advanced years. No disrespect to others meant, but I'll regard myself as I choose. If York is on your itinerary, check out Hotel 53.

Reviewed by
P Scott

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next