You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hotel 53 York City Centre

3

53 Piccadilly, York, YO1 9PL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (90)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Beth L

  • December 2014

Fab city hotel

Lovely rooms with lovely beds great value and close to city centre.

Informative staff and car parking close by.

  • M Turton

  • December 2014

Happy to recommend

I Stayed at hotel 53 for one night while meeting up with friends in York, it has an extremely handy location for all the city centre attractions.

The room was well maintained and very clean, the lobby and bar area were well presented and also very clean the only area that I saw that was not meticulously maintained were the stairwells that had marks and stains on the carpets and walls but if this deters you I doubt any hotel will satisfy. Finally I would like thank and praise the staff who were excellent, I was warmly greeted and bid farewell by the reception but maybe slightly more surprisingly I was greeted with the same welcome and warmth when I returned in the early hours.

  • G Gratton

  • December 2014

Clean tidy room and had a very comfortable stay, well worth another visit

  • J Pickard

  • December 2014

Very enjoyable stay.

Room was quiet and relaxing, my Daughter and I had nice few days shopping on our visit.

  • C richardson-moon

  • December 2014

hotel 53 and the workman's club behind it.

Hotel was ok nothing special expected more for the price.

Paid for a double room got 2 single beds pushed together. The biggest let down was the noise from the workman's club behind karaoke until after 12 o'clock. Wouldn't. Stay in this hotel again

  • G Barker

  • November 2014

York nightout

Lovely hotel, great location & very friendly staff, around very nice hotel.

  • R Sharp

  • November 2014

Low quality hotel for an extortionate room rate

We were disappointed upon arrival to find there was no parking including in what was an already hefty £205 a night room rate.

The only alternative to a 24 hour £9 parking fee was parking in a public car park across the road which required us to pay up to 8pm, then have free parking thereafter but you had to get up at 7.50am to put another ticket otherwise get fined. The room rate if you required parking was actually £214 and this should have been made clear before we booked. The room was ridiculously sparse with a tiny, bare bathroom with a shower which dribbled out water and the head could not be adjusted as it was loose and swung about. There was no wardrobe, the heating was a cheap radiator with no air conditioning and the meagre selection of bedroom furniture would have been inadequate for anything more than a few night's stay. The television was not much bigger than a computer screen. The blinds were scratched and dirty and the road noise/sirens could be heard clearly throughout the night which led us to suspect the hotel is not even double glazed...surely a must in a City Centre location. The bedroom furniture and layout is genuinely commensurate with Butlins Silver Standard accommodation, their Gold accommodation, in our opinion, is superior to Hotel 53 and the Travelodge over the road provides an equal or better standard for half the price. The venue for breakfast was equally disappointing; it lacked in ambience, the breakfast was luke warm, meagre and poorly presented for the room rate. The seating area was cheap and cheerful a bit like one of the franchise coffee chain shops. However, the staff at the breakfast service were attentive and excellent. The room rate, however busy York is, just cannot be justified and the room we were given, even on a weekend should never cost any more than £70 per night midweek and certainly no more than £90 per night at the weekend with breakfast (please note, we are seasoned travellers and have stayed in accommodation from 2 star to 6 star). If we had only paid £90, the review would be better but we can only leave a write up based on what we paid and would expect for this price bracket especially as we have stayed at other York hotels recently on a weekend and paid much less. We will not be going back and this is a shame as we live in York and were planning on using this hotel to stay at on nights out rather than drive or taxi home. We left the hotel feeling like we had been ripped off.

  • peter r

  • November 2014

Weekend break

The hotel was very clean and the staff were excellent, it was very central for the shops and restaurants.

it was let down by the price of the room, paying over £300 for two nights, there was no fridge in the room, no wardrobe, just a couple of metal arms from the wall with hangers on.The mirror was tucked in the corner over the desk and there was only one socket. i would say that the overall room was that of a budget hotel not the sort of hotel that they are claiming to be. Overall we would stay there again if it was more reasonably priced.

  • Alison W

  • October 2014

City break

Great location for sightseeing, shopping and dining.

Definitely recommend this location for a great, good value city break

  • D Brown

  • October 2014

Good Location

Close to city centre and all attractions.

Rooms were decent size, however there were empty glasses under the main double bed and the kids came accross cosmetics in their sofa bed from previous occupants. There is Hotel parking available accross the street, at a cost of £10 per night.