No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - North Stafford Hotel, Town Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Winton Square,Stoke-On-Trent, Stoke on Trent, ST4 2AE
The North Stafford Hotel is located right opposite Stoke-on-Trent train station, in the heart of the Potteries and just 20 minutes drive from Alton Towers. This Elizabethan & Jacobean designed hotel is a truly elegant and intimate. All 88 en-suite bedrooms are pleasantly decorated and offer modern facilities including TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Dine in the Six Town’s restaurant for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The bars, Clayhanger bar and Winton Suite Lounge are open till late and offer a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. There are nine conference rooms catering for up to 400 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of North Stafford Hotel, Town Centre, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 161 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

North Stafford Hotel, Town Centre
The hotel was lovely and warm. Rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. However the food was a let down.

Reviewed by
l turner

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
I have no complaints about this large hotel. Room was fine, staff were friendly and helpful.
Fantastic location as well. Also had own car park

Reviewed by
Ryan H

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a single was given a double, room was clean and tidy. Only downside was the Christmas parties that we're going on down stairs which played music until half past midnight

Reviewed by
n rutherford

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
A comfortable stay, very good value, lovely building, much better than 'modern' chains.

Reviewed by
Guy Woolnough

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an old hotel but handy for town
Old Victorian hotel clean and warm lots of food places nearby . I would strongly recommend star inn/titanic brewery the plum porter was excellent and food portions enormous. Hotel stay was a bit pricy but handy for train buses good parking.staff very helpful

Reviewed by
J Glynn

From darvel ayrshire, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall good value despite some niggles
A significant factor in booking this hotel was that it provides smoking bedrooms, now increasingly rare. The hotel has clearly seen better days. It's a beautiful brick building with many original features but it's now rather jaded both inside and out. Nonetheless there is an extraordinary collection of paintings and other pictures throughout the hotel - worth looking at. Our room was fine though very hot. Even with the radiator off, it was roasting because of old fashioned pipework running through the room. The bathroom was large and recently modernised. The bed was firm and comfortable. We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was pretty awful.

Reviewed by
Clare W

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superior double room- not as expected
When I have booked a superior double room in the past they have been lovely 'superior' rooms, my room here was very basic! For eg a couple of things didn't work the lamp and the clothes presser. It was more of a basic standard double room, there wasn't anything fancy to make it superior. Luckily I didn't pay full price as it was a last minute booking or I would have been very unhappy. It was nice and clean though!

Reviewed by
Gemma E

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very hot,which is better than very cold.

Reviewed by
anne williams

From Llandeilo, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We booked a nice double room but upon arrival were told they had over booked and put us in the family room, which was like an attic room right at the top of the building, which had 2 very small windows one of which just looked out onto a small crumbling concrete ledge and the other onto scaffolding. There was absolutely no leeway to booking in. We arrived slightly early and were told in no uncertain terms that we would not be booked in until 2 o clock on the dot which is ludicrous as the room was ready. There were no thankyous, enjoy your stay or goodbyes on leaving, a young man just took my key off me and continued to talk to another member of staff without a word which I found very rude. Needless to say we will definitely not be staying at this hotel again nor will we recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
A Wood

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid
Pulling upto the hotle there is no clear signage of where to park to begin with. There was a wedding taking place when we checked in at around 10pm so the lobby area was very busy and was loud music playing which is to be expected. There was only 1 person on reception who was clearly over worked and far to many people for him to cater for but he was very polite and friendly.
The room we were given was tiny and right above where the wedidng was taking place so was extremly noisy, i went back down to reception to asked to be moved and this was fine and we were moved to the third floor. What i do not understand is why we were not put here in the first place as the hotel must know the rooms directly above the wedding will be affected my noise.
The whole hotel is extremly rundown with mix matched furniture, wall paper hanging off the wall, thread bear carpets, holes in the walls, curtains hanging off, TV's from the 1970's, only 1 cup in a double room - I could go on and on and on.
I can not comment on the shower as I woke up at 6 and got straight on the road as was not brave enough to face it or the breakfast.
This hotel should definitely not be a 3 star hotel I have stayed in nicer hostels for £10 a night. I would avoid this hotel at all costs and definitely not worth £59 a night!!!

Reviewed by
J Jennings

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next