No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - North Stafford Hotel, Town Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Winton Square,Stoke-On-Trent, Stoke on Trent, ST4 2AE
The North Stafford Hotel is located right opposite Stoke-on-Trent train station, in the heart of the Potteries and just 20 minutes drive from Alton Towers. This Elizabethan & Jacobean designed hotel is a truly elegant and intimate. All 88 en-suite bedrooms are pleasantly decorated and offer modern facilities including TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Dine in the Six Town’s restaurant for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The bars, Clayhanger bar and Winton Suite Lounge are open till late and offer a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. There are nine conference rooms catering for up to 400 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of North Stafford Hotel, Town Centre, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 165 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel we keep going back
We only stayed one night this time but we find this a great place to stay for Alton Towers.its a very relaxing stay stay when ever we stay here.we will be back

Reviewed by
dave clark

From Beaworthy, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop over
To be fair for what we paid it was great. The room was clean and the bed comfortable and we both got a goods nights sleep. The bathroom was immaculate. However this is a big old hotel and the furnishings and decoration and carpets are very tired and in need of updating. The staff were friendly and helpful so for us for one night's stay it was okay.

Reviewed by
jacqui c

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded Grandeur
As other reviewers have stated - the Hotel is 'sad' because it is fundamentally a lovely building that could be so much more than it currently is. The public areas are ok for the price bracket and contain some interesting pictures of days gone by in the corridors.
Like a lot of hotels of this era, there is a huge difference in the rooms - some being quite grand and others being anything but.
I was allocated Room 128 on arrival which is worth noting is not actually a 'room' at all by my definition of the term. I wondered why it was not even listed on the corridor walls as the room numbers for that floor ended at 127. This is because some bright spark has decided to convert a windowless storage cupboard into a guest bedroom. So if you want that claustrophobic nightmare then fine but I naturally asked for another room which was duly provided (I got the impression I was not the first person to do this).
Room 330 was a lovely appointed twin at the back of the hotel, so it was away from the hustle, bustle, train and traffic noise of the front. The only downside was the lingering smell of cigarette smoke either from previous times or guests still abusing the fact they are away from detection. The shower pressure was something of a joke which being (alongside a comfy bed) one of the two 'must have' requirements of a good stay was a major let down.
For £38 and a place to crash after a night out it served its purpose. You just feel sad at what it must have once been and what it so easily could still become.

Reviewed by
Peter Campbell

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Room,Bad Breakfast
We had a one night.Had a couple of issues,but the manageress was very good and sorted them out quickly.We had an executive room which was very clean and tidy.The only problem was the breakfast,don't go down too late as if you do there will be nothing left,and it only gets filled begrudgingly with already cooked food.

Reviewed by
J Summers

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable would stay again

Reviewed by
Lorraine O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been cleaner!
Despite only £40 for two people for one night, we were disappointed at the lack of cleanliness of our room with an empty shower gel bottle in the bathroom, a large green stain in the bath tub and tobacco all over one of the window sills. It was also rather outdated in general and could do with a good spruce up. Plus, our room was changed at the very last minute without an explanation.

Reviewed by
Natalie H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in and I've stayed in a few!!
I booked this hotel online and only paid £66 for the two of us B&B in a superior room - Lol. This had to be confirmed by Late Rooms by phone as when I tried to reserve it they wanted to charge me for breakfast. On arrival at the hotel we were confronted with the need to pay for parking (not mentioned on the website which I had checked) - only £3 but that's not the point. Things went downhill from there! When questioned about this the receptionist and her minder said that it was company policy and many people had complained - do something about it then. This is part of the Britannia Group - surely they listen to those people who stay there. The hotel looks good from the outside but is exceptionally dated on the inside. The internal walls and doors show severe signs of wear and tear - the carpet on the main stairs was also worn. The room itself was on the first floor but the lift wasn't working. The room was large but sparsely furnished with old furniture, some having been repaired with white filler in a wood surround. The bed had been made with the bottom sheet only just touching the top of the bed. One positive was that there were extra pillows in the wardrobe, which had an ironing board taking up the majority of the hanging space until I collapsed it properly. Also in the room was a grubby sofa and the single cushion on the bed was left zip side up. The view from the window was improved by the large dish directly outside the window, the remainder being the car park and a Royal Mail depot. Furthermore the curtains were threadbare in places and completely covered the radiator. Peeling ceiling paper, a TV which was difficult to see from the bed, floors which creaked all over the hotel, a broken security chain on the room door and limited provision in the tea & coffee tray didn't help. Probably the funniest thing was the fairly new bathroom. It had provision for people with disabilities (but no lift) but the curtain on the window, which couldn't be closed completely, overhung the flush arm and the lid when it was up and the curtains were closed. There was no bathmat to get out of the bath onto and the tap on the sink was broken. Finally, we come to the food side. We were offered the opportunity to book an evening meal - the choices were pork with a sauce, chicken with a sauce and fish with a sauce - there was one veggie option. Starters included prawn cocktail and soup I think. Dinner operated as a buffet system apparently, but we declined. Breakfast was also buffet style for everything including tea and coffee with a huge plate of used teabags as well as dirty cups on an apparently clean table. Tables were left used for a long time after people left and no-one greeted us when we entered. When we left the hotel at 10am work was already underway cleaning, obstructing routes a little. The exit from the car park also caused problems which meant I had to get out of the car to insert the ticket - someone else had done this a little earlier. The car park was strewn with rubbish, which I wouldn't have expected if it is being controlled this way. Needless to say we won't be staying here again - a shame as we expect to visit Stoke regularly for the next three years. This is not a 3 star hotel and should be removed from your listings. I also don't think I would consider any of the Britannia Group.

Reviewed by
g youngs

From Hornchurch, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no problems
faded glory,big and old.

Reviewed by
s grainger

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lee drake review
Was a lovely stay, friendly service and quick check in.

Reviewed by
lee drake

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room had a damp patch on the ceiling and the sink was slightly dirty, other than that it was a nice enjoyable night

Reviewed by
Louis B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next