No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - North Stafford Hotel, Town Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Winton Square,Stoke-On-Trent, Stoke on Trent, ST4 2AE
The North Stafford Hotel is located right opposite Stoke-on-Trent train station, in the heart of the Potteries and just 20 minutes drive from Alton Towers. This Elizabethan & Jacobean designed hotel is a truly elegant and intimate. All 88 en-suite bedrooms are pleasantly decorated and offer modern facilities including TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Dine in the Six Town’s restaurant for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The bars, Clayhanger bar and Winton Suite Lounge are open till late and offer a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. There are nine conference rooms catering for up to 400 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of North Stafford Hotel, Town Centre, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 166 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superior double room- not as expected
When I have booked a superior double room in the past they have been lovely 'superior' rooms, my room here was very basic! For eg a couple of things didn't work the lamp and the clothes presser. It was more of a basic standard double room, there wasn't anything fancy to make it superior. Luckily I didn't pay full price as it was a last minute booking or I would have been very unhappy. It was nice and clean though!

Reviewed by
Gemma E

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very hot,which is better than very cold.

Reviewed by
anne williams

From Llandeilo, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We booked a nice double room but upon arrival were told they had over booked and put us in the family room, which was like an attic room right at the top of the building, which had 2 very small windows one of which just looked out onto a small crumbling concrete ledge and the other onto scaffolding. There was absolutely no leeway to booking in. We arrived slightly early and were told in no uncertain terms that we would not be booked in until 2 o clock on the dot which is ludicrous as the room was ready. There were no thankyous, enjoy your stay or goodbyes on leaving, a young man just took my key off me and continued to talk to another member of staff without a word which I found very rude. Needless to say we will definitely not be staying at this hotel again nor will we recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
A Wood

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid
Pulling upto the hotle there is no clear signage of where to park to begin with. There was a wedding taking place when we checked in at around 10pm so the lobby area was very busy and was loud music playing which is to be expected. There was only 1 person on reception who was clearly over worked and far to many people for him to cater for but he was very polite and friendly.
The room we were given was tiny and right above where the wedidng was taking place so was extremly noisy, i went back down to reception to asked to be moved and this was fine and we were moved to the third floor. What i do not understand is why we were not put here in the first place as the hotel must know the rooms directly above the wedding will be affected my noise.
The whole hotel is extremly rundown with mix matched furniture, wall paper hanging off the wall, thread bear carpets, holes in the walls, curtains hanging off, TV's from the 1970's, only 1 cup in a double room - I could go on and on and on.
I can not comment on the shower as I woke up at 6 and got straight on the road as was not brave enough to face it or the breakfast.
This hotel should definitely not be a 3 star hotel I have stayed in nicer hostels for £10 a night. I would avoid this hotel at all costs and definitely not worth £59 a night!!!

Reviewed by
J Jennings

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded Grandeur, characterful and convenient
This hotel has old world charm. My room was pretty and practical and a kettle with tea and coffee supplied was a welcome addition. A mini fridge would have been an advantage, but all in all it represented good value, was in a very convenient location and the staff were friendly and helpful. So glad it was a pet friendly hotel with a good rail and bus network just outside the front door. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Tina C

From Ipswich, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel we keep going back
We only stayed one night this time but we find this a great place to stay for Alton Towers.its a very relaxing stay stay when ever we stay here.we will be back

Reviewed by
dave clark

From Beaworthy, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop over
To be fair for what we paid it was great. The room was clean and the bed comfortable and we both got a goods nights sleep. The bathroom was immaculate. However this is a big old hotel and the furnishings and decoration and carpets are very tired and in need of updating. The staff were friendly and helpful so for us for one night's stay it was okay.

Reviewed by
jacqui c

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded Grandeur
As other reviewers have stated - the Hotel is 'sad' because it is fundamentally a lovely building that could be so much more than it currently is. The public areas are ok for the price bracket and contain some interesting pictures of days gone by in the corridors.
Like a lot of hotels of this era, there is a huge difference in the rooms - some being quite grand and others being anything but.
I was allocated Room 128 on arrival which is worth noting is not actually a 'room' at all by my definition of the term. I wondered why it was not even listed on the corridor walls as the room numbers for that floor ended at 127. This is because some bright spark has decided to convert a windowless storage cupboard into a guest bedroom. So if you want that claustrophobic nightmare then fine but I naturally asked for another room which was duly provided (I got the impression I was not the first person to do this).
Room 330 was a lovely appointed twin at the back of the hotel, so it was away from the hustle, bustle, train and traffic noise of the front. The only downside was the lingering smell of cigarette smoke either from previous times or guests still abusing the fact they are away from detection. The shower pressure was something of a joke which being (alongside a comfy bed) one of the two 'must have' requirements of a good stay was a major let down.
For £38 and a place to crash after a night out it served its purpose. You just feel sad at what it must have once been and what it so easily could still become.

Reviewed by
Peter Campbell

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Room,Bad Breakfast
We had a one night.Had a couple of issues,but the manageress was very good and sorted them out quickly.We had an executive room which was very clean and tidy.The only problem was the breakfast,don't go down too late as if you do there will be nothing left,and it only gets filled begrudgingly with already cooked food.

Reviewed by
J Summers

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable would stay again

Reviewed by
Lorraine O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next