No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bagshot Road , Ascot, SL5 9JH
Located just 15 minutes from the heart of Windsor, Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible four-star hotel surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. It is also the closest four-star hotel to the popular Ascot racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of the art thermal spa with 6 spa treatment rooms, an 18 metre swimming pool, rock and infra-red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs.

Business travellers are less than an hour from central London by train and extremely close to the M3 and M25 motorways. Parking is plentiful and free for all guests. Free wifi available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

Our AA-rosette award-wining Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest, quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you.
Picture of Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, Ascot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip, Great stay with Great Leisure Facilities !
I often stay in the area for business and good accommodation with lesiure facilities at a reasonable price is hard to find in the south east. So I mostly end up in glorified pubs with rooms. On this occasion I managed to find the Berystede at a reasonable price on laterooms so gave it a try. I am pleased to say I am glad I did. A "proper" hotel with pleasant staff and great leisure facilities. A good size gym with well stocked equipment, a large clean pool and extended aqua spa, indoors and out included in the price, as was breakfast. It was a bit further out along the A30 than I usually do but worth the extra bit of travel time to work. Thanks to the advanced booking deal on laterooms the price was acceptable too.

Reviewed by
Rob G

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ascot

Reviewed by
Alistair G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ist Class - Especially the Food
We used the Pool and Spa - very relaxing.
The restaurant was fantastic and food first rate.

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smoke and Mirrors
This is a beautiful looking hotel in a beautiful part of the country. When getting a good deal on late rooms you can see the attraction and upon driving into the car park and walking into reception you feel you have got yourself a great deal and are in for a great experience. sadly the reality is like many other hotels of this ilk and there are many flaws. here are the key points from my perspective: any room that is a decent price will be a long walk from reception. Room i stayed in was very nice , contemporary, clean and a huge bed , really good room . I always go for a hotel with a gym so I know what I am talking about . If you want to do cardio you will be fine , light weights or a minor resistance workout again you will be fine , a heavy resistance program you will need to be creative. The gym has members but wasn't busy and the locker rooms were nice with really good digital locks that don't need a pound coin or a padlock.Spa facilities were OK , pool fine , outdoor hot tub was quirky but not very hot just warm and to be honest got a bit boring on your own . The steam rooms and saunas all looked great but were just a bit lame and not really relaxing but it was a nice environment . So the food in the bar was distinctly average , had a burger and it was just typical hotel and nothing special. The bar area was fairly nice and felt like you were in a exclusive members club with a waiter service. I liked that there was an express checkout that was pushed under your door overnight, I just had to sign and pop it into a box and this was great but here is where my overall thoughts on the hotel changed! I was charged £5 for being served in the bar !!! I was also charged for a charity donation and for something else . The bar is also not cheap. My verdict is stay clear if its you on your own for a business trip but if you are a couple and are not on a budget then this would be a good pale to stay .

Reviewed by
James H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Turret Suite
Was lucky enough to get room 340 and the Turret Suite. Massive rooms and lovely facilities all for the price of an executive room. Only thing I would say the windows need some attention as they don't shut fully but other than that very nice and the air con was a plus.
Breakfast great and well cooked.

Reviewed by
K Andrews

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very happy & worth the money
not much hotel grounds to walk around though

Reviewed by
J SKALIOTIS

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value and comfort

Reviewed by
Peter R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room - Classic in the old part of the hotel
Compared to others in the party, this was a great room. Spacious, huge bathroom and close to reception. Rooms in the low numbers (e.g. 104) are nearer to reception.

Reviewed by
A Drewett

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel undergoing renovations
The hotel and staff were lovely but we were not made aware of the ongoing renovations at the point of booking. When we arrived the main entrance was not in use, blocked by scaffolding and workmen, so we had to enter through the bar with our luggage. During out 2 day stay all the spa facilities were closed for maintenance and the pool area was 'decorated' with hazard tape and cones. This was a great disappointment as our stay was intended as R and R before a long haul flight.

Reviewed by
Jane G

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below average for the price
Expensive for what is available. Staff are generally poor and rooms are basic for this class of hotel.

Reviewed by
G Carnaffan

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next