Reviews - Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

4

Parkgate Road,Ledsham, Chester, CH66 9PB

Price From 330.05 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Audrey S

  • January 2016

Nice hotel, need more staf training

The hotel was clean, cosy, however no able to connect to wifi even though it said it was connected to Cloud.

No fridge in room. Had a standard double room which was overpriced even on Laterooms.

Some of the staff in the cafe, bar and restaurant were not trained properly - didn't return when asked t check food availability, barman asked if anybody could answer him when we were conversing. Should have waited till we finished. Could go on. Overall good hotel and reception were very helpful.

  • J Jones

  • December 2015

Perfect

I stayed here with my girlfriend to celebrate being together for 10 years and we couldn't fault a thing.

  • R Lucas

  • October 2015

Relaxing Break

Perfect for a night away - lovely comfortable bed, delicious breakfast the next morning.

  • P Tyler

  • July 2015

Clean and pleasant but noisy on ground floor

The rooms are well decorated and spotlessly clean.

There was a missing section of the wardrobe surround in the top right corner which was a little shoddy from a maintenance point of view. The biggest problem was being on the ground floor. The ceiling must be paper-thin as we could almost feel every foot-fall of the guest(s) in the room above us. They clumped about late into the night and also early the next morning. You could also clearly hear their shower running. This did result in a fairly disturbed nights sleep. We mentioned this the next morning at check-out and received polite but somewhat insubstantial apology - no discount. The restaurant food was pretty good quality wise but the prices were quite high. The meal was not particularly good value for money. The sauna and steam room were very good but the pool had quite a lot of tiny black specks floating in the water - I suspect they're from the grout in the tiles which had blackened in places. We weren't keen to use the pool again.

  • Victoria Davies

  • April 2015

Amazing!

What a beautiful room.

We stayed after a wedding at the hotel and our room was ready by 9am. The room was spacious and clean, comfortable and welcoming. Very very smart!

  • Keith Brown

  • April 2015

Windy weather spoilt stay

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful but due to the extreme windy weather our stay wasn't enjoyable.

Couldn't get to sleep due to something above our room banging all night due to the high winds. Nothing the hotel could do just extremely unlucky. Would stay and recommend the hotel to friends and family

  • Alison W

  • March 2015

Weekend Stay at Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Really enjoyed my stay at the hotel, they made you feel welcome when we arrived to check in, the shortbread was a lovely idea and very nice too.

Room was comfortable and clean, we had everything we wanted. Breakfast was nice with a good selection to choose from, staff were very good, we didn't have to wait too long and the service was very good. Would stay there again as it was easy access to Chester, Wirral and Liverpool.

  • D Choudhuri

  • March 2015

outstanding

excellent breakfast, welcoming service despite entering hotel quite late after a wedding, would recommend and stay again

  • R Holdham

  • March 2015

Lovely hotel in a lovely setting

we hadn't been to Chester before and booked the hotel from the recommendations off trip advisor, the hotel is set in lovely grounds and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant.

Unfortunately we didn't book any treatments for the spa and it was fully booked due to it being mothers day so didn't get to use those facilities. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel when in Chester again.

  • S Atkin

  • February 2015

Spa break / zoo visit

Very nice, enjoyed our stay lovely location great food and pool.