No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarion Collection Richmond Gate

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
152-158 Richmond Hill , Richmond upon Thames, TW10 6RP
This elegant four star Hotel is situated next to the 2,800 acre Royal Richmond Park in Richmond. The Hotel offers 68 beautifully appointed luxury furnished en suite bedrooms all with television, free tea and coffee, air conditioning, hair dryer and Free Wiifi throughout the hotel.

The popular Gates on the Park Restaurant provides an intimate atmosphere for guests to relax and unwind in whilst enjoying their meal. For those looking for a more informal atmosphere, meals are available in the Lounge, Bar or via Room Service. 

The Hotel boasts 5 fully air conditioned meeting rooms able to accommodate up to 50 plus delegates and includes the stunning Conservatory, which leads out into a beautiful Victorian walled garden, providing the perfect backdrop for wedding photographs.

Gates Cottage is the ideal 2 bedroom bungalow situated within the grounds for all your long term stays.

Adjoining the Hotel is Cedars Health and Leisure Club, with complimentary usage for all residential guests. A brief walk down into the centre of the Richmond offers guests an opportunity to explore many of Richmond`s galleries, museums, cafes and shops. Close by are world famous Kew Gardens, Hampton Court Palace, Twickenham Rugby Ground and Wimbledon with Central London just a short 15 minute train journey away. M3, M4 and M25 Motorways are also within easy distance. The idyllic Richmond Gate Hotel is Surrey`s best kept secret, perfect for a weekend break away or the ideal location for business.
Picture of Clarion Collection Richmond Gate, Richmond upon Thames at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be returning.
The Richmond gate hotel is a very clean and very well run hotel. I will have to return because unfortunately I didn't have a chance to expierance the food or spa.

Reviewed by
Jason F

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but depends on your room
We were impressed when walking in, friendly receptionist but nobody offered to help us with our bags which would have been fine but the couple next to us had the offers. The room we were given was downstairs and upon entering stank of cigarettes. We got moved straight away with no fuss and an appology. The room given to us was very clean and nice but very small. The door was very close to the bed so we got woken up quite a bit during the night by people returning to their rooms. The bed itself did not feel like a full double and there was hardly any room to put luggage and move around the room. We were staying for two days so it did get a bit annoying. We had breakfast and it was quite nice. Would have been nice to have more of a vegetarian option in the cooked breakfast. Over all a nice hotel, friendly staff but I think we were a bit unlucky with out room which was a shame.

Reviewed by
Amy C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel, appalling service
One of the 2 rooms I booked was still not available at 2.30 pm despite the website saying "2 pm" and despite the fact that by phone the previous day (and again on arrival) I told staff that I had a taxi booked for 2.30 pm to take me to a wedding off premises. I had to change my clothes and leave all my luggage in someone else.s room and was unable to get my key and access to my room until I returned to the hotel at 1 am, by which time I really just wanted to go straight to my room and shower/bed. I had to collect all my possessions from the room I borrowed and then take them to my own room some way away. Sandwiches ordered upon arrival at the hotel bar took one hour to arrive and were bolted down before we had to leave for the wedding. My bathroom bin had not been emptied from the previous occupant. My breakfast had a long black hair in it (I could not say whether from the tomatoes or mushrooms); my own hair is short and brown. There was a long slow queue at reception each time I wanted to raise matters (except at 1 am when I got my key). I had to leave a handwritten note on the counter when I had to get my taxi to the wedding as I had not got to the front of the queue by the time I had to leave. At checkout, the £5 parking charge was waived in view of my complaints, which I was told would be passed to management.

Reviewed by
Angela S

From Burnham on Crouch, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated feel, poor bathroom quality, mould in the corners of shower

Reviewed by
J Tusz

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accommodation we were upgraded to a really large room

Reviewed by
L HURLEY

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looking for a nice place to stay in Richmond...?
Well, this may be the place for you - good location, nice old building, but I guess the rooms are a lottery. We paid £129 expecting a reasonable room (nothing that fancy) hopefully with a nice outlook - if not a view as such - or at least a little light in through the window. Unfortunately as I descended into the bowels of the hotel towards the room I had been allocated, through an airless corridor, I found my room well presented but very stuffy, with no opening windows, no ventilation, and an outlook onto a brick wall stretching up towards the sky and outdoor pathway with old clothes dumped in it. Not quite the romantic idea I'd had. A poor night's sleep due to the oppressive airlessness.
Fair enough to have rooms like this in a hotel, but these need some kind of warning like 'this is going to look the same as other rooms from the inside, but don't expect natural light or air or any view: you're looking onto a brick wall. Fortunately we weren't there for much of a daytime, but I would have been gutted if I was.
Indifferent reception staff, which never helps foster a good feeling.
Overall disappointed.

Reviewed by
Jonathan R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
I have never left a poor review before and we were really looking forward to our stay but found ourselves so disapointed by our experience at the hotel. The hotel looks beautiful in the advertising but our room was on the lower floor and our view was of a dirty concrete wall a couple of foot from the window, so poor natural light and a really disapointing start. The bathroom door handle looked as if it had been ripped off and replaced badly so the split wood was still showing on both sides and the grouting around the bath was mouldy in places. None of this is a disaster in itself but the hotel was listed as 4 star and our price which did not include breakfast was over £150. we were also disapointed that from 3 oclock in the afternoon when we arrived until we went to bed late in the evening there was a row a dirty teacups outside all the rooms on the floor that the cleaners had forgotten to remove. When we mentioned all this at checkout the gentleman on duty wrote down our complaints and said a simple sorry and that was it. We could at least have been assured by him that usually things were much better. Unfortunately we would not recommend the hotel based on our stay and would say it's poor value for money despite the lovely location.

Reviewed by
Katie S

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Richmond Gate Hotel stay
We had a lovely 3 night break in the hotel. The room (no. 30) was one of the older ones, but beautifully furnished with a comfy bed and an air-con unit that worked a dream thanks to the hot weather. The leisure complex was ideal to round off our days. To be picky - there was a brand new hairdryer in the room - great - but no mirror nearby ! And we were on bed only and thought the cost of the breakfast a little excessive - but a 10 minute walk into Richmond and we found a fabulous restaurant (Bills) for great leisurely breakfasts. Will hope to come again.

Reviewed by
Carol W

From Shefford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic offer from Late Rooms
Having found a really amazing offer from Late Rooms I was prepared for a less than satisfactory break, but thought for a city break it would be fine. In reality this was a classy and very welcoming hotel. I will be on the lookout for similar offers for this hotel and would look forward to returning in the future.

Reviewed by
A Dolan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value as we took advantage of the hotel's 3 night special offer. Appreciated the room upgrades. The staff were friendly and helpful. The relaxing leisure facilties were most welcome after a hot, busy day in London. Did not dine at the hotel so cannot comment on food. Could not undestand why hotel required to authorise a large amount on our credit card when we checked in; everywhere else we have stayed have just registered your card in case you charge anything.

Reviewed by
Jane L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next