No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Richmond Gate Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
152-158 Richmond Hill , Richmond upon Thames, TW10 6RP
This elegant four star Hotel is situated next to the 2,800 acre Royal Richmond Park in Richmond. The Hotel offers 68 beautifully appointed luxury furnished en suite bedrooms all with television, free tea and coffee, air conditioning, hair dryer and Free Wiifi throughout the hotel.

The popular Gates on the Park Restaurant provides an intimate atmosphere for guests to relax and unwind in whilst enjoying their meal. For those looking for a more informal atmosphere, meals are available in the Lounge, Bar or via Room Service. 

The Hotel boasts 5 fully air conditioned meeting rooms able to accommodate up to 50 plus delegates and includes the stunning Conservatory, which leads out into a beautiful Victorian walled garden, providing the perfect backdrop for wedding photographs.

Gates Cottage is the ideal 2 bedroom bungalow situated within the grounds for all your long term stays.

Adjoining the Hotel is Cedars Health and Leisure Club, with complimentary usage for all residential guests. A brief walk down into the centre of the Richmond offers guests an opportunity to explore many of Richmond`s galleries, museums, cafes and shops. Close by are world famous Kew Gardens, Hampton Court Palace, Twickenham Rugby Ground and Wimbledon with Central London just a short 15 minute train journey away. M3, M4 and M25 Motorways are also within easy distance. The idyllic Richmond Gate Hotel is Surrey`s best kept secret, perfect for a weekend break away or the ideal location for business.
Picture of Richmond Gate Hotel, Richmond upon Thames at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful weekend break
Had a lovely weekend stay in this luxury hotel. Disappointed the jacuzzi was out of order but other than that faultless!! Beautiful room and stunning food breakfast and dinner. Loved it!!! x

Reviewed by
S Perkins

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking
I booked the room the night before my stay and was hoping to have good value for money, but a fairly good quality hotel. It was a nice experience, although a bit of scrimping on beverages & biscuits available (the latter was missing- but had expected them).
Not sure I would rush back as there are many other places to stay offering a similar experience.

Reviewed by
Karen G

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value and a great location but.....
Lovely rooms friendly staff and the hotel is in a beautiful location in greater London. My only complaint is that they insisted on taking a 50 pounds deposit for anything spent in the room which was not mentioned until I was at the reception. Surely my card details would have been enough.

Reviewed by
Nigel C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Good short stay and enjoyed the spa

Reviewed by
R Turner

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A thoroughly enjoyable stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, with an excellent breakfast and very friendly staff. Hopefully next time we stay, we will be able to sample the delights of the restaurant for an evening meal.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we expected
We stayed at new year because we wanted a quiet night. We ordered room service, burger and chips and the burger, apart from being seriously over priced, tasted really off and was way over done. The shower was broken, and i was seriously not impressed with being woken up by the fire alarm going off in the morning for no reason at all! the customer service wasn't great. The guys English wasn't very good and it was very slow/ We will not be staying here again. very disappointed.
Only positive thing was the bed was comfortable.

Reviewed by
m brooks

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for £89...not for £220 a night!
I have stayed here previously a couple of months ago for the Autumn Internationals at Twickenham. On that occassion (due to lack of anywhere else to stay) I was charged £225 for a room, which I thought was a bit steep for what it is.
On this more recent occassion I was down with my family, and we were charged £89 per room...which was far more reasonable. I get the impression that the hotel is aiming far more upmarket.
Rooms are comfortable, although a bit on the small side. Breakfast was excellent , and delicious.
My two teenage sons were upgraded to a massive room on the basis that there was not a twin room available - Service to sort this out was good.
Bar was very expensive...but you would expect that for a hotel that was trying to cater for £200+ per night rooms.
In short, I would stay there again...if the price was right!

Reviewed by
A Provan

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful, shame about the service and food
We booked a room here for an Xmas night stay, as the hotel we were staying in for the rest of our break was full up.
Given it is a four star place and I paid for an executive room I expected good things, particularly compared to the other place we stayed in, which had fewer stars and cost around 2/3 of the price of Richmond Gate. But this was not the case.
Don't get me wrong-the room was beautifully decorated and the reception staff who greeted us on arrival at around midday could not have been more helpful. But unfortunately this was as good as it got.
We didn't make use of the spa facilities but a notice at reception informed guests that the jacuzzo was out of order indefinitely; all the other elements were available apparently. After a day spent with family we returned to the hotel at around 1am. As our room hadn't been ready earlier in the day we needed to pick up keys and bags from reception. The member of staff there seemed less than pleased we had interrupted him.
The next morning we went down to breakfast-admittedly very close to the cut off point for service. Again, it wasn't exactly service with a smile as the waitress checked her watch prior to informing us that although it was after service had finished, we could eat (I've been a waitress myself, working with a michelin starred chef, and not sure I'd have quibbled with us in the circumstances as if we were late it was a matter of no more than a minute at most and we'd paid the best part of £200 for our stay). The restaurant wasn't busy when this happened and as it was a buffet style breakfast with all cooked food pre-prepared for guests to self serve it was hard to understand why she seemed so grumpy. We were not the last people to leave the restaurant after breakfast.
But over and above the levels of service, the food itself really let this place down. The breakfast looked and tasted like it had been out for hours and it was a pretty basic offering in terms of choice-fried or scrambled egg, a few rashers of fatty, grey and pink bacon, some anaemic sausage, steamed-looking beef tomato and some shrivelled whole mushrooms. Oh, and a single hash brown. Not exactly gourmet.
In comparison to our other hotel, where you could have a range of beautiful breakfast options from porridge or a full English to Eggs Benedict freshly cooked to order by the chef - even right at the end of service hours - the food at Richmond Gate was more akin to a disappointing greasy spoon.
I've stayed in many places both on business and as an independent traveller and I guess I wanted to write this review because the contrast between the cheaper hotel (The Alexander Pope in Twickenham) and this one was so marked, despite paying more than a third more to stay in the Richmond Gate.
The location and room decor are beautiful but I'd recommend avoiding breakfast and don't expect a 4 star level of service.

Reviewed by
Sarah N

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
Really lovely location. Only thing that let it down was the smell of cabbage in the lounge which reminded me of an OAP home. Nice room. Bathroom a little dated, but bed comfy. Good hearty breakfast.

Reviewed by
Denise L

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel

Reviewed by
MARK A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next