No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarion Collection Richmond Gate

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
152-158 Richmond Hill , Richmond upon Thames, TW10 6RP
This elegant four star Hotel is situated next to the 2,800 acre Royal Richmond Park in Richmond. The Hotel offers 68 beautifully appointed luxury furnished en suite bedrooms all with television, free tea and coffee, air conditioning, hair dryer and Free Wiifi throughout the hotel.

The popular Gates on the Park Restaurant provides an intimate atmosphere for guests to relax and unwind in whilst enjoying their meal. For those looking for a more informal atmosphere, meals are available in the Lounge, Bar or via Room Service. 

The Hotel boasts 5 fully air conditioned meeting rooms able to accommodate up to 50 plus delegates and includes the stunning Conservatory, which leads out into a beautiful Victorian walled garden, providing the perfect backdrop for wedding photographs.

Gates Cottage is the ideal 2 bedroom bungalow situated within the grounds for all your long term stays.

Adjoining the Hotel is Cedars Health and Leisure Club, with complimentary usage for all residential guests. A brief walk down into the centre of the Richmond offers guests an opportunity to explore many of Richmond`s galleries, museums, cafes and shops. Close by are world famous Kew Gardens, Hampton Court Palace, Twickenham Rugby Ground and Wimbledon with Central London just a short 15 minute train journey away. M3, M4 and M25 Motorways are also within easy distance. The idyllic Richmond Gate Hotel is Surrey`s best kept secret, perfect for a weekend break away or the ideal location for business.
Picture of Clarion Collection Richmond Gate, Richmond upon Thames at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel, but a bit over-priced
Stayed here as a last minute booking. The room was a good size with a nice shower, but the room wasn't what I would describe as luxurious, merely standard. We requested a room service sandwich, and the front desk were aware that we were in a rush, but the sandwich still took 45 minutes to arrive and I wouldn't say it was worth the £7.50 charged! The breakfast was very nice generous, but the surcharge of £16.50 was again slightly extortionate. But, I guess you pay London prices in a London hotel.

Reviewed by
keren o

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All fine
I had phoned in advance to check the walking distance to the train station - I was quoted 15 minutes, which was accurate. Room perfectly adequate. Free Wifi worked. Friendly staff. £5 to park o/night in the hotel car park, cheaper than other local alternatives.

Reviewed by
Alison C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great base for a family weekend break
We stayed as a family with 2 kids for a weekend break and really couldnt fault the place. Richmond itself is a great town to visit with a nice town centre, lots of places to walk (Richmond Park, Petersham Meadows, Thames-side paths etc) and we also visited Kew gardens (OK - not amazing), Westfield Shopping (brilliant) and Hampton Court ( the real highlight - a 'must-see') The rooms we had (a standard double and a standard twin) were both comfortable, we were able to park easily, the kids enjoyed the pool, the breakfast was good and the staff were all friendly. In particular, the reception were really helpful with arranging taxis at short notice and also, when we left, a cleaner came running after us to hand us a phone charger we'd left behind by mistake. Couldn't really ask for more.

Reviewed by
Nigel M

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Corner of London
Short walk into Richmond with the Park Entrance a stone's throw from the door step.

Reviewed by
Stewart Andrews

From PETERBOROUGH , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel in a very pleasant area
nice room but not knockout......for the price. staff very nice & informative. Gym & facilities very good. enjoyed a zumba class whilst staying. great position for Richmond park & easy driving to south London from hotel. if you were travelling by tube its a taxi drive to hotel about £6.
Breakfast was good with lots of staff buzzing about so served very quickly.

Reviewed by
kim j

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough to accommodate you. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
A Kumari

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
We had a lovely time and really enjoyed our stay.
Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff.
We didn't eat in at all so can't comment on food.
A glorious pool that we used every day.
Also, a good sized fridge in our room which we used extensively.

Reviewed by
susan L

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent short break
My wife and I stayed for a four day break and would find it difficult to criticise this hotel. Away from the hustle and bustle of London but close enough to travel in to the City with excellent transport routes. There was ample opportunity for walks along the Thames and through Richmond Park. The hotel staff were very accommodating and although we hadn't booked a Spa package they nevertheless provided dressing gowns etc to visit the Spa and pool. Highly recommended. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
Steven James

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Richmond
Having read a few differing reviews of the Richmond Gate, we were all very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was great and the staff very helpful. As we had got a deal via Late rooms the rooms were value for money.
Breakfast was OK but a bit disorganised. My tea and toast did not appear and if you did not make it to breakfast when all the dishes were full it was a bit hit and miss when they got replenished so various of us in our group of 4 had some bits but not others.
However, generally a very enjoyable experience and I would not hesitate to recommend.

Reviewed by
Y Kelly

From Saffron Walden, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel with lots of character, a great bed and a great shower.
Lots of period charm in this lovely old building. Some of the room furniture is a little dated although the room was clean and the bed both large and very comfortable. Being a frequent business traveller, it is really nice to stay in an old building where the bathroom has a nice powerful shower and not the dreaded dribble.
Parking was plentiful which is always welcome.

Reviewed by
Vincent M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next