No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 336 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rough around the edges
Laughably short staffed at breakfast one morning. Queues for tables but not enough people to clear the dirty ones.
First room offered was extremely noisy due to air conditioning fans outside the window, avoid the inner circle on third and fourth floors. Second option was top floor lovely and quiet but without windows.
Not great but not expensive by London standards either

Reviewed by
Alastair I

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel in great location
Fabulous hotel in Bloomsbury which is a great location for London sights. The Tube station is just round the corner and its only 10 minutes walk from Euston Station and 20 minutes from St Pancras and Kings Cross. Very convenient! The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was a bargain using Late Rooms. The room was comfortable, quiet and perfect for our needs. The only criticism I would make is that the bed was a double instead of a king size which has become the norm these days. I would recommend this hotel and would certainly revisit.

Reviewed by
T Kennington

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming Central hotel with helpful staff and comfortable room.

Reviewed by
s george

From PRENTON, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly and efficient service, the Hotel decor is first class.

Reviewed by
Garry Forshaw

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, efficient and friendly staff, everything you needed was in avery clean room. It would have been nice to see out of the window but as we were only in our room a short time it was ok.

Reviewed by
a budd

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay for the price
The staff at Hotel Russell were by far some of the best I have seen so far when staying in hotels for business, extremely friendly and polite. We were really impressed by the size of our room for the price that we paid. The only downside for us was the fact that wifi was restricted to a 1 hour free use, every 4 hours and that breakfast was pretty expensive for the quality of food that you could get at the hot/cold buffet that was provided. Location wise we couldn't fault it, only a few mins walk from the tube station and easily accessible to Embankment and Covent Garden which was lovely.

Reviewed by
C Floyd

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average - standard room is no better than a 2 star B&B room
One window was screwed shut because it was broken - the other was falling off. Kettle was broken, iron didn't work, remote didn't work, litter was left in the bathroom bin. Concierge disappeared for 30 mins when I needed him. Staff seemed unbothered when I told them all of this, simply stating "Thank you for bring this to our attention sir".

Reviewed by
Adam L

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell
Very pleased, excellent service and value for money. Excellent location for site seeing.

Reviewed by
B Williams

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Weekend
Ideally situated close to the tube station and within short distance of the west end and Oxford Street.
The room was of a reasonable size but the bathroom was tiny and only had a shower. The air conditioning worked well and as it was one of the hottest weekends of the year it was a god send.
The bed was a standard double but was very comfortable if a little cramped.
We booked a shopping weekend package which included a complimentary bottle of fiz. The only good thing was that it was fizzy. It was far too sweet and I would have preferred a decent bottle of wine.
Breakfast was included and both the service and the food were excellent.
We went to get a drink in the bar on the first night but after sitting around for five minutes and not even getting an acknowledgement from the staff we left.
The reception staf and the concierge staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
david b

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Russell
For today's standards the hotel is just too dark. My room looked like something from the 1960s. It was convenient for travel.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next