No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 401 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for British museum and tube. Great customer service
Every member of staff were friendly, polite and accommodating. Had a free upgrade which was great. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to friends and family. Breakfast was lovely, great choices and cooked just right.

Reviewed by
r payne

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conciege
Most excellent concierge service very helpful beyond what normally expected

Reviewed by
peter cartwright

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Favourite Place To Stay and Unwind
I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times every year. I like its architecture, the location, value for money, the place is very clean, the staff are friendly and never fail to greet you when you come in and when you leave the vicinity.

Reviewed by
Maria L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tired room with a mouldy shower, floor tiles loose, windows filthy outside and noisy.
The hotel has a beautiful facade and really looks the part. The receptionist was very good and check in easy. The lifts are tiny, the stair carpets are threadbare and the rooms are very tired. The location of the hotel is excellent but the acoustic insulation is awful meaning it is a very noisy......day and night! The 4 star rating beggars belief and questions understanding of the rating system. Re investment of profits are clearly lacking and are needed.

Reviewed by
m langthorne

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room, clean and spacious.

Reviewed by
E Binns

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room a bit tired
Hotel in general is fine but for the price the rooms are looking old and tired. Everything worked but it was not fresh and modern. Bed had seen better days, furniture old and bathroom had rotting windows. No disasters but not what I'd expect for the price

Reviewed by
Phillip H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied
Although a little disappointed with the decor of the room the rest of the hotel although a little dated was charming and the service levels excellent. Will stay again. Thank you

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short mid week break
Excellent location for getting around central London.
A historical hotel with character. Comfortable and clean, our rooms were 607 and 608
Were warm as previous reviews had indicated but as they were on the side of the hotel
We were able to sleep with windows open, the noise from the street below was not a concern.

Reviewed by
E Gordon

From , England
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value

Reviewed by
l cole

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having booked a single room I expected it to be compact, any yes it was smaller than the usual small double, but it was perfectly adequate, reasonably priced and a great central location.

Reviewed by
Andrea R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next