You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4

1-8 Russell Square, London, WC1B 5BE

Price From 192.01 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (399)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Beate M

  • June 2016

Stylish but a bit dated

The Russell is in a prime location and it's a grand old impressive building with lovely common user rooms (restaurant, bar area, foyer).

Reception staff are very friendly, and the rooms are clean. However, the fact that the hotel is on Russell Square means rooms can be noisy. I asked for a quiet room and was given one at the back of the hotel, on level 6. This was indeed quiet, but rather small. The bathroom was fine, but had an old-fashioned tub rather than a shower. The wardrobe is tiny: you have to take the ironing board out to get any clothes into it. No fridge. And the secondary double glazing made ventilating the room tricky, as the original sash windows don't open very far. So in terms of comfort, I'd say it could do with a facelift. As for breakfast, don't book this in advance but when you get there, as you then get it at a reduced price. Breakfast itself is nice enough, but not varied enough: there was the same fruit, cheese, and cooked meats on both days of my stay. There could be more choice re the bread, which right now is just toast, croissants, and white rolls. The cooked breakfast is good, as is the coffee. Overall, I got the impression that this grand old dame of a hotel is finding it a bit hard to compete against the stiff competition in central London. But with this hotel, the rooms vary in size, service is always good, and you do feel you're residing in Bloomsbury in style at least.

  • Maria B

  • June 2016

room was absolutely awful.

for what I paid I got a tiny box room the shower didn't work properly. it wasn't clean. considering its a lovely building from the outside but rooms are dated and the member off staff that checked me in was miserable. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • A Ward

  • May 2016

Classy russell

A lovely hotel full of character, nice room lovely staff - highly recommended.

  • Helen G

  • May 2016

Relaxing stay, very friendly staff

The staff were very friendly - from checking in a reception (and our room was ready even though we arrived v early!) to the housekeeping staff and bar staff who we met throughout the stay.

Perfect for a weekend in London, would recommend and would stay again. Thank you!

  • Christopher D

  • May 2016

Ideal location, lovely hotel

Lovely staff.

Tiny bathroom and shower screen seals grubby. Small room but usual for London unless paying a fortune. Building and hotel itself lovely and great location. Great breakfast.

  • P Rignall

  • May 2016

Great experience. Love this hotel.

Can fault the service at the hotel.

Great. Attentive without being cloying. Understood there was building work at the hotel, but it didn't impact at all, you wouldn't have know it was going on. Slight reduction in facilities, eg no air con in the rooms. at this time of year Ok not sure how could impact if weather get warmer.

  • susan johnson

  • May 2016

excellent

  • R Hewitt

  • May 2016

My stay at the hotel Russell

A good welcome from the staff on arrival.

The room was clean with a good view over the Russell Square Gardens opposite the hotel. Food was good and all the staff very helpful.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your

stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We want all of our guests to feel like they are 'home away from home'

and we are so glad that that this was the case for you.

We pride ourselves on our high standards and also pleased that you

enjoyed your room. All of our dishes are freshly made to order by our

team of Chefs and will ensure your compliments are passed onto them.

We appreciate your feedback and do hope that we may have the pleasure of

welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Bebita Dhaya

Guest Relations Manager

  • nick r

  • April 2016

Brilliant hotel, great location

Booked for location and didn't disappoint, staff very friendly.

Hotel is as great inside as it looks outside

Response from hotel

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your

stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We are ideally located as we are a stone's throw away from many of

London's major attractions and transport links. We are glad that you

found our location so ideal.

We genuinely want all of our guests to be relaxed and comfortable as

possible. We are happy that this was the case for you and will share

your kind comments with our team as we pride ourselves on our high

standards.

We appreciate your feedback and do hope that we may have the pleasure of

welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Bebita Dhaya

Guest Relations Manager

  • Sian G

  • April 2016

Beautiful room, wonderful service

My room has recently been re-done.

It was the epitome of elegance and comfort. Service was universally 5 Star, from every single member of staff.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had wonderful stay

with us at Hotel Russell.

We are so pleased that you had the opportunity to experience one of our

newest refurbished rooms and enjoyed this.

We are also glad that you enjoyed the exceptional service provided by

our team as we pride ourselves on our high standards.

We appreciate your feedback and do hope that we may have the pleasure of

welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kindest regards

Bebita Dhaya

Guest Relations Manager