No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 424 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tony
It was not good at all and I wudnt stop the ne time again it wasnt wot ud look for or want out of a hotel in london at all and at a 119 a nyt it was way to much for wot we got

Reviewed by
a smith

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible noise pollution
Have stayed at the Russell several times and always enjoyed my visit. However, this stay was spoiled by the terrible noise pollution emanating from outside the hotel. I'm fairly confident that other rooms I've stayed in had double or secondary glazing, unfortunately the room this time did not benefit from this. A real shame as everything else about the hotel is great.

Reviewed by
kevin d

From STOKE-ON-TRENT, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, friendly and helpful staff , fabulous period building
This hotel perfectly suited us for location and the staff and service was excellent. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the room was clean and tidy although looking a little tired . That said it was reasonably priced for a great location and the breakfast was gorgeous. I would definitely stay here again....

Reviewed by
Nicola Jane Fisher

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic for 4*

Reviewed by
J Sykes

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied
More than happy with the accommodation and service. Location also good.

Reviewed by
Nick A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Visiter
Nice big room. Attentive staff. Enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed by
Lyn J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not brilliant
stuffy, hot and a really noisy air-conditioning unit outside - might as well have taken an early train to 9 am meeting and slept there. This was very uncomfortable and not restful
breakfast at £19 was way to expensive.

Reviewed by
J Gordon

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed our stay at the hotel.The room was lovely,clean warm + quiet.Avoid the food if possible.ediocre at best served with room temperature white wine.Is it so hard to chill the wine before it is served.We had dinner but after we had sampled the food we cancelled breakfast.

Reviewed by
barbara b

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice suite
On arrival we were offered an upgrade for £40, we decided to accept but we're sceptical. However on seeing the rooms we were pleasantly surprised as it was spacious, well decorated with a very comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
Spencer F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel and Room
Location was great and hotel was fantastic

Reviewed by
Christopher S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next