You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4

1-8 Russell Square, London, WC1B 5BE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (399)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Neville H

  • July 2015

Hotel Russell

Great stay.

Great location for British museum and tubes

Room was small but perfect for a single traveller. I had some air con noise and had engineer attending within minutes and I was moved to another room

Thanks to Colin from maintenance and Kim in front desk

A bit of traffic noise but it is London !!

  • Rosemary Campbell-Stephens

  • July 2015

Enjoyed my second stay at Hotel Russell

I stayed for the second time at Hotel Russell with my sister as we had travelled down to London for an important fundraiser event.

The hotel is very conveniently located for Euston Station. As black women we are conscious of the extent to which this can impact on service at some hotels. Our experience on both occasions at Hotel Russell was nothing short of excellent, polite, courteous and friendly service.

  • s clarke

  • July 2015

character hotel opposite Russell Square

Courteous and efficient check in.

Attractive room with large and well equipped bathroom

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found our Reception team courteous and efficient as we understand the importance of first impressions. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your room we want all of our guests to have a relaxing and memorable stay with us. Please be assured your very kind comments will be shared with our teams.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Bebita Dhaya,

Guest Relations Executive

  • P Moore

  • July 2015

PGM stay

The breakfast was extra to the room hire and for two nights with breakfast I paid £374.

The breakfast was not worth £12.50 for a self=serve buffet. Cooked items were cold and rubbery. Eggs were as good as children's plastic play sets. Ram out of fresh fruit and the cheese was terrible gouda slices were dry at one end and very tasteless. Mug of tea was left on my table while a tried to get toast and fruit and was therefore cold. The restaurant staff were polite but did not try to put matters right.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for your breakfast experience.

Breakfast is freshly prepared each morning by our team of Chef's and kept warm on the buffet, hence I am dismayed to read your feedback. I only wish you had informed us of your concerns including your request for a new pot of tea as our team would have done our utmost to assist you. Nevertheless, please be assured that your comments have been taken on board as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to turn around your experience in the future.

Kind regards,

Bebita Dhaya,

Guest Relations Executive

  • Anthony Stilwell

  • July 2015

DIY CityBreak

Great location for theatre-land and other attractions.

Nearby secure parking @ £17/day if you can't park off-peak.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location as we are a stone's throw away from many of London's major attractions and transport links.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Bebita Dhaya,

Guest Relations Executive

  • Alison Hendry

  • July 2015

Where are the Four Stars?

Arrived late on Friday to be issued a lousy twin room (2nd floor) over-looking the generator which meant no view, just noise.

Room small and we suffered 3 emergency alarm sirens to evacuate the hotel within one hour - apparently a burst hot-water pipe in the basement -

Re-located to a sixth floor room, larger, quieter and a proper window. Window frames need re-painting outside and whole hotel needs an outside face-lift. No double-glazing. We asked for a shower which we had on the first night but subsequently a bath;

  • John M

  • July 2015

Hotel Russell

Hotel in excellent location, staff friendly and efficient, breakfast really good, would book again.

  • M Pritchard

  • July 2015

The hotel is large and back in the day most likely a gorgeous place to look at but it's showing it's age as well as the dirt and grime of London, we couldn't get cold water in the bathroom the the light switch didn't work properly and the noise from the pub behind the hotel was annoying.

  • Steven D

  • June 2015

The Russell Hotel - an expensive travelodge

My room was described as a double because it had a double bed in it - but thank goodness I was on my own because the room was tiny with a tiny bathroom attached with the smallest sink area I have ever seen.

The room was very clean with a noise air conditioner that was only vaguely working. Luckily there were three windows that allowed the air in - but no view, except of a white brick wall. The breakfast was of a Travelodge standard, however the staff who showed me the table and brought me toast and coffee were fast and efficient. Breakfast was £12 - which seems to be a comparable rate with other hotels. However, that's because I booked it the night before. It would have been £17 if I had ordered it that morning. I stayed one night for business. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anything else; in fact I wouldn't recommend it at all given that there are half a dozen other hotels all dotted around the same area.

One room for one night without breakfast was £189. For that money I expected more.

Lastly, when the reception staff was dealing with my credit card, she kept it on her side of the desk so I had to reach across for it. I can't tell you how annoying that was.

  • Lee W

  • June 2015

Hotel Russell

Great location, really welcoming staff.

booked a standard room but exceeded expectation. Highly recommend