No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 464 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not brilliant
stuffy, hot and a really noisy air-conditioning unit outside - might as well have taken an early train to 9 am meeting and slept there. This was very uncomfortable and not restful
breakfast at £19 was way to expensive.

Reviewed by
J Gordon

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed our stay at the hotel.The room was lovely,clean warm + quiet.Avoid the food if possible.ediocre at best served with room temperature white wine.Is it so hard to chill the wine before it is served.We had dinner but after we had sampled the food we cancelled breakfast.

Reviewed by
barbara b

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice suite
On arrival we were offered an upgrade for £40, we decided to accept but we're sceptical. However on seeing the rooms we were pleasantly surprised as it was spacious, well decorated with a very comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
Spencer F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel and Room
Location was great and hotel was fantastic

Reviewed by
Christopher S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Very friendly staff, our room was pretty small but it was all we needed as we were hardly in it and it was really clean . Only ate at hotel for breakfast, great variety of food but ran out quickly so waiting was required if you wanted certain hot foods but it came pretty quick. Overall a great stay

Reviewed by
E Parker

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Major Disappointment
I've always wanted to stay in this hotel - it looks so grand from the outside. But that's where it ends. The bar was so small we could not find a seat. On asking if there were any other seating areas for residents we were told, "the Lobby". All 6 chairs. Very poor indeed considering the number of rooms and residents they have. Our room was small but adequate but the en suite was terrible - so narrow you had to sidle up to the wash hand basin and you couldn't stand straight on to it unless you wanted to get squashed by the towel rail. And neither of us is very big! But at least it wasn't hot enough to burn. We were on the 6th floor and it was a deal we bought, though still quite expensive at over £400 for 3 nights - maybe the worst rooms are reserved for deals. Either way, we would not go back. Sorry to say it but we've had better service in the Travelodge.

Reviewed by
Lorna M

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Second time staying at this hotel- very friendly staff, clean room and good shower. Tempus restaurant was a bit below par, but the bar was excellent, very good service. Free wifi was handy as well.

Reviewed by
Scott McQueen

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable three night stay at the Hotel Russell
Paid a bit extra for a superior room which proved worthwhile as the room was very comfortable with a great view of the square and a good bathroom. What impressed us most was the unfailing courtesy and helpfulness of every single member of staff we came into contact with. A very refreshing change. Breakfast was excellent with something for everyone.

Reviewed by
James H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay but few issues
The hotel was fantastic, and the room was well presented and spacious, with a nice view but unfortunately was let down by peeling wallpaper, a stain on the carpet and a loose fitting in the bathroom. Despite this we had a wonderful time, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel meant it was a good base for us to explore London. I would think about staying here again, but would hope that they fix the minor issue which took away from what was otherwise a wonderful stay

Reviewed by
J Roberts

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little disappointed with the standard of the carpet in the bedroom two long creases across the room and needed re laying. Potential tripping hazard .

Reviewed by
paul c

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next