No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 353 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
A fine welcome to the hotel greeted us on our arrival. Our room was reasonably clean but the bathroom was dirty . The bedroom had been the subject of redecoration but this was not to a high standard, it reminded me of the old Victorian hotel properties on the coast which are tired and need total modernization and renovation. The stair case of brown marble was a good feature but now dated. The ballroom smelt musty and the bar at the side of reception was functional.
I would not wish to pay more than £89 a night for this double room as I have stayed in far better accommodation for this sum and premier inn is a much higher standard as are several youth hostels
The hotel did not entice me to eat there at all and we decided to eat out in the City.
One very nice touch was that the hotel left my wife a small slice of lemon cake on a plate to celebrate her birthday with a birthday message . That was very kind but the cake was not covered over and was inedible.
For a place to sleep overnight the hotel sufficed but sadly I would not want an extended stay there

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
Fantastic hotel, staff were very friendly and keen to help. Room was lovely, very spacious and spotless!

Reviewed by
G Murray

From Nottinghamshire, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
A lovely hotel in a great location. Walking distance from so many places. Room was lovely and fab shower! Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment. Concierge service was a bonus.

Reviewed by
K B

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
The Russell Hotel has it all, great location, great setting, friendly and helpful staff nothing is too much trouble.
I would recommend it to everybody, we had a suite and it was fantastic very spacious clean and with a park view.

Reviewed by
Lee B

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely brilliant - great location
Was a bit hesitant after reading some reviews , but I'm glad I still booked the hotel....
Really enjoyed our selves , hotel staff were brilliant very helpful. The room was exactly how id imagined it spacious and clean.
Defiantly will be going back .....

Reviewed by
U Chaudhry

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fantastic.
Such a friendly welcome and comfortable stay, would happily recommend and stay again. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Christopher W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday stay
We had booked this hotel because it was a treat for my wife's birthday and my daughter had stayed there. We were not disappointed, all the staff were helpful and pleasant, the hotel interior was lovely and the food excellent.

Reviewed by
Alan D

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom
The hotel was very nice, the service was excellent. The only thing I would say is the bathroom had a couple of small glitter stars on the floor, so the question was had it been cleaned enough. Towels lovely and white and had a good night sleep.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

romantic stay at beautiful hotel
The interior and exterior of the hotel is absolutely beautiful. The service was excellent. The only down side was we had a rear room rather than one over looking the Park. Other than that great value and a lovely part of london to stay at. Cafe in Russell park is nice for breakfast.

Reviewed by
paul h

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Easy walking distance of Euston, Covent Garden etc.

Reviewed by
P Wills

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next