No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 393 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unprincipal Hayley
Having made it clear this was a business visit I was surprised to find I was being asked to pay for wifi access. When I asked why I was told that as I had not booked through Principal Hayley I was not entitled to the full service that would normally be part of the package. I asked to speak to someone who could change this there was nobody available. At £15 a day for something I can get free 30 metres away seemed rather petty of them. It did make the conduct of my business very difficult but I found a nearby hotel that gave me free access and space to layout papers for the price of a couple of cups of coffee.

Reviewed by
Stephen T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attention to detail lacking
Room smelt foisty, temperature regulation tap in shower broken, bag of mouldy food left in cupboard, draws not cleaned properly, very disappointed.

Reviewed by
Dominic Emery

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value through late rooms at £79 per night
The normal room rate is a bit steep but for £79 this is an excellent hotel and probably worth more for the location, close to oxford street and Euston/St Pancras.

Reviewed by
D Stonehouse

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, breakfast is plentiful something for everyone. Staff very polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
Martin W

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Russell hotel

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Marks for Hotel Russell
Great location, surprisingly larger room than expected. Stayed in a standard room. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Good variety and quality of breakfast. Definitely would stay again.
We booked on a City Shopping Package, excellent value for money.
Only small comment to make TV / Radio not working but not too big of an issue has we were out and about most of the time.

Reviewed by
J Donnelly

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great location
Staff very all very friendly, with first class service. Hotel was old style traditional, rather than a modern box like structure and all the better for it.

Reviewed by
Ron F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasure
Great staff, upgraded room, quality service. Central location ideal to get to almost everywhere on tube or bus. Walking distance from high street shopping.

Reviewed by
s higgins

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints here!
I was a little nervous about the room after reading so many poor reviews. We stayed in a standard double room and it was as I expected, a good size with bed, desk, table and chairs. Although the ensuite was a little cosy, it was modern and clean. Yes, the room is beginning to show signs of tiredness (if you look really closely) but for an old, period (and beautiful) building in London it was lovely. We had the shopping package so had £20 to spend at Harrods (no catches) and a perfectly tasty bottle of sparkling wine to enjoy in our room while getting ready for the evening. Breakfast was yummy and although we came down at the latter end of the morning, there was plenty of hot food still to eat. The hotel is a 15 minute brisk walk away from Covent Garden and the same from Kings Cross (saves money on the tube!). Great location for our weekend away from the kids!

Reviewed by
D Sargent

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only critisism of the room was lack of ventilation in the bathroom .

Reviewed by
Paul Sharpe

From Worsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next