No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. You can walk here from Euston, St. Pancras or Kings Cross train stations, or a taxi drive is a really short journey. The tube station Russell Square is literally next door and on the Piccadilly line will take you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square within minutes of you leaving the hotel. Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade most of the bedrooms, the bar and the meeting rooms have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay a really comfortable one. Business guests are in a convenient location to get around the city and short break visitors can easily enjoy a theatre break, visit the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods and in fact all of the central London attractions that are close by. After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or a steaming pot of tea.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 332 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, beautiful building, a little rough around the edges
Great location and a beautiful building. Check in was smooth and the chap that dealt with me was very personable and helpful.
Room was a fair distance from the stairs and lift. It was a small room but pleasant. I had a room that looked onto a service courtyard and it was very noisy. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and a good size.
Had asked for a wake up call but never received one- when I fed this back at check out I got no apology or feedback.

Reviewed by
Lucinda C

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic bargain
I got the room via LateRooms, and there was a substantial discount. I had a double bedded room overlooking the park for under £60. That aside, the hotel is fantastic anyway. All of the staff I met were extremely helpful and courteous. Food was great. I'd definitely stay here agian and recommend it.

Reviewed by
Trish B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The Hotel Russell is in an excellent location, just around the corner from the tube station so easy access to all areas of London. It is only a couple of stops away on the tube to the main areas such as covent garden, Leicester square, Piccadilly Circus etc.
The hotel is lovely, so grand inside and absolutely spotless. All members of staff were so helpful and polite. The room itself (junior suite) was amazing, it was clean, spacious and it had an incredible shower in the bathroom.
Overall an excellent stay, will definitely be staying at the Hotel Russell again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Amy Lamb

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Situation and style
The hotel is especially convenient for those coming to London through Euston Station and wishing to visit Bloomsbury, Covent Garden or the West End, or anywhere else in central London, by foot, bus. tube or taxi.
The bedrooms are clean, modern, and well equipped. The reception areas are enhanced by their (slightly faded) Victorian grandeur, and as such a treat in their own right..

Reviewed by
robert hilton

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and well worth the upgrade

Reviewed by
Leigh S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
This is a lovely hotel which welcomes everybody. The staff from the concierge to reception were very professional. The room was well apportioned, clean and well designed. The only down side was that one of the windows would not open and the bathroom had no ventilation.

Reviewed by
C Wheeler

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location if you can get it for the right price
I've stayed at the Russell before and find the staff friendly and generally efficient although the decor is a bit unconvincing. As a bed for the night it is fine. This time round I had to pay £259 for a junior suite at short notice which did rather make we wince. Basically 3 smaller rooms had been put together - 2 to make a suite of decent size and one a bathroom. Decor is beech and beige and all OK. We were on the 7th floor overlookiing the square and slept with the windows open - didn't find it too noisy. Shame they don't seem to include wifi or breakfast in the rate and we preferred to go to one of the many excellent local cafes for the latter.

Reviewed by
Jeremy S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lone female
Safe, comfortable, good location.

Reviewed by
C Davis

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Russell was an amazing hotel to stay at, very clean with excellent customer services and generous sized rooms, easy to reach of the underground and in a brilliant location we'll defiantly be staying here again!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Jonathan Gordon

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roar
Room was fine except for the fact that it was next to a ventilation duct which roared. This would have been okay had it done it all night but it stopped around midnight and started up early which woke me up. Continuous noise can be phased out; intermittent noise is harder to ignore.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next