No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 404 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent experience
Booked the shoppers package, excellent deal with Harrods voucher & full English breakfast included. Hotel in excellent location & beautiful classy hotel. Staff really friendly & helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Maria W

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very late
Left by rail company unable to get home so booked at very short notice. Stayed here before so knew what I expected. Nice touch to give a welcome bottle of prosecco

Reviewed by
alistair h

From grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

most welcoming and friendly staff, room a little small and breakfast a little generic

Reviewed by
Theresa O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Great location, beautiful surroundings. Brilliant value for money although I wish these hotels wouldn't charge so much for breakfast!

Reviewed by
Donna P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay, great conseierge
Nice room

Reviewed by
James W

From great yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attentive and very helpful staff
Excellent customer service... Nothing was too much trouble for any member if staff. Excellent location, right on top of the tube station.
I booked the shopping package ~ £20 Harrods gift card and a free bottle of bubbly (but forgot to get my free bottle of bubbly, maybe next time).
I would definitely recommend staying in this very friendly London hotel, it won't disappoint. Thank you

Reviewed by
B McLellan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in a beautiful building in a great location
We received a warm welcome on arrival and all the staff were polite and greeted us when they passed.
The room was great. We were very glad of the air con! The room was well lit and although we did not have room service the menu was really well priced. Especially for a hotel in such a central location.
The only gripe I have was at breakfast. We ordered tea and had to ask 4 times. By the time it came we had had our breakfast and that was delayed as we had to ask for milk 3 times.
Having said that we will be booking again for December with the 20% off voucher they emailed to us on check out.
All in all great value for money, beautiful hotel and great location. Will definitely be recommending it!

Reviewed by
F Kelly

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
The hotel is in a great central location. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The twin rooms we had differed greatly, one being a spacious and mostly typical twin room with two double beds, desk, seating area, large tv and a bathroom which was twice the size of most hotel bathrooms. The other was quirky, having a good sized bedroom with two twin beds, small tv, a separate seating area/room with a settee, coffee table, desk area and large tv and again a big open bathroom. Usual tea/coffee facilities and toiletries.Very pleased overall and would stay here again. If you look closely in the rooms some of the finishing is poor. The rooms were on the whole clean but showing signs of wear & tear.

Reviewed by
Lisa B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We are a young couple and had a one night stay here to do a bit of shopping, the location is great just a short walk or one stop on the tube from kings cross to Russell square, the room was clean and reasonably priced and sized, we had a shopping package and had a late check out at 1pm, we actually didn't check out until nearly 3pm but we weren't charged any extra fee. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was reasonable....pretty much what you expect from a large hotel we had it I'm out room and again although there is supposed to be a £5 surcharge for this we were charged no extra. The decor although recently refurbished this is an old building so seems very dark but it adds to the character of the place. I'd probably pick other hotels in London over this as I've stayed in nicer places we just got a great deal and for one night you can't complain. All in all a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Lauren M

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money
Ideal location. Good rooms
Only negative was the breakfast. The rotation of goods was to slow. You would think that everything would be ready in advance but it was like they still had to cut the cheese and the meat and the bread

Reviewed by
Nancy Lemmens

From Zaventem, Belgium
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next