No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 332 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most enjoyable weekend break at the Russell
The Russell Hotel is a haven from the bright lights and big city.The hotel is extremely well-situated (close to the British Museum), with buses and Russell Square tube station on the door step. It is within walking distance of Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed and tranquil which was a welcome relief after a hot, busy day sight seeing in London. The staff were extremely friendly, professional and helpful. The room was of a high standard, well presented, clean and with excellent facilities - a good size flat screen tv, a decent hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Russell and will definitely be back again!

Reviewed by
Julia D

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Up To Scratch!
The interior of this hotel is very impressive, with loads of marble and chandeliers, the reception desk is very efficient and polite.
The room we were given had a view over Russell Square, but unfortunately the windows were very dirty, and it was difficult to see much through them. Some of the furniture was rather tired, with worn and scratched surfaces, the basin tap was falling apart, and the cupboard marked 'Fridge' did not contain a fridge.
The decor was good, and the bed comfortable. The room also contained a large TV with a good selection of channels, including radio stations.
Our stay did not include breakfast, which was unfortunate, so I cannot comment on that, but the bars and restaurants looked fantastic, and the prices also appeared to be OK.

Reviewed by
Richard G

From Burghfield Bridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

home from home for thesingle business traveller
I really enjoyed my stay at the Russell Hotel. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff really stood out and made this a relaxing and pleasant stay. The accommodation was superior-very clean and comfortable and not all tacky like a lot of newer hotels.I had an excellent night's rest and good breakfast in the morning which set me up for the rest of the day. I would highly recommend this relaxing, comfortable and friendly hotel.it's situation on Russell Square also meant there was a very pleasant green space to enjoy before the day's work began!very well located within walking distance of the West End and just round the corner from the tube station.

Reviewed by
Kate H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, tired rooms.
The upgrade I paid for to a junior double was £14 and was a bit of a waste. The room was really small. I've stayed in Central London recently at a major boutique style chain at a comparable price and was far better. The room was very hot through the night too. The bed was comfy and the room was clean, the domestic staff are obviously of a high calibre. There was lime scale and residue in the bathroom which is why I marked it down, but the fixtures were old so this is understandable.

Reviewed by
Morag M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my son and I really enjoyed our stay
The hotel is extremely well positioned and very clean.

Reviewed by
Tim Watts

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall a pleasant experience
Very nice hotel....a little mix up about the breakfast but other than that we had a very pleasant stay. Staff were very polite and helped me to set the scene for my partner and I as brang him there to propose. Thank you all at hotel russell you made our stay very special.

Reviewed by
NAOMI J

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Central London affordable hotel
Good central location for meeting student daughters and for enjoying West-end. Good value, decent accommodation and friendly staff. Lovely period building and nice atmosphere in the bar.

Reviewed by
Gregory V

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A room with a view
I really like the Russell, its a great hotel in a perfect position (for me), the design is really grand and the service is very good, they go a step further than most London hotels to make you feel welcome.
Do yourself a favour though, if the weather is good have breakfast at the cafe in the park, its lovely.

Reviewed by
Dan B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed the stay at Hotel Russell. Room was very nice and super clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Sarah-Louise L

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
A fine welcome to the hotel greeted us on our arrival. Our room was reasonably clean but the bathroom was dirty . The bedroom had been the subject of redecoration but this was not to a high standard, it reminded me of the old Victorian hotel properties on the coast which are tired and need total modernization and renovation. The stair case of brown marble was a good feature but now dated. The ballroom smelt musty and the bar at the side of reception was functional.
I would not wish to pay more than £89 a night for this double room as I have stayed in far better accommodation for this sum and premier inn is a much higher standard as are several youth hostels
The hotel did not entice me to eat there at all and we decided to eat out in the City.
One very nice touch was that the hotel left my wife a small slice of lemon cake on a plate to celebrate her birthday with a birthday message . That was very kind but the cake was not covered over and was inedible.
For a place to sleep overnight the hotel sufficed but sadly I would not want an extended stay there

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next