No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 456 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great base
Easy walking distance of Coventry Garden and Oxford street. Only a short distance on the tube from Harrods. Perfect location.

Reviewed by
K Fish

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
NIce friendly staff, clean room with nice bathroom. Spoilt from the noise coming in from outside in the backstreet.

Reviewed by
Denise A

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel, Great Location
I have stayed at the Hotel Russell on numerous occasions and find it very convenient for most of Londons attractions. The Russell Square tube station is just around the corner and there are numerous places to eat around, especially in the Brunswick centre opposite the Station. The hotel staff are very polite and efficient. My room this time was excellent being a superior deluxe, well worth paying for the extra space, it was clean and had a separate dressing and sitting area to the bedroom, almost a suite. My only disappointment was the £8.65 I paid for a glass of wine in the bar, but I suppose this is London!

Reviewed by
Patricia B

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely hotel.. Staff extremely friendly & helpful. Room very comfortable. A really good experience. Thank you.

Reviewed by
kevin peat

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
Even accounting for the fact that you don't get much for your money in this part of central London, this place is seriously underwhelming. The room I stayed in was desperately in need of renovation, so much so that it was utterly baffling how it's retained a 4 star rating - the tatty fittings struck me as worthy of far less. On the plus side, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful; but at the end of the day, what matters is the room you're staying in - and I won't be returning.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very disappointed
very small, dirty bathroom, poor maintenance, carpet not hovered, biscuits crumbs on floor.. offered 2 other rooms still same standard, & 3rd slightly better but no bath.. asked if there was an upgrade they wanted to charge us £50 per night extra to stay in junior suite, as it would effect their revenue.. refused to pay extra especially when we only wanted to upgrade in the hope of getting a cleaner / tidier room, stayed in junior suite.. shabby room cracked glass sink & leaked.. advised about this but no one came back to me.. very expensive for what you get.. shame when it is such a beautiful building on the outside

Reviewed by
A M

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
I liked the room, however I was disappointed to find that the "double room" I had booked was actually a twin which had the beds pushed together. Other than that the room was lovely, very comfortable and warm.

Reviewed by
Christina B

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed the stay at Hotel Russell
Very attentive staff, clean, friendly and convenient location

Reviewed by
David R

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was extremely noisy so much so that it was impossible to sleep. The window was old and the wooden frame was rotten making it impossible to close, hence no relief from road noise. The windows are single paned which is inadequate anyway. When I told the lady on desk at check out, she advised that I should have called in middle of night but it was too late now. Not v satisfactory I'm afraid.

Reviewed by
O Byrne

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleased to be upgraded

Reviewed by
S P

From , England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next