No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Russell

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-8 Russell Square , London, WC1B 5BE
When you’re visiting the capital you need to be in a location that’s close to everything and has all the facilities you need at a great four-star price. Hotel Russell in Bloomsbury gives you just that. We’re walking distance or a short taxi ride from Euston, St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations and next door to Russell Square tube station that takes you to Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square in minutes. Guests can also enquire at reception for 50% discount at Bloomsbury car park.

Steeped in history and heritage, a refurbishment means that behind the historic façade, most bedrooms, meeting rooms and the bar have all the modern amenities that you need to make your stay memorable.

Business guests and short break visitors alike are conveniently located to get around the city and can easily enjoy a theatre break, the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral or Harrods, as well as many more of the nearby central London attractions.

After a busy day, there’s just enough time to unwind in the Tempus Bar with a chilled glass of wine or steaming pot of tea. Our Tempus Restaurant is also a must for a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Picture of Hotel Russell, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 381 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

romantic stay at beautiful hotel
The interior and exterior of the hotel is absolutely beautiful. The service was excellent. The only down side was we had a rear room rather than one over looking the Park. Other than that great value and a lovely part of london to stay at. Cafe in Russell park is nice for breakfast.

Reviewed by
paul h

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Easy walking distance of Euston, Covent Garden etc.

Reviewed by
P Wills

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired rooms. Reception computer was in slow mode so check in became a challenge. Poor value.

Reviewed by
Nik M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a good size although there wasn't really enough room around the bed to allow us to get into the bed without having to crawl from the bottom up. Bathroom was a good size too and clean. Food in the Tempus restaurant was extremely good and the staff very helpful. Would definately book this hotel again when staying in London.

Reviewed by
Adele L

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly satisfied
All that I would expect from this standard of hotel and more.

Reviewed by
Christine L

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So glad I chose to stay here!
Brillaint hotel- stunning building, amazing decor, great customer service in excellent location. Lovely room- booked a single but it actually had a small double bed in it and good views over Russell square. The bathroom actually had a bath in it- which is a must for me. A bit more expensive than other hotels in the area but well worth it. I was down on buisiness and decided to pay the extra to ensure a good nights sleep- unlike the last place I stayed where I shivered all night and was treated like a massive nuisance when I asked for a second towel to dry my hair with!

Reviewed by
Charlotte H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in central London hotel
This is a very convenient hotel for a one night stay, close to St Pancras station and thus onward travel to the continent. Standard rooms are on the small side, but my request for a quiet room was attended to and suceeded. Evidence of 'faded glory' but this added to its charm. Public rooms still exude the ambience of a by-gone era. Breakfast was very efficient, and for me, of good quality. Check-in and check-out efficient and friendly. At £200 room only perhaps a bit pricey.

Reviewed by
Carolle K

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top choice
Excellent location excellent price for what was expected. Stayed In many many London hotel and couldn't fault thus one bit, had a couple of issues but staff were very friendly and sorted them within an instant. Well worth a visit

Reviewed by
Lisa Lawrence

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, courteous staff will definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Cindy F

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Rob K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next